ROBERT T. F. ABBETT, clerk of courts, Vevay was born in Warsaw, Ky., in 1843. He received a common school education and subsequently graduated at the Cincinnati Commercial College in 1863. In 1866 he located in Patriot where he was employed as book keeper for the firm of W.T. Pate & Co., distillers. In 1879 he removed to Vevay to assume the duties of the clerk's office to which he was elected in the fall of 1878. In October, 1882, he was re-elected to the same office in which he has ever faithfully served. Mr. Abbett was married first to Miss Helen E. OLMSTED, a native of New York, who died in 1880, leaving one child, Mary. His present wife was Miss Agnes PATTIE, of Madison, Ind., by whom he has two children: Elisabeth G. and Agnes. Mrs. A. is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Henry J. and Mary J.F. (GILL) Abbett, parents of our subject, were natives of Philadelphia, Penn., and Virginia respectively.
They moved to Kentucky where Mr. Abbett was engaged as an attorney at law and in the banking business.
THOMAS E. ABBOTT, farmer, Posey Township, born in Kentucky in 1831, is a son of John and Elizabeth (LACY) Abbott. His parents married in Kentucky, and his father died in Cincinnati when our subject was a child; Mr. A. grew to eighteen years of age in Kentucky and in 1850 came to this county where he married in 1858, Almira HUMPHREY, daughter of Arthur Humphrey, whose history appears
elsewhere in this work. He has since been engaged in farming in this county; flat-boated two seasons but has given his chief attention to his farm. He has ten children: Arthur; Hulda, wife of Thomas C. GILLIS; James W., store keeper at Patriot; Lizzie, wife of L.G. WILSON; Grant, Cornelius, Theodore, Ellen, Morton and Pearl. Mr. A. is a member of the F. & A.M. and one of the substantial farmers of the county; has 382 acres of land of excellent quality and does quite an extensive farming business.
ALBERT C. ADAMS, farmer Pleasant Township, was born in Limerick, Me., March 28, 1816. His parents, Thomas and Betsey (DOLIFF) Adams, were natives of Maine and New Hampshire, respectively, and lived on a farm where our subject was reared to the age of sixteen. The humdrum of farm life was not congenial to his naturally buoyant and romantic spirit and he abandoned it for the sea, shipping on a merchant vessel on which he remained three years. In 1835 he shipped aboard a man-of-war and served three years and five months. While in the navy yard at Charlestown he received a wound in the right shoulder which disabled him for further service as a sailor, though he afterward made one trip as a landsman. He came home off a cruise and received his discharge at Norfolk, and after remaining at home about one year with his mother, engaged as second pilot on a steam boat. In 1845 Mr. Adams
came to Switzerland County and engaged in farming and this occupation he has since successfully pursued. He married Rebecca Jane TIBBLETTS (sic), a native of Whitefield, Me., and the children born to them were named as follows: James, Indiana, Elizabeth, Carrie, Madora, Celestia, Emma, Charles G., George, Albert C., Jr., Eugene, Oliver P. and Leora. A few years ago Mr. Adams concluded that on account of the wound he had received while in the service of the government, he was entitled to a pension. He went directly to Washington, applied at the department, and proved his identity, exhibited the scar of the wound and had his claim granted on the spot, without the aid of any witness or attorney. This transaction clearly illustrates Mr. Adams' peculiar force of character, and his matter-of-fact business-like turn of mind.
CHARLES G. ADAMS, county treasurer, Vevay, was born in Pleasant Township, January 26, 1848, and received a common school education. August 1, 1870, he engaged in business at Aaron, where he operated successfully till July 1, 1885, at which time he sold out, to move to Vevay, to prepare for and assume the duties of county treasurer, being elected to that office in November, 1884. Mr. Adams was married October 1, 1871, to Miss Mary J. MORRISON, a native of Cotton Township, born July 26, 1853. By this union two children were born: George Chester, February 1, 1873; Charles Herbert, September 16, 1880. Mr. Adams was elected township trustee in Cotton Township, April 1, 1877, and served in that capacity up to 1881. He is a member of Bennington Lodge No. 257, F. & A.M. and with his wife a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
DAVID ALLEN, farmer, Jefferson Township, owns 176 acres of land in Sections 30 and 31. He was born in New Jersey, April 11, 1800. His parents, Jacob and Phoebe Allen, were born in New Jersey; father, June 22, 1764, died September 27, 1846; mother died Febrary 6, 1850, aged eighty years and six months. They were married October 26, 1788 and moved to Ohio in 1800, where they lived and died on the Little Miami bottoms in Hamilton County. David moved to Indiana in 1833 and has resided upon the same section ever since. He was married to Miss Elizabeth JACKSON, who was born in New York State, September 25, 1805, and their children are: Alexander, born August 3, 1822; Sarah J., born February 7, 1824, died February 3, 1853; David, born August 3, 1826; Joseph F., born
August 25, 1829, died November 25, 1856; Rozetta, born May 24, 1833; Alvira, born May 9, 1835; Moses B., born July 11, 1837; Phoebe, born November 11, 1841; Georgia Ann, born March 28, 1844; Elizabeth, born September 30, 1839, died August 18, 1854; James, born December 26, 1827; George, born September 25, 1831, died June 5, 1832. Mr. Allen is an ancient I.O.O.F. He is a quiet and worthy citizen, highly respected by all his neighbors and friends. He has followed agricultural pursuits all his life and has succeeded well in his business transactions.
JAMES ANDERSON, trader, Vevay, was born in Hamilton County, Ohio, September 17, 1824. His father, John was born in Ireland in 1784; mother Jane PIERCE, in Virginia in 1790. They married quite young, and located in Kentucky and were blessed with nine children: Martha, Sarah, Margaret, Alexander, John, James, Elizabeth, Eli and Jane, all of whom have departed this life except James. The parents moved to Craig Township in 1833, the father being a farmer and local preacher in the Methodist Church. He died July 20, 1846, and Mrs. Anderson died in 1851. James was married May 1, 1845, to Miss Henrietta ADAMS, who was born in Craig Township, December 8, 1824. To this union were born six children: Margaret, Clarissa, George, and James A., Wesley H. and John W. Mr. Anderson has been a farmer, saw-mill man, flat-boatman, merchant and trader, and was successful in accumulating considerable property, but unfortunate in the too free use of his name as security for others and lost heavily. mr. Anderson remarried May 25, 1871, to Catharine E. LONG, who was born in Craig Township March 22, 1836. Their only child is Eddie B. Mr. Anderson served four years as county commissioner from the Third District. In 1871 he moved to Vevay where he has resided ever since. he is a member of Vevay Lodge No. 122, F. & A.M. His wife belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church.
THOMAS ARMSTRONG, farmer, York Townhip, born in Lawrenceburgh, Ind., in 1817, is a son of Walter and Hannah (KAUTZ) Armstrong, the former of Scotch-Irish and the latter of Holland descent, natives of Ireland and Hagerstown, Md. His father's ancestors were driven out of Scotland during the troubles of Mary Queen of Scots' reign, and his father left Ireland on account of the part taken in the Irish rebellion of 1798 by his grandfather. His father came to this country with his widowed mother and located at Pittsburgh, where he learned the cooper's trade. He came to Cincinnati when a young man, and remained there a time, then moved to Franklin County and later to Lawrenceburgh, where he lived till 1837. He married in Cincinnati, and reared six children: Irvin, William, Mary J., Thomas, John and Hannah M. The eldest daughter died young. William was educated at West Point and killed in the Mexican war. In
1837 Walter Armstrong moved to Vevay, where he and his wife both died. He served as treasurer of Dearborn County and was elected associate judge in this county. Our subject grew up on the farm and has chiefly followed that pursuit. He has also done some flat-boating. he received from his father a good farm and later added another by purchase, now owning 200 acres. Mr. A. was married, in 1844, to Sarah A. RUTER, daughter of Calvin W. Ruter, a pioneer minister from Vermont, and a presiding elder of the Methodist Episcopal Church. her mother was a Mrs. HASS. By this union there were born Harriet, wife of Harry KRUTZ; William, Mary J., Charles C., Edith M., Thomas F. and Irvin. Foster children: Winfield W. McKAY, Anna JACKSON. Mr. Armstrong was a member of the State Legislature in 1850-51, and township trustee for many years. Is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and Masonic order and an esteemed resident of the county.
WILLIAM J. BAIRD, editor and proprietor of the Vevay "Reveille," Vevay, born in this county July 14, 1844, is a son of John and Jane (BAIRD) Baird, natives of Ireland, Scotch-Irish Presbyterians. His parents married in Ireland, and about 1840 immigrated to the United States and located in Vevay, his father a cabinet-maker by trade. Mr. Baird began the printing trade when about eleven years of age; subsequently was employed as clerk in the drug store of Isaac STEVENS, and then returned to his trade. In 1861 he went to Clarksburg, W. Va., where he assumed the business and mechanical control of the "Telegraph," a paper founded by John S. CARLISLE, remaining here about one year. He then returned to the "Gazette" office, Cincinnati, and a few months in river trading he purchased the "Reveille" office in December 1864, and has since edited that paper in Vevay. In 1867 he was engaged in the United States revenue service as inspector of tobacco, snuff and cigars, the office being abolished about one year later. In 1869 he made a
trip to Europe, visiting England, Ireland and Scotland, and except this interval has remained steadfastly at his post as editor of one of the best local papers in this section of the State. Mr. Baird was married in 1866 to Alice CHARLTON who died in 1868. His present wife was Sallie HEDEN, daughter of David and Elizabeth (WHITE) Heden, her father one of the oldest merchants of New Albany, Ind. They have four children: D. Heden, Willie J., Walter H. and Albert G. Mr. Baird is a member of the I.O.O.F., F. & A.M. and G.A.R., and of the Presbyterian Church.
JOHN BAKES, SR., retired farmer, Jefferson Township, a native of Ulster County, N.Y., was born March 15, 1808. He married Elizabeth OGLE November 26, 1835. She was born September 5, 1814, and by this union were born eight children: Almira, born September 13, 1836; Albert, born December 15, 1838; John Jr., born February 14, 1841; Hiram, born April 25, 1843; Robert, born October 23, 1845, died July 8. 1879; Eliza Jane, born August 10, 1848, died March 10, 1884; Robert O., born Febrary 15, 1851; Frederick, born December 18, 1853. The mother died June 27, 1876. The parents came to Switzerland County in the fall of 1813; the father being a manufacturer and started the first carding machine in Vevay, which was soon after his arrival. He made his own machinery and followed the business about four years. Then went to Long Run and erected a saw-mill and grist-mill which he sold in 1832 and moved to Mount Sterling, where he erected a carding machine. About 1840 he moved up on Long Run, where he died in the spring of 1847. At the age of fifteen Mr. John Bakes left the arm and engaged in milling with his father, continuing up to 1832, at which time he purchased a little boat ('Harry Myers.') and bought produce and shipped it South up to 1839. During these seven years he purchased 154 acres of land and went on the same after 1839 and cleared it up, and has been a farmer ever since. During his days of toil he made over 1,700 acres of land and laid up considerable money besides to defray necessary expenses while going down the hill of life. Religiously, he is an infidel and believes in honesty and morality. His son Albert was married September 22, 1874, to Miss Mary L. MINOR, born in Edgar County, Ill., July 30, 1842. They have five children: Lizzie L, born July 15, 1875; Jenny M., born April 23, 1877; Almira B., born May 20, 1879; John G., born September 7, 1881; Minor, born October 31, 1883. Albert and his estimable wife are endeavoring to make their father comfortable and happy during his old days.
CAPT. HENRY D. BANTA, farmer, was born in Craig Township August 31, 1842. Capt. Banta, in addition to farming, learned the cabinet-maker's trade, but has given his attention chiefly to farming. He enlisted, July 22, 1861, in Company A, Third Regiment Indiana Cavalry and was elected sergeant. He served three years, came home and raised Company E, One Hundred and Forty-Sixth Indiana Infantry and was elected captain, and served over seven months in that capacity. The Captain was wounded five times, in the hands, arms and scalp. In one hand-to-hand struggle he made a miraculous escape, after being badly punished at Poolsville. In about one year thereafter, in a charge, his horse fell through a bridge at Morton's Ford, Rappahannock River, in September, 1863, by which he sustained injuries, and he also received a severe sun-stroke at Stephenson's Station, in Virginia, and from this he has never
recovered. He carried many burdens for weak, private soldiers, and he participated in many bloody conflicts, which sowed the seed for aches and pains that have troubled him ever since. Capt. Banta was married, October 4, 1865, to Miss Hattie Gelson, a native of Cleveland, Ohio, born October 4, 1849. Unto them have been born nine children, May, Alice, Nannie, Harry, Jacob G., Thomas J., Benjamin, Janie and Sadie. Mr. Banta is liberal in his religious views. He has always been a Republican, and never took a dram of whisky or beer in his life. He is a man of a warm, kind nature and generous impulses, always liberal in his support of those in need. He is a good neighbor, a kind husband and an indulgent father. Mrs. Banta is a member of the Episcopal Church.
REV. HENRY D. BANTA was born in Henry County, Ky., in 1785, and was a son of Daniel and Anna Banta, the latter probably born in Kentucky, both of German descent. Our subject married Eleanor VAN OSDOL, and after six children had been born to them (viz: Anna, Rachel, Daniel, Isaac, Jacob, and Jane), removed to and settled in Pleasant Township, this county, in 1816. In that township he lived eight years, after which he removed to Craig Township, where he lived till his death, January 21, 1867. Mrs. Banta died April 22, 1879, at the age of nearly ninty-three years. Mr. Banta labored in the ministry of the Baptist Church forty years. He was ordained in 1830. He served in the war of 1812-15. He was the father of thirteen children, viz: Anna, Rachel, Daniel, Isaac, Jacob, Mary, Jane, Abraham, Mary, John, Henry, Ellen, Nancy.
JACOB BANTA, farmer, Craig Township, son of Rev. Henry D. Banta, was born in Trimble County, Ky., February 7, 1812, and was four years old when his parents came to Switzerland County. He was married in 1833 to Sarah, daughter of Isaac and Susan FERRIS, and at once located on his present farm. He began life with a capital of $250. He owns at present 184 acres of good land. he served three years on the board of commissioners. Nine children have been born to him, all living, viz: Isaac, Mary J., Susan, Ellen, Sarah O., Eliza, Emma, Henry and Mitchel. Mr. and Mrs. Banta are acceptable members of the Christian Church, with which they have been connected since 1850.
JOHN W. BANTA, insurance and real estate agent, Vevay, office with Works & Schroeder, was born in Pleasant Township July 13, 1823, and received a common school education. His parents Henry D. and Eleanor (VAN OSDOL) Banta, were born in Henry County, Ky., the former January 28, 1785, the latter May 4, 1786. They moved to Indiana and followed farming all their lives, the father dying January 21, 1867, the mother April 27, 1879. Mr. John W. Banta was raised on a farm. He was married, September 9, 1841, to Miss Nancy FERRIS, who was born in Kentucky June 7, 1825. By this union were born two children: Henry D., August 31, 1842, and Dallas F., born August 27, 1844. Mrs. Banta died June 26, 1846, and our subject was married June 30, 1847 to Mrs. Martha A. (VANCE) KYLE, who was born in Lexington, Ky., February 4, 1818. Four children were born of this marriage: Alice, born October 11, 1848 (now Mrs. J.D. WORKS); Thomas S., born January 27, 1852, now in California; Ida, born October 23, 1855; Lula, born February 27, 1859 (now Mrs. DALMAZZO). Mr. Banta farmed up to 1842. He then learned the carpenter's trade in Vevay, and continued in that business up to 1872. He then engaged in his present occupation. He was justice of the peace in Vevay and has been a member of Indiana Lodge No. 126, I.O.O.F., for over thirty years and is a member of Naomi Encampment No. 13, also Degree of Rebecca. Mr. Banta has been a temperance man all his life. he and his estimable wife are members of the Universalist Church.
THOMAS S. BANTA, river pilot, Vevay, was born January 27, 1852, and received a common school education. Mr. Banta's early life was spent principally in clerking in stores at which he continued up to January 1, 1877, at which time he went upon the river as steersman and worked for three years. He was married, February 6, 1877, to Miss Adelia BAKER, a native of Illinois, born November 28, 1858, and one child, Clarence L., is the result of this marriage. In 1880, Mr. Banta was licensed pilot, and holds a captain's license from Cincinnati to New Orleans. He is a member of the Phoenix Lodge I.O.O. F. Mrs. Banta is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
BENNIH BELDEN, proprietor of the Center Square Flouring-mills, Jefferson Township, was born in Batesville, Ind., May 21, 1862, and received a common school education. His parents were Joseph J. and Margaret (HOLDEN) Belden; his father was a miller by trade and came to Center Square in July, 1883, and died in the mill of heart disease, February 29, 1884. he was a member of the I.O.O.F., and Mrs. B. a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Belden is an energetic young man, and thoroughly understands his business, at which he is prospering, and the community may well rejoice that he has located in their midst. The mill has two run of buhrs, twenty-five horse-power engine in a building 30x40 feet, one and one-half stories high. The capacity of the mill is eighteen barrels per day. The mill was built in 1881, by Amie SIBENTHALL, and has averaged full time ever since, producing its own brand of
choice family flour.
JESSE P. BELLAMY, farmer, Craig Township, son of Rev. Samuel Bellamy elsewhere mentioned, was born in
Tennessee, September 9, 1814. He was less than three years old when his parents came to this county. March 3,
1833, he married Nancy J., daughter of Edward HART, and immediately located upon the place where he now resides.
He began life with no capital save his bare hands. By his industry and frugal habits, he has built up a large property,
owning 270 acres of good land. Nine children have been born to him, seven of whom are living, viz: John F., Flavius J.
(deceased), Edward F., Luther J., Orlando R., Angie, Eliza J. (deceased), Sarah E. and Alice J. His second son, Flavius
J, served three years in the Third Indiana Cavalry. He was a graduate of Asbury University and a young man of fine
attainments. He represented this district in the State Senate one term, was a ready speaker and gave promise of
becoming one of the foremost citizens of his period.
AMERICUS BENEDICT, merchant, Markland, Ind., was born in Campbell County, Ky., in 1838. He is a son of Jermiah and Elizabeth (HERBERT) Benedict, his father having been an early settler of Kentucky. Mr. Benedict was reared on a farm in his native county, and in 1865 located in this county, where he followed agricultural pursuits two years, establishing himself in business in 1867. He was married, October 12, 1862, to Miss Edna TODD, of Kentucky, and daughter of Samuel and Margaret (RARDIN) Todd, also old residents of Kentucky. They have four children: Walter, Samuel, Ida and Warren. Mr. Benedict has been a succesful merchant of Markland since first locating there. He is an honored member of the F. & A.M., and a popular business man and citizen. In 1878 he was elected treasurer of the county. He has also served with credit in the minor offices of justice of the peace and assessor.
CHARLES BETTENS, steam-boat pilot, was born near Vevay in 1835. He is a son of Phillip and Charlotte (DUTOIT) Bettens, mentioned in the general chapters of this work, and who were one of the original Swiss families who settled in this county in 1801. Mr. Bettens grew up on the farm, and in early years was employed as pilot to flat-boats in trade between Cincinnati and New Orleans. From the flat-boat he entered the steam-boat service in which he still remains. For the past fifteen years he has been chiefly employed by the United States Mail Line Company, his long term of service in their employ being sufficient evidence as to his faithfulness and efficiency. Mr. Bettens was educated in the Vevay public schools, and the scenes of his boyhood are still his dwelling place.
LEMUEL BLEDSOE, retired merchant, Vevay, is a native of New Albany, Ind., born December 23, 1832. His parents were natives of Kentucky; his father, Frank Bledsoe, born in Carroll County in 1809; his mother, Sarah SMITH, born in Georgetown in 1813. His father was a saddler by trade and a member of the Christian Church; he died in 1845. His mother, a member of the same society, died in 1857. Our subject, received a common school education and at the age of fifteen contracted to clerk in a grocery store at Ghent for $50, fulfilling said contract. He then engaged with J.B. & S. TANSY up to 1851, when he removed to Florence where he engaged with Joseph MALIN as salesman, and subsequently became a partner in the business. Mr. Malin sold out in 1856, and in 1858 Mr. Bledsoe purchased his successor's interest, in partnership with Simon BEYMER, the firm of Bledsoe and Beymer continuing the business till
March, 1883, when Mr. Bledsoe removed to Vevay and his partner to Rising Sun, the firm having sold out and dissolved. During the war, Mr. Bledsoe served as enrolling officer for York Township, and was commissioned by Gov. MORTON, captain of the Florence Cavalry Guards, organized July 18, 1863. His brother, Benjamin S. Bledsoe, was a member of Company C, Third Indiana Cavalry, and was killed in Wilson's Cavalry raid near Petersburg, in June, 1864, leaving our subject the only surviving member of the original family. Mr. Bledsoe served as postmaster at Florence from 1864 to 1883, except during Andy Jackson's regime. He owns an excellent farm in York Township, and this he still superintends. In his business transactions he has been very successful, and in all the official capacities
in which he has acted, he has acquitted himself in the most honorable and satisfactory manner. Mr. Bledsoe was married in April, 1860, to Miss Julia C. STOWE, who died in June, 1865, leaving one son, Benjamin M. His second marriage was with Mary F. ALLEN, of Warsaw, Ky., born in 1846, and the children born of this union are: William A., Lemuel and Beymer. The family is associated with the Christian Church. Mr. Bledsoe is a member of the I.O.O.F., and F. & A.M. and affliates with the Republican party on all questions of National issue.
CHARLES G. BOERNER, the leading watch-maker and jeweler of Vevay, Ind., was born April 14, 1827, at Artern, in Prussian Saxony. He received a liberal education; is a graduate of the high schools of Artern and the college of Erfurt; also took a special course in chemistry in the Polytechnic Institute. While yet in his boyhood school days he learned the art of watch-making under the instruction of his father, Charles G. Boerner, Sr., who was a watch manufacturer, born July 25, 1800; a graduate of the university, at Halle; an astronomer of considerable note, and in charge of the observatory at Artern. November 10, 1825, he married Miss Frederica M. LUDWIG, who died in 1834, leaving two sons and two daughters to mourn his loss. Several years after he married Miss Mary MANN, daughter of Prof. August Mann, government inspector of mines, and two children were born of this union of which only Emily, wife of Dr. KING, of Baltimore, survives. After completing his college course, Mr. Boerner decided to avail himself of the experience of others in his profession. He left home and found employment with Mr. Ferdinand SCHALL, a prominent watch-maker in Leipzia; a year later he was engaged by Mr. Benno KIRCHEL, watch-maker royal to the court of Saxony, and director of the Museum of Art and Science; in connection with this position Prof. REICHENBACH appointed Mr. Boerner first assistant in the Dresden Observatory. In 1847, his father becoming impressed with the grandeur of the great American Republic, resolved to emigrate, and in view of the threatening war cloud of a revolution in Germany, his course became fixed; he disposed of his property, and June 7 the family bade farewell to the dear old home and fatherland. They embarked at Bremen, June 15, and landed in New York, July 30. After a week's rest they proceeded on their journey and arrived at their destination in Detroit, Mich., August 10, 1847.
The father and mother died of cholera, September 10, 1852. Charles G. Jr., the subject of this sketch, located in Adrian, Mich.; in 1849, removed to Cincinnati, where he engaged in the jewelry business with Messrs. Palmer & Owens; in 1853 he entered the firm of Messrs. Beggs & Smith, at that time the most prominent in the jewelry trade, and after the retirement of Mr. Beggs, the firm changed to Smith & Boerner. In 1864 Mr. B. was threatened with declining health, and in search for a rural home, his brother Frederic invited him to Vevay, Ind. Disposing of his interest to his successor, Mr. Harry R. Smith, he formed a partnership with his brother under the name of F.A. Boerner & Bro., the house being established in 1854. In 1877 F. A. Boerner disposed of his interest to his brother Charles G., and removed to Ennis, Tex., where he died October 30, 1880. The business has been conducted since by Mr. Boerner, assisted by his
two sons, Carl G. and Gustavus A. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church, of which the father is a ruling elder. Mr. Boerner was initiated in the Masonic order in 1849, and for several years has been secretary of the Switzerland Lodge No. 122, F. & A.M. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., of the encampment (Namoi), and for several terms has been a member of the city council. He is a member of the Am. Association A. Science, the Cincinnati Society of Natural History, and corresponding member of other scientific societies. He has been observer of the United States signal service since its organization, and practically engaged in astronomical and meteorological observations. Through his influence and exertion, the chief signal officer has made Vevay a signal station, receiving daily weather telegrams from Washington, D.C. Mr. B. was married, December 14, 1853, to Miss Josephine THOMAS, of Chillicothe,
Ohio, and the children born of this union are Miss Fredie M., Josephine, (wife of J.W. FAULKNER), Carl G., Gustavus A., Emma G., William T., Anna D., and Milton C. Mr. Boerner is an exemplary Christian gentleman, and is held in high esteem as such by the people with whom he is associated. His two sons, Carl G. and Gustavus A., who are associated with him in business are also young men of clever attainments and excellent character. The ancestry of the family dates back to A.D. 1418.
SAMUEL M. BONNELL, farmer, Posey Township, born in this county in 1838, is a son of Joseph and Hannah (DUNHAM) Bonnell, who settled in this county in 1836, from Cincinnati, his father a mechanic, and came from New Jersey to Cincinnati in 1811. He purchased land in this county and died here. Our subject grew to manhood in Posey Township, and has always resided here; was married in 1862, to Huldah A. FISK, daughter of David and Purrilla Fisk, early settlers to this county, from Vermont. He obtained a portion from his father's and wife's estate, and to this he has added, till he now owns 162 acres of good land, well provided with improvements, brick residence, etc. Has always engaged in farming, and has been quite successful; raises some stock, and does a general farming business. Mr. and Mrs. B. have one child, William F.; two are deceased. Mr. B. is identified with the Masonic lodge, and is one of the
most substantial farmers of the county.
ROBERT BOVARD, farmer, Cotton Township, residing upon Section 28, was born in Dearborn County, Ind., May 10, 1825, and received a good common school education. His father, Robert Bovard was born March 15, 1783; his mother, Margaret McGARVEY, in Philadelphia August 16, 1788; his father was a farmer and boatman all his life; he used to keel a boat down the Mississippi River and back again. By his own industry and economy he made considerable property; he died May 12, 1854; Mrs. Bovard December 22, 1864. Their son, Robert, the subject of our sketch, has been a farmer all his life. he was married March 4, 1858, to Miss Mariah HEATH, who was born in Cotton Township October 22, 1830. By this union two children were born, viz: Lide, February 6, 1864, and Belle, August 18, 1867; is a member of Allensville Lodge No. 81, F. & A.M. and also Beherald Chapter; he has officiated as W.M. of his
lodge for about ten years, and is an industrious and useful citizen.
OLIVER BOYD, farmer, York Township, born in this county in 1833, is a son of Elijah and Polly (HAYCOCK) Boyd and grandson of James Boyd, who settled in this county from Kentucky prior to 1820. His father came to this county when fourteen years of age with his parents, and grew to manhood in this locality, married, and here reared children. This wife died, and for his second wife he married a Mrs. GREEN nee COLE, by whom he reared six children. By a third wife, Mary ROSS, he had two children, both of whom died infants. He began life in humble circumstances and became one of the thrifty farmers of the county, owning 520 acres of land; he died in 1872; his last wife died about 1875. He was captain of a militia company in this county in early years, and was generally in the front as a defender of the laws of his country. Oliver, our subject, grew up on his father's farm, remaining there till twenty-one. He then worked one year for himself at wages, and after as a partner about five years; he then purchased of his father, and has continued on the farm ever since; now owns 240 acres of which he has gradually gained chiefly by his own exertions; deals some in stock and aims to improve the grades as much as possible. Mr. Boyd was married, in 1861, to Frances PENDRY, daughter of Jonathan and Mary (WILES) Pendry, both natives of North Carolina, where they were reared and died. By this union there were born three children who are living: John, Kate and Harry --two infants deceased. Mr. Boyd is a member of the F. & A.M., and one of the thrifty farmers of the Township. He is a liberal Democrat, generally casting his vote for the man instead of the party.
DANIEL BOYD, farmer, York Township, born in this county in 1831, is a son of Elijah Boyd, whose history appears above. He grew up on the farm with his parents, and shared the limited advantages of the common schools. In 1854 was married to Laura A. IRBY, a native of Indiana, and daughter of Joseph A. and Eliza (WALKER) Irby, natives of Tennessee and Indiana respectively. Her parents married in this State and subsequently moved to Illinois, where they now reside at Caving Rock. After his marriage Mr. Boyd began operations for himself; he made his first purchase in 1857, which he sold in 1860, and then purchased his present farm of 113 3/4 acres, on which he has since resided and has done a general farming business, and has been fairly successful. Mr. Boyd has reared nine children: Fernando, Ology, Angeline, Joseph, Jennie, Emerson, Norris, Daniel and John. The father is a member of F. & A.M. Fernando Boyd married Fannie ISRAEL. Their children are Dora, Warren, and an infant. Jennie married Wilson HUSTON; they have one child, Emerson. Joseph married Dora PETERS.
JOHN W. BOYD, tinner and stove dealer, Vevay, was born in York Township March 28, 1845, where he received a fair education. His father, James W., was born in city of Cork, Ireland, in 1818; his mother Catharine (KEITH) Boyd in York Township in 1820. They married in 1844 and raised six children: John W., James, born January 15, 1847; Edward, born July 10, 1849; Frank, born July 16, 1851; Alfred, born July 3, 1856; George, born January 19, 1859. His father was a tinner and wire worker, and came to America in 1821 and to Indiana in 1840. He was justice of the peace for years and township trustee; he was a Knight Templar and Odd Fellow, also a member of the Baptist Church; he died March 30, 1860. John W. was married December 12, 1868, to Miss Lydia A. BALDWIN, and they have seven children: Florence, Lucinda C., Rhoda, John W., Ruth A., Thomas and Archie. In 1867, Mr. Boyd went to his present
trade and branched out in business in February, 1881. He was a member of the city council from Second Ward in 1884; he is a member of Indiana Lodge No. 126 I.O.O.F. and he and his wife belong to the Rebecca Degree Lodge I.O.O.F.
HENRY BOYD, farmer, Jefferson Township, was born in Bracken County, Ky., June 8, 1811. His father, James, was born in Virginia and died January 20, 1852, being one hundred years, five months and fifteen days old; his mother, Phebe (WEBSTER) Boyd was also born in Virginia and died January 2, 1865, eighty-seven years old. They moved to Kentucky in 1790 and to Switzerland County, Ind., in 1819. He was a farmer all his life. The good old people belonged to the Baptist Church. Mr. Henry Boyd was married April 8, 1832, to Miss Lucretia HAYCOCK, who was born in Kentucky, November 14, 1812. Their seven children were Lonsford, born February 2, 1833, died April 3, 1837; Morgan, born January 6, 1835, died August 28, 1875; Parker, born October 14, 1837, died November 11, 1847;
Phebe J., born March 11, 1839, Mrs. FUNK; Minerva, born October 13, 1841, died September 13, 1854; Clinton, born February 20, 1847; Mary A., born December 27, 1848. Mr. Boyd was school director, clerk and treasurer under the old rule; he has been a member of the Baptist Church for over fifty years, and is now a deacon in the church.
JOHN BOYLE, one of the thrifty farmers of this county was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, in 1808, son of David and Ann (FURGESON) Boyle, natives of the same county. He learned the trade of weaver (fine muslins, silks, etc.), and was thus employed till he immigrated to America in 1828. He went to Baltimore, after reaching the United States, where he remained about five years engaged in manufacturing (check cottons) and mercantile business with David STILLAT. In 1838 or 1839 he came to Rising Sun, from whence he soon began river trading which he continued with success for five years, farming during summer seasons. He then began merchandising in Patriot, but sold out six months later and removed to his present farm, a portion of which was inherited by his wife, and to this he has since added several hundred acres. He has ever since followed agricultural pursuits. Mr. Boyle was married, March 28, 1841, to Mrs. Jean HUSTON, widow of William B. Huston, and daughter of James and Arabelle (ARCHIBALD) Boyle, her parents also natives of Scotland. She was brought when a babe to this county by her parents, who settled back of Rising Sun, where they lived till their deaths. Mr. and Mrs. Boyle have had six children: Jennie, David W., Hugh, Charles, Anna Belle and John. By her first husband, to whom she was married in 1833, Mrs. Boyle had two children, James and Wilson B. The latter died in April, 1863, just as he had about completed a fine medical education at Ann Arbor and the Ohio Medical College. Mr. and Mrs. Boyle are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and are highly esteemed as citizens of their community.
WILLIAM BRINDLEY, SR., was born in Bath County, Va. about the year 1777. He was reared in his native State, in which he lived with his parents till a man grown, when he removed to near Olympian Springs, Ky., where he was married to a lady named _____ LANSDELL, or LANSDOWN, who died after bearing him two children, viz: Lois and Sarah. He married Susan McCLANNAHAN for his second wife, and about 1813, or 1814, removed his family to Indiana, and settled in what is now Pleasant Township, this county, in which he passed the remainder of his life. He served in Gen. Harrison's command during the war of 1812, and was an excellent soldier as well as citizen. By his second wife he had nine children, of whom five are living, and reside in this county, viz: James, Nancy Ann, John, William and
Henry J. Mr. Brindley died in 1843, aged sixty-six years. His wife departed this life March 17, 1844, aged fifty-seven years.
WILLIAM BRINDLEY, JR., farmer, Craig Township, is a son of William Brindley, Sr. He was born in Pleasant Township March 28, 1823. He early life was passed in a manner common with farmers' sons and in the district schools he obtained a limited education. At the age of eighteen, he began boating, and has made fifteen or more successful trips to New Orleans. In 1844, he married Lucinda HUCKLEBERRY, and located in Craig Township, in which he has since resided and been prosperous. He enlisted in September of 1864, in Company B, of the One Hundred and Fortieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served his country till the close of the war, doing much hard marching, and considerable skirmishing. Officially he has served one term as trustee of Craig Township, and is now one of
the board of county commissioners, having been elected by his Democratic constituency. He is one of the large real estate owners, owning 350 acres of land, which he farms to stock, hay and grain. Mr. Brindley and his estimable wife are the parents of ten children, viz: Albert A., William W., Ira M., John H., Daniel A., Edward H., Jasper N., James M., Henry J., Mary E. All the above children are living.
CHARLES CAMPBELL, York Township, is a son of John Campbell, who settled in Posey Township prior to 1813. He was born in Posey Township in 1813, and has resided in the county all his life. He resided on the farm on which he was born in 1813 till the fall of 1884; married about 1840, to Esther SEAVER, daughter of Jacob Seaver, by whom he had eleven children, five living: Theodore, Elizabeth, Esther, Mary, Jacob S. He has always been a farmer, and now owns ninety acres of bottom land. Mrs. Campbell passed away in July, 1872, and in 1884 Mr. C. was married to Rebecca HASTIE, widow of George Hastie. Her parents located here in this county in 1806-08, coming from Germany. Their names, George and Dora A. SINGER. They entered land three miles above Vevay and resided
there till their death. Her father always engaged in farming, but was a wagon-maker by trade. Rebecca married, in 1850, George Hastie, and he died in 1876. By her first husband, John REAVES, Mrs. C. has one son, Marion.
CHARLES CARPENTER, farmer, Posey Township, was born in Boone County, Ky., in 1838. He is a son of Asahel and Ann F. (BATES) Carpenter, natives of Massachusetts. His parents left Massachusetts in an early day, and later came to this State, where their family was chiefly reared. Their children were Matilda, Clark, Horace E., Walter, Mehitable, Wooster, Edward, Francis, Richard, Cheney, Elizabeth, Alice and Clara. The parents are still living in Center Square, Ind., this county. Our subject grew up on the farm in this county, and married, in 1862, Lucretia VAN DORIN, daughter of Charles Van Dorin, and they have four children: Mary, Eddie, Maggie and Lottie. After his marriage, Mr. C. rented land till about 1878, and then purchased his present farm of eighty acres, where he has since engaged in agricultural pursuits. Mr. and Mrs. C. and eldest daughter are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
COL. SCOTT CARTER, attorney, Vevay, was born in Culpepper County, Va., April 19, 1820. His father, Thomas, was born in Lancaster County, Va., about 1790; his mother, Ann (GORDON) Carter, in Hagerstown, Md., about 1796. They were married in Frederickstown, Md., in 1814, and raised two children; Elizabeth S., born in November, 1815, and Scott, subject of this sketch. The family moved to Maysville, Ky., December, 1821, and to Switzerland County, in 1834. His father was a blacksmith, and worked at Harper's Ferry during the war of 1812, tempering main springs for the armory. In Kentucky and Indiana he followed farming, and died in October, 1846, the mother in December, 1856, a member of the Episcopal Church. In 1841 Col. Carter commenced the study of law under Joseph C. EGGLESTON, the father of the talented author, Edward Eggleston. He attended two courses of lectures at Transylvania University,
was admitted to the bar in 1844, and began practice in Vevay, where he has resided ever since. In 1846 he was elected captain of a company, which was organized at New Albany, and was assigned to J.H. LANE's Third Indiana Regiment for service in the war against Mexico. They reached the Rio Grande River via New Orleans, and participated in the battle of Buena Vista. On his return home, in 1847, he resumed the practice of law, which he continued without interruption until the outbreak of the Civil War. He took active part in raising the First Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, and was appointed lieutenant-colonel by Gov. Morton and Gov. Baker, being colonel of the regiment. Col. Baker was ordered West with a detachment of six companies, and the remaining six companies were ordered to Washington under command of Lieut.-Col. Carter. There he was made colonel of the regiment which was known as the Third Indiana
Cavalry, and sent with his regiment into lower Maryland, where they remained until May, 1862, when he was ordered back to Washington for the defense of the capital. At the time of Stonewall Jackson's raid into the Shenandoah Valley, he was ordered to Manassas and Ashby's Gap, and in part of the same campaign acted with Gen. Shield's division in the Shenandoah Valley. He was afterward ordered to Fredericksburg, and served there under Gens. King and Burnside. About the time of the second battle of Bull Run, the regiment was ordered to Washington and to Edward's Ferry on the Upper Potomac, after Gen. McClellan assumed command of the army. The regiment was engaged in several skirmishes before the general engagement at Antietam, in which it bore a very active part. Col. Carter's command was in the advance at Fillemont, Union, Upperville, Barber's Cross Roads, and at Amosville. They were principally engaged in outpost duty up to and including the battle of Fredericksburg. Col. Carter remained in active service with
his command until after the battle of Chancellorsville, when his health having become seriously impaired, he resigned his commission, and returned home in 1863. For over three years he suffered serious inconvenience from the effect upon his constitution of the exposures incident to his military life. In 1868 he was elected judge of the court of common pleas for the counties of Jefferson, Switzerland, Ohio and Dearborn. He was re-elected in 1872, and in March, 1873, was legislated out of office, the common pleas court being abolished by the State Legislature. He also served as judge by appointment of Gov. Willard, and as United States Commissioner. Judge Carter was originally a Whig, but when that party passed out of existence, he allied himself with the Democrats, and has voted and acted with them ever since. His initial vote was cast for Henry Clay in 1844. He was a Whig elector in 1852, when Gen. Scott was a
presidential candidate. He has done effective work in speaking for the candidate of his choice, but for the last few years, has retired from active, political life. He is a man of strong convictions, and outspoken in his views upon all subjects. He is a member of the Roman Catholic Church. February 19, 1848, he married Miss Susan M. CHALFANT, a lady of Virginian descent, and their union has been blessed by three children: Elizabeth, Fenwick and John P. In personal appearance Judge Carter is very striking. His head is massive, the forehead broad and high, and crowned by a luxuriant growth of snow-white hair, while his long, flowing beard and tall, well-proportioned figure, makes him at once dignified and imposing. His bearing is soldierly, and in conversation he is pleasant and genial. His is popular in a surprising degree for a man of his force of character, and somewhat radical opinions.
CHRISTOPHER CARVER, farmer, York Township, was born in this county February, 1819. He is the son of John Carver, one of the early settlers of this county. He grew to manhood on the farm with his father, who died of cholera in 1832. He got his start in chopping cord wood, spending two months in the South in that business. He bought his first land, twenty-two acres, here, about 1846-47, and to this he added by hard labor till he made it 230 acres, two-thirds of which he has paid for twice. He also lost by fire a barn valued at $3,000. He married Hannah STEPHENS, a native of New York, daughter of Jonathan and Phoebe Stevens. She came here when young with her parents. By this union six children were born: Aaron, Emma, Anna, Ella, William and Louie. Mr. C. owned and operated the first separator in this county; is a man of liberality, and has always tried to do his duty as a citizen. He takes little interest in politics, voting
for the best man.
E.M. CHEAVER, M.D., Quercus Grove, was born in Jennings County, Ind., March 31, 1826. He is a son of Joshua C. and Chloe P. (PETTIS) Cheaver, natives of Vermont, where they married and in 1815 came to this State. His parents first located in Jennings County and soon after removed to Jefferson County, subsequently moving to the southern part of the State. Dr. Cheaver grew to maturity with his parents, going to the southern part of the State when twenty years of age. His father was a teacher in the seminary at South Hanover, and there our subject was educated. He studied medicine with A.B. McCrillis and Dr. Rifeneric, of Jasper, Dubois Co., Ind., in all three years. He began practice in Perry County in 1846, in partnership with William McMahon, and two years later came to this county, where he has since been engaged in his profession, having a wide field of labor. He was married, October 26, 1847, to Mary E. McNUTT, daughter of William McNutt, one of the oldest settlers of this county. By this union there are three children, viz.: Sarah A., wife of Joel D. DAVIS; Louella, wife of Charles DIBBLE, Jr., and Edgar E. Dr. Cheaver is a member of the F. & A.M. He and Mrs. Cheaver are members of the Presbyterian Church.
WILLIAM F. COFFIN, proprietor of the Coffin House, Patriot, was born in Richmond, Ind., in 1835, son of Thomas and Jane (STEVENSON) Coffin, natives of North Carolina, where they were reared and married. While yet a mere boy he came to Patriot with his mother, and, except a few years spent at Frankfort, Ky., has since resided in the former place. He served three years in the war as member of the Ninety-third Indiana Volunteer Infantry, taking part in some of the heaviest battles, and since that time has been conducting one of the best hotels in southeastern Indiana. Although highly capable of meeting all the demands incident to the connubial state, Mr. Coffin is still treading the thorny paths of celibacy.
BENJAMIN COLE, merchant, Mount Sterling, was born April 3, 1840, and received a good education. The greater portion of his life has been spent in farming. In 1861 he enlisted in Company A, Third Indiana Cavalry, and served two years and four months. He was regimental butcher for five months, and the remainder of his service was as division butcher. He was wounded in the hip, at Metapona River, August 8, 1863, and was discharged, after which he returned to Mount Sterling, and engaged in merchandising. In January, 1866, he sold out and went to Illinois, and engaged in the butchering business at Pana. In 1867 he returned again to Mount Sterling, and followed farming until 1871; then engaged in present business, which he has continued ever since. He was married, September 7, 1869, to Miss Mary E. COTTON, born October 24, 1846, and their three children are Charles E., born June 13, 1870, died October 22, 1871; Alice M., born October 15, 1872, died September 3, 1873; Lillie D., born September 2, 1874. Mrs. Cole died November 16, 1875, and Mr. Cole was married September 26, 1877, to Miss Sarah A. STEWART, born near Moore's Hill, November 27, 1850. This marriage has been blessed by one child, Cynthia A., born July 11, 1880. Mr. Cole was appointed postmaster of Mount Sterling, April 15, 1877, and has held the office ever since. His first wife was a Baptist. He and his present wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Cole's father James Cole, was born in Warren County, Penn., May 22, 1814; his mother, Jane (SCOTT) Cole, was born in Brooklyn, N.Y., February 17, 1812, and were married May 28, 1832. They raised ten children: William R., born April 19, 1832, died July 4, 1834; Jacob S., born May 11, 1835; Amelia, born October 14, 1837; Benjamin, born April 3, 1840; Caroline, born December 2,
1842; John, born October 21, 1845, died February 12, 1884; Charles W., born April 21, 1850; Mary A., born December 29, 1848; James, born March 31, 1854; Jennie, born Aril 28, 1856. The mother died May 22, 1884. The father followed farming up to 1885, since which time he has been trying to lead a retired life.
JOHN F. COTTON, farmer, Craig Township, was the first white male child born in the county, and is therefore its oldest native born citizen. He was born at the old Cotton homestead, on Indian Creek, October 29, 1803, and his boyhood and youth were passed in that locality among the boys of the few white settlers, and the sons and daughters of the native 'redskins.' His parents, John and Christina (FROMAN) Cotton, have been referred to in the first general chapter of this work. Mr. Cotton was educated in such schools as were provided for the youth of his time, a hint of which has been given in the history of Jefferson Township. He was reared on the farm, and during his lifetime, which spans the lapse of eighty-two years, he has given his attention to agricultural pursuits, though in early life, from 1827 to 1843, he did an extensive flat-boating business on the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers, dealing in all kinds of country
produce. Being afflicted with disease of the eyes, he spent the great part of seven years, 1843 to 1850, in seeking relief at the hands of the most skillful doctors of Cincinnati, but failing of the desired result, he applied to Dr. COGLEY, of Madison, Ind., and was permanently cured in three months. In 1851 Mr. Cotton began farming and dealing in stock, exclusively, and this he has continued with marked success ever since. By his excellent management of business affairs, coupled with born habits of industry and frugality, he has amassed a considerable fortune, now owning 732 acres of landed estate, under good improvements. He has served his township as trustee for many years, and has been a faithful and consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church since 1842. Mr. Cotton was married, September 18, 1823, to Julia Ann KERN, a native of Pennsylvania, born July 5, 1805, and there were born to them four
children: Eliza, Perry K., Christie Ann and John W. After nearly fifty years of toil and trial this faithful wife of his better days, and tender mother of his children, passed to her reward September 7, 1871. Mr. Cotton was again married in 1875, and is now passing the retrospective year of his life at his comfortable home in Craig Township, one of the most highly esteemed of the county's pioneers.
WEBSTER COTTON, farmer, Jefferson Township, was born on the same section of land upon which he now resides September 25, 1838. His father, Robert S., was born in Jefferson Township February 27, 1810; his mother, Lovina G. (GILLILAND) Cotton, in Warren County, Ohio, August 19, 1811. They raised six children. During the father's life he was a farmer, merchant and flat-boatman, and owned at one time 298 acres of land and a house and lot in Vevay. The parents belonged to the Free Will Baptist Church, and were members of the Sons of Temperance. The father died in June, 1851; the mother March 22, 1885. Webster has been a farmer all his life. He was married, January 25, 1865, to Miss Isabelle DYER, born September 17, 1843. Their six children are Jesse, born November 6, 1865; Clay, April 24, 1870; Kate, October 14, 1873; Harry R., March 29, 1875; Lovina G., February 4, 1879; Clara B., June 18,
1881. Mr. Cotton enlisted September 23, 1861, in Company E., Fiftieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served three years and three months. He had seven brothers and sisters; John G., born September 9, 1832; Clinton, August 11, 1834; Meriah July 3, 1836; Mary, January 17, 1842; Sarah, June 25, 1844; Lovina, September 8, 1846; Eliza, August 19, 1849.
JAMES COWAN, farmer, Craig Township, was born in this township in 1818, and is a son of Donald Cowan. His boyhood was passed in a manner common with farmer's sons, and in the district schools he obtained a practical education. His first wife, Lucy, daughter of Lewis GOLAY, he married in 1851, by whom he had three children; one living -Emma -Lewis and James deceased. Mrs. Cowan died in 1858. He married Olive, daughter of David TROWBRIDGE, for his second wife in 1861, by whom has had three children: David, Malcolm and Lillie. Mr. C. has acceptably served as trustee of Craig Township ten consecutive years. He has been a member of the Christian Church for twenty years. His wife for a longer period of time.
ALBERT GALLATIN CRAIG. The Craig family is of Scotch extraction. They came from the vicinity of Craig Ellachie, a rocky eminence in Scotland. The Craigs in Virginia, Kentucky and adjoining States, are descendants of Talifarro Craig. He was born in Virginia, and about the year 1730 was married to Polly HAWKINS, in Spottsyvania County. He had a fair complexion, rather below medium size and possessed a kind and amiable temperament. He died when about ninety years of age. He was the father of eleven children, namely: John, Joyce, Lewis Talifarro, Elijah, Jane, Joseph, Sarah, Benjamin, Jeremiah and Elizabeth. John Craig was a very handsome man. He came to Kentucky in 1781, and was in command at Bryant's Station during the siege by the Indians in 1782. He was the first representative the county of Kentucky had in the Legislature of Virginia. He was a large land owner and became very rich. Lewis Craig was born in Orange County, Va., about the year 1737. He united with the Baptist Church about the year 1765. Soon after his conversion he was indicted 'for preaching the Gospel contrary to law.' The celebrated John WALLER was one of the jurors in the case. The pious and prudent deportment of Mr. Craig during the trial was blessed to the conviction and conversion of Mr. Waller. On the 4th of June, 1768, while being engaged in public worship, he was seized by the sheriff and brought before three magistrates, who required him to give security not to preach in the county within twelve months. This he refused to do and was committed to jail in Fredericksburgh. During his confinement he preached through the prison bars to large crowds. He remained in jail one month in Caroline County. He continued preaching with great zeal and success until 1781, when he moved to Kentucky. He established the first
Baptist Church in Kentucky and was the founder of Elkhorn and Bracken associations. He died suddenly about the year 1828. ELIJAH CRAIG was born in Orange County, Va., about the year 1743. He joined the Baptist Church in 1764. He was, perhaps, the most eminent preacher in Virginia in his day. He was imprisoned in Culpepper jail one month for preaching the gospel. After this 'he was honored with a term in Orange jail.' In 1786 he removed to Scoto County, Ky., and laid out the town of Georgetown. It was at first called Lebanon. He established the first school in which classics were taught, built the first ropewalk, the first fulling-mill and the first paper-mill that existed in Kentucky. He was a good business man and amassed a fortune. He died in 1808. Jane Craig married John SANDERS. She was the grandmother of the late George N. Sanders. BENJAMIN CRAIG was born March 30, 1751, in Culpepper County, Va. He was married to Nancy STUMAN. He had eleven children, namely: Joseph, Mary, Elizabeth, George, Benjamin, Nancy, Sarah, Levi, Lewis, Silas and Stuman. He laid out the town of Port William, now Carrollton, at the mouth of the Kentucky River. He died December 5, 1822. George Craig (mentioned above) was the grandfather of Edward EGGLESTON. Benjamin Craig was born September 21, 1777. He married Elizabeth MORRIS. Her mother was a sister of George WALTON. He (George Walton) was one of the signers of the Declaration of Indpendence; was twice governer of Georgia; chief justice of the State,
1783; judge of the United States Supreme Court, 1793, and United States Senator, 1795. He was the father of George Walton, Jr., governor of Florida, and the grandfather of the celebrated Octavia Walton LE VERT. Benjamin Craig had seven children, namely: Robert, Walton, Anderson, Joshua, Benjamin, Elizabeth and Silas. He was accidently drowned in the Ohio River about the year 1848. Walton Craig was born July 29, 1803, in Gallatin, now Carroll County, Ky. He married Laurinda PEAK, of Scott County, Ky., July 31, 1828. He is still alive, aged eighty-two years, and living in his native county on his farm on the banks of the Ohio River, near Ghent, Ky. In early life he was a flat-boat
pilot and afterward a pilot on steam-boats between Louisville and New Orleans. For many years he was engaged in merchandising. He is tall and slender; he is respected and beloved by all his acquaintances; he has amassed a large fortune; he has been a member of the Baptist Church since he was fourteen years of age; he has been a liberal contributor to the cause of Christianity, educational and charitable institutions. He wife died August 15, 1872. She was a member of the Baptist Church and one of the best of women. He has since married Mrs. C.M. EATON, and had nine children, namely: Eva, Bettie, Dudley Peak, Isaac, John, Walton, Albert Gallatin, Benjamin and Leonidas. Isaac and John died in childhood; Eva, Benjamin and Leonidas live in Missouri; Bettie and Walton in Covington, Ky.; Dudley Peak in Carroll County, Ky., and Albert Gallatin, of Vevay, Ind. Albert Gallatin Craig, M.D., of Vevay, was born near Ghent, Carroll Co., Ky., February 14, 1844. He was educated at Georgetown College, Kentucky, from which institution he graduated in 1864. The same year he graduated he united with the Georgetown Baptist Church. He is at the present time one of the deacons in the Vevay Baptist Church. In the summer of 1864 he taught a school in Ghent, Ky., and commenced the study in medicine. He attended two courses of lectures in the Medical College of Ohio, at Cincinnati, receiving the degree of M.D. from that institution in March, 1866. During the years 1866-67 he was house surgeon in the Cincinnati Hospital, and during the epidemic of cholera in Cincinnati in 1866, he had charge of the cholera wards. After leaving the hospital he opened an office on Jefferson Street, in Louisville, Ky. He remained there several months when he received a proposition from Dr. P.C. ELLIS, of Ghent, Ky., to remove there and engage as equal partner with him in the practice of medicine, which he accepted. He was made a Master Mason in Ghent in the autumn of 1867. February 11, 1868, he married Miss Laura E. HOUSTON, of Bourbon County, Ky., a relative of Gen. Samuel Houston, of Texas. two children-a son, James Frank, and a daughter, Evie May-have been born to them, both of whom are
living. They were born born in Ghent, Ky.; the son April 29 1870, the daughter, February 4, 1875. His wife was born in Bourbon County, Ky., October 23, 1848. In 1873 he was elected professor of anatomy and physiology in Ghent College, Kentucky. In 1877-78 he attended a course of lectures in Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York City. In 1878 he removed to the city of Vevay, Ind., where he now resides, and formed a partnership with Dr. L.J. WOOLEN. In 1882 he was elected health officer of the city of Vevay, but did not accept. The same year he was elected health officer of Switzerland County, Ind., the duties of which office he is still performing. He is a member of the Switzerland County Medical Society, and of the Indiana State Medical Society. He has been a Democrat from boyhood and is a man of
decided convictions, but liberal and conservative in his views. the following excerpts are from 'Representative Men of Indiana,' Vol. I: 'Dr. Craig is a gentleman possessing a fine literary and professional education. His service in the Cincinnati Hospital gave him many advantages over most young men who enter upon their professional career without sufficient practical instruction in their profession. He is a conscientious, pains-taking practitioner, well versed in the science his calling. In the management of his cases he is cautious and deliberate, yet self-reliant and prompt. His practice, as a physician and surgeon, has been brillant and successful, and his reputation as a citizen and gentleman is without a blemish. He has contributed numerous and important papers on medical subjects to the "Western Journal of Medicine," "The American Practitioner," "American Medical Bi-Weekly," and the "Richmond and Louisville Medical Journal," several of which have been republished in the journals of this country and of Europe. He possesses great business and financial ability, so often lacking in medical men. * * * He is above medium height and possessed of affiable, pleasant manners, of cultivated literary tastes, a warm friend, and in private life a man of exemplary habits and deportment. He is known to be a moral and upright man, an able, conscientious physician and a sincere Christian. Now in the prime of life, and in the very heyday of healthful and vigorous manhood, ambitious to do all in his power in his profession, his future bids fair to be even brighter than the past has been."
JAMES CULBERTSON, was born in Scotland, near Cambelton, in the year 1797, and is a son of James Culbertson, Sr., a native of Scotland. James C., Jr., immigrated to this country in 1819, and located in Jefferson County, Ind., adjoining Pleasant Township. He came with his wife whom he had married a short time before his departure. They landed at Philadelphia, from which place they made their way to Pittsburgh overland with team and wagon. From Pittsburgh they came down the Ohio in a big skiff. He had entered 160 acres of land before coming, on which he settled and lived the greater portion of his life. He had a small capital, which by judicious use he managed well and made a good property. In the latter years of his life he and wife removed to Vevay, where both died. He died in 1880. His wife, Jean HARVEY, bore him six children who grew to maturity: James, Robert, David, John (deceased), Catherine and
Jannet. Mrs. C. died in the year 1875, aged about seventy-seven or seventy-eight years. James Culbertson, Sr., came to this country with his wife in the year 1820. He settled in this township where Samuel Culbertson now resides. He died in 1821; his wife survived him ten or twelve years longer. Six children, all sons, came to this county: Robert, William, John, James, Samuel and David. The first and last of these children died soon after coming. The rest lived many years and reared families. The family descended from Lord Loudon in the following line of descent: James CAMPBELL, younger son of Lord LOUDON; James Culbertson, Jean Campbell, wife; son Robert Culbertson; Wannie HARVEY, wife; son, James Culbertson; Janet WHITE, wife; son, James Culbertson; Jean Harvey, wife. James
Culbertson was born on the old homestead in 1821. His boyhood was passed in a manner common with fathers' sons. He received a limited education in the subscription schools of that day, which schools were kept in the primitive log house with puncheons for floors and greased paper for widow lights. He was married, in 1850, to Ann SCOTT, daughter of Walter Scott, after which he settled upon his present place and in the same house in which he now resides. By his first wife he had seven children: Harvey, Scott, Anabelle (deceased), Mary, Edgar, Glen, Clarence and Wettie. Mrs. C. died in the year 1870, aged forty years. His second wife, Harriet WILES, daughter of William B. Wiles, he married in the year 1872, who has borne him three children: Catherine, James and Eleanor. While never a member of the church, he adheres to Christianity, and has done as much or more for the support of the church and the erection of church buildings than any other one man in the community. His wife is a member of the Christian Church. Mr. C. began life
with a capital of muscle and a williness to work. He has succeeded admirably, and at present owns 496 acres of good land, 360 acres in Kentucky. He has given all his grown children good academic educations, all of whom are intelligent and respected men and women.
WILLIAM CULBERTSON, farmer, Pleasant Township, was born in Scotland in the year 1817, and is a son of James Culbertson, of whom mention is elsewhere made. Our subject was married in Scotland to Mary CLARK in 1818, and immediately afterward immigrated to America and was thirteen weeks on the ocean. He temporarily located in Ohio for a short time, and in 1819 settled on the farm in Pleasant Township, on which his son now resides. William Culbertson, Jr., was born on the old home place in this township in the year 1827. He received a common education in the subscription schools, and was reared on the farm. He enlisted in 1864 in Company B, One Hundred and Fortieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, as private, and was elected captain before entering service. The regiment participated in the closing scenes of the war, and was in the famous Thomas campaign; was discharged July 12, 1865, at Greensboro, N.C., and finally discharged and paid off at Indianapolis. He was elected in 1874 on the Democratic ticket to represent the district composing the counties of Ripley, Switzerland and Ohio, and served his constituencies one term-four years. Was a member of the committee on education and other committees of equal importance. In 1863 he assisted in the organization of a company of home guards, of which company he was elected second lieutenant, and particiapted in the Morgan raid. He was married to Jane SCOTT, daughter of John Scott, of Jefferson County, in the year 1849. With the exception of four years, from 1845 to 1849, he lived in Madison and followed smithing, which trade he followed in Moorefield for a number of years. Owns a farm comprising 120 acres of land well improved. He reared three children out of four born to him: Jennie (wife of Dr. VAN PELT), Della and Carrie, Mary (deceased). He is a
Democrat in politics.
JOSEPH D. CURRY was born in County Tyrone, Ireland in 1795. In 1817 he left his native land in company with his wife and came to America. He located near Vevay for a time, then removed to Milton Township, Jefferson Co., Ind., where he lived many years, after which he removed to Iowa where he died in 1864. He possessed scholarly attainments and was one of the first teachers in the county, and one of the most successful ones. He was a devoted Christian gentleman and an exemplary member of the Christian Church. He was twice married. By his first wife Alice CARR, whom he married in Ireland, he had three children viz.: Samuel, Henry and Jane. His second wife was Rebecca daughter of Samuel and Sarah Jane (JONES) OREM, who bore him six children viz.: Sarah, James, Josiah, Rebecca, Ann and Marion. Mrs. Curry (second wife) died in 1848.
JAMES CURRY, farmer, Craig Township, was born in Pleasant Township, February 10, 1829. He married Sarah Ann, daughter of Stephen and Sarah (BRUNDLEY) RUTHERFORD, in the year 1853, since when Mr. Curry has principally lived in this county and has followed farming. In December, 1881, he assumed charge of the county poor farm which has since been under his efficient management. By his present and second wife he has eleven children viz.: Eugene, James H., Samuel, Olive, Henry, Joseph, John, Mary, Jesse P., Tinsley and Anna. The two latter deceased. By his first wife Rachel daughter of Tobey and Elizabeth (GILLY) MALCOLM he had one child viz.: Thomas J. Mr. Curry is a Democrat; Mrs. Curry was born in this township, January 1, 1832.
CHARLES DIBBLE, farmer, Patriot. John Dibble, the father of our subject, was born and reared in Fairfield County, Conn., and married there Sarah HOWE and in 1832 came to Switzerland County. He purchased land in this township, 160 acres, and subsequently did a farming business. He reared a family of ten children to maturity (seven born in Connecticut) -nine sons and one daughter -seven still living: Silas, Henry, Charles, George, Alonzo, John and Sarah POWELL, widow of Jacob Powell, resident of Rising Sun. The father died in 1840, and mother is also deceased. Charles Dibble was born August 16, 1820, in Fairfield County, Conn. He is a son of John Dibble, and was twelve years old when he came to this county with his parents. He remained with his parents till twenty-five years of age, and
up to that time was chiefly engaged in farming, going down the river on trade boats during the winter seasons. In 1845 he was married to Elizabeth SEARCY, daughter of Moses Searcy, one of the old families of this county, among the first settlers. After his marriage, Mr. Dibble followed farming as before, and continued his river trading. He purchased 134 acres just above Egypt Bottom and later added eighty acres more and this he sold in 1869 and moved to Patriot, subsequently purchasing 187 acres in Hunter's Bottom which he now owns, besides his residence in Patriot. He continued flat-boating up to 1880, but then abandoned the trade on account of age and decreasing profits. He succeeded fairly, and as a result of his labors is now well provided with the comforts of life. Mr. and Mrs. Dibble
have no children of their own, but have reared a foster child, Emeline HAYES, now the wife of John MOORE. They are also rearing a second, Daisy LAMKIN, now a lass of six years. Mr. Dibble is a member of the I.O.O.F. and has served as school trustee and city councilmanand also aided in the construction of the Patriot & Bark Works Turn Pike, being treasurer of the company for some time. He takes some interest in politics and votes with the Democratic party.
GEORGE DIBBLE, farmer, Posey Township, was born in 1822. He is a son of John Dibble, above mentioned, and grew up on the farm with his parents in Connecticut, and when about ten years old came to this county. He remained with his parents till sixteen, and afterward spent two years at blacksmithing, then gave it up. He then returned to farming, which he has since continued, doing some flat-boating since, making trips in 1841, 1844 and 1878. His father purchased land in 1832, and in 1840 died, after which the estate was divided among the children. Mr. Dibble receiving his portion. He purchased a portion of his present farm of 117 acres, in 1864, of Sylvanus HOWE, and since has resided here. Has continued in farming and has met with fair success, now owning 205 acres. He was married in 1846 to Mary A. CRAIG, native of this township, and daughter of Robert L. and Phoebe (MUNGER) Craig. Cheney Munger was major in the war of 1812. By this union eight children were born: Rufus, Hugh, John, George, Grace, Amanda, Jennie and Alice. The eldest daughter, Agnes, is deceased.
JACKSON G. DOUGLASS, farmer, Posey Township, one of the oldest settlers of this county, was born in Henry County, Va., in 1804. He is a son of John and Hannah (DOUGLASS) Douglass, both natives of Virginia. They married there and six of their children were born there -two in Ohio. They moved with their children into Ohio in an early day, and resided there ten or twelve years, then, in 1818, came to Posey Township, where the father and mother both died, latter in November, 1858, former New Year's eve, or day, of 1859. The father was a school teacher by profession, but did some farming. The children were Pleasant, Lancaster, Sarah, Jackson G., Banister, Hiram, Saunders and Elizabeth. Jackson G. Douglass was fourteen years of age when he came to this locality. He grew to manhood
with his parents, and in 1822 he married Elizabeth HICKMAN, daughter of Abel and Sarah (BRATTON) Hickman, early settlers of this county. After his marriage, in 1823, Mr. D. bought eighty acres of Congress land, and on this he has since resided. In 1850 he purchased an additional eighty acres, and this farm he has since cultivated. Has reared ten children, eight still living: Kate, wife of William P. SEARCY; Madaline, wife of G.B. SEAVER; Adelia; George K.; John J.; Allen J.; Zerelda, and Alice, widow of Walter V. NORTH. The two eldest, Mary and Abel are deceased. Mr. Douglass has served four years as assessor, and is one of the highly esteemed pioneer residents of the county. Has resided in the county sixty-three years. Mrs. Douglass died November 18, 1875.
PERRET DUFOUR, of Vevay, one of the most noteworthy pioneers of this locality, was born August 21, 1807, in Jessamine County, Ky., and in March, 1809 came to Vevay with his father John F. Dufour and the family. During his life, which from childhood was spent in Vevay, he was one of the useful citizens of the town and county. He took a prominent part in public affairs and was a man of quick perception and superior judgment. He occupied many positions of trust and honor, which he always filled with credit, to himself and satisfaction to his constituents. In 1842 he was elected to the State Legislature; filled the office of Postmaster eight years, and, in all, was justice of the peace for over twenty years. For many years he was engaged in merchandising in Vevay. He was a ruling elder of the Presbyterian Church and his faith was well exemplified in his outward life. He died at his residence in Vevay, January 5, 1884. In
1830 he married Eliza M. CLARKSON, daughter of Abner Clarkson, and she still survives. Mr. Dufour was a man of extraordinary memory and marked intelligence, and in 1876 prepared a series of articles on the history of this county which were published in the Vevay 'Reveille,' and which were freely used in the compilation of this volume. His memory will long be revered among the people of the community in which he moved.
ABNER P. DUFOUR, insurance solicitor and son of Perret Dufour, was born in Vevay in May, 1841. He was educated in the schools of his native town and also spent two years at Wabash College at Crawfordsville, Ind. He entered business with his grandfather, Abner CLARKSON in a family grocery and bakery in 1864, and was thus employed till 1873 when he became salesman for the firm R.F. GRISARD & Bro., being engaged with that firm and F.L. Grisard until 1882, when he began the insurance business, at which he is still operating. Mr. Dufour was married, in September, 1861, to Zellie C. GRISARD, youngest daughter of Capt. F.L. Grisard, of Vevay, and the children born to them are Emma C., born in 1862, now the wife of W.C. ROBINSON; and Bettie Z., born in 1867. He is a member of
Phoenix Lodge, No. 182, I.O.O.F., and secretary of the same; Naomi Encampment, and D.D.G.P. of District No. 10.
JULIUS DUFOUR, was born at Vevay, Ind., June 25, 1816. His father was John Francis Dufour, who was so prominently identified with the early history of Switzerland County. The education that he received was within the old log schoolhouse presided over by the then eccentric schoolmasters of the early times. When about ten years old young Dufour had some difficulty with a schoolmate of about the same age. Their teacher said it must be settled upon the field of honor according to the code of duels. The seconds, pistols and ground being chosen, the whole school assembled to witness the courageous feats of the plucky boys, but fortunately the difficulty was amicable settled, before the crisis came, without the shedding of blood. At the age of sixteen, Mr. Dufour was placed by his father with
a prominent business firm in Cincinnati to learn the mercantile business, and for some five years held positions of responsiblity and trust with several well known business houses of that time in the Queen City. Returning to Vevay in 1837, he engaged in merchandising in the brick building now occupied by Charles O. THIEBAUD as a residence on Liberty Street, where he remained in business about two years. He was married, July 9, 1839, to Ann Elizabeth MALIN, daughter of Judge Malin, with whom he lived a happy but brief period of seventeen years, she dying June 8, 1856. In 1840 Mr. Dufour purchased what is now known as the FROMAN farm, near Ghent, Ky. Selling the farm he returned to Vevay in 1845 to enter mercantile pursuits again, the firm name being J. Dufour & Co., having at different times as partners J. DALMAZZO, Philip GOLAY, John S. ROBERTS and John W. MALIN, and occupying the building now owned and occupied by O. S. WALDO. Mr. Dufour, in 1848, engaged in the dry goods business with John W. Malin, in New
Albany, Ind., and two years after Mr. Malin retiring, Mr. Dufour continued the business till 1852, and engaging in steamboating and trading upon the river till the rebellion of 1861. Remaining at Vevay and not engaging in business during the war, at its conclusion he resumed trading South till 1869, when he accepted the position of government store-keeper, and was placed on duty at the distillery of W.T. PATE & Co., at Patriot, remaining there and at Mount Vernon about two years. Mr. Dufour has two daughters: Mrs. Mamie ROUS, now living at Lake Providence, La., and Mrs. Sylvia DEL VECCIO, of Washington, D.C.; and one son, Joseph M. Dufour, of Washington, D.C., who holds the creditable and responsible position of principal clerk to supervising architect of the treasury. Mr. Dufour has never held any public elective office, never having aspirations in that direction. He has been an active and prominent
member of the I.O.O.F. since 1839; also of the encampment and Grand Lodge, having at all times taken an active part in the deliberations of the order. He now makes Vevay his home, enjoying the confidence and esteem of a large circle of friends, and although nearly seventy years of age he seems yet in the prime of life, and bids fair to live to see another century drawn upon civilization, changing the wilds of his native home into the garden spot of our beloved country.
FRANCIS R. DUFOUR, farmer and stock raiser, Jefferson Township, was born on Section 12, January 16, 1836, and attended the Vevay select school. His father, John D., was born in Switzerland, and immigrated to Kentucky, where he resided for three years, thence to Indiana in 1801. His mother, Eleanor J. (TAYLOR) Dufour, was born in Philadelphia, in 1807. They were married in 1825, and raised seven children. The father was a farmer, and died in 1845; the mother died in January, 1867. Mr. Francis R. Dufour has been a farmer all through life. He was married, October 30, 1862, to Miss Viola A. STOWE, a native of Switzerland County, born November 5, 1841, in Cotton Township. They had born to them seven children: Julia E., born July 27, 1865; Clara E. and Lily C. (twins), born December 6, 1867; Grace, born December 27, 1870, died May 23, 1872; Loring S., born January 27, 1876; Oliver M., born February 20, 1880; Belle, born May 10, 1883. Mrs. Dufour, Clara E. and Lily C. are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church; Julia E. of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Dufour raised hay chiefly in early life, but now makes a specialty of tobacco. His average yield is about fifteen tons per year.
GEORGE W. DUFOUR, farmer, Jefferson Township, was born in this county September 15, 1826, and enjoyed the benefits of the Vevay 'select' schools of those times. He has been a farmer all his life, except making a few trips down the river to new Orleans on flat-boats about 1847, and after the war to Vicksburgh. He married Harriet E. THIEBAUD, and by this union was born Charles A., July 10, 1864. After the death of his first wife he married Eliza BURNAND, a native of Lousiana, born May 10, 1848. Mr. Dufour is a member of Indiana Lodge No. 126, I.O.O.F. He is also a member of the Baptist Church, and an esteemed citizen of the township.
HON. JOHN DUMONT, for many years one of the most distinguished citizens of Vevay, was born in Piscataway Township, Middlesex Co. N.J., January 8, 1787. When he was a small lad his father removed to New York, and there he remained until he was married, some time in 1812, when he removed West, and, in 1813, came to Cincinnati, where he formed the acquaintance of Gen. William H. Harrison, and entered into his service as a land agent, remaining at North Bend, Ohio, till some time in 1814, when he removed to Vevay and took up his residence on the place where he resided till his death. Some two or three years after he removed to Vevay he was advised by one Joseph T. FARLEY, a lawyer then residing there, to prepare himself for the practice of law. He applied himself diligently to the study of his profession, when not otherwise engaged in clearing his land, a portion of which he prepared for a nursery of fruit trees. He progressed so rapidly in his study that at the March term, 1818, he was admitted to the bar of the Switzerland Circuit Court, undergoing a satisfactory examiniation which was required at that time. During his long and successful career as an attorney he ever maintained the reputation of being untiring and faithful in the prosecution of all cases entrusted to him by his clients. He was repeatedly elected by the Legislature prosecuting attorney of the Third Judicial Circuit, of which Miles C. EGGLESTON was the presiding judge, and which embraced the counties of Franklin, Dearborn, Ripley, Switzerland, Jefferson and perhaps on or two other counties, and in the discharge of his duties in this office he was ever faithful in the rigorous exercise of the law. At the election for delegates to the State constitutional convention, which was held in 1816 he was a prominent candidate, and though defeated the vote clearly proved his popular strength, having been but little more than one year a resident of the county. But in 1816 he was elected to the Legislature as representative and subsequently served as such during the sessions of 1820-21-22-28-30, respectively. He was elected in 1831 to the State Senate, representing Ripley and Switzerland Counties for two terms of three years each, and also represented Switzerland County for the same length of time in the last year of the term, the question of classifying the public works of the State was brought before the Legislature. On that question he was the champion of the classification system, and by his efforts to carry the measure won for himself the record which made him the classification candidate for governor of Indiana in 1837. In this political race, though clearly
in the right, he was defeated, and from that time he abandoned politics. He then turned his attention to the practice of law, which he continued till his extreme age compelled him to retire. As a legislator Mr. Dumont was true to the interests of his constituents and the masses. He was especially the friend of education, as his noble wife was the diffuser of it, and to his efforts the improvement of the school system of the State is largely due. Although much given to the use of ardent spirits in his earlier and even maturer years, during the last twenty-five years of his life he was a devoted and earnest friend and advocate of the temperance cause. As a citizen he was honorable and enterprising, contributing liberally of his means, talents and influence in building up the interests of his community. He died February 2, 1871. Mrs. Dumont was Miss Julia T. COREY, and she became the mother of twelve children, most of whom died in childhood.
FRANCIS P. DUPRAZ, farmer and dairyman, Jefferson Township, was born in Craig Township December 21, 1835, and received a good common school education. He parents, Perry F. and Louisa (DISERENS) Dupraz, were born in Switzerland. They came to this county in an early day, and followed farming for a livelihood, the father dying in 1838, the mother in 1863. At the age of fifteen Francis P. came to Vevay to learn the carpenter's trade, and in 1852 he went on the river as pilot, continuing in that work up to 1867. He then established a wharf-boat at the second landing, at which he prospered up to 1872, in which year he moved on the farm where he now resides. May 7, 1863, he was married to Miss Julia L. DUMONT, who was born January 14, 1843, and they have had eight children born to them: Joseph M., July 3, 1864, died February 1, 1873; Rudolph M., September 3, 1870; Isabelle D., February 21, 1873; Sidney M., May 3, 1875; Francis P., February 9, 1877; Harry B., March 3, 1880; Jennie M., December 8, 1882; Charles H., February 5, 1885, dued in infancy. Mr. Dupraz is a member of Switzerland Lodge No. 122, F. & A.M.; Phoenix Lodge No. 182, I.O.O.F.; 'Naomi Encampment No. 13, I.O.O.F., and the Rebecca Degree Lodge. He has been in the Masonic insurance from its infancy, and began paying upon the eighth death. He has been a member of Phoenix Lodge for twenty-eight years, and held every office in the same except treasurer's. He has been a Mason for twenty-four years, and is presiding officer now. He and his estimable wife are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mrs. Dupraz's father, Abram B. Dumont, was born in New Brunswick, N.J., September 2, 1789; her mother, Isabella R. (TODD) Dumont, was born in Lebanon, Ohio, November 24, 1804. They were married in December, 1820, and reared ten children. They moved to this county in 1814, and here Mrs. D. died February 2, 1879. Her grandparents, Owen and Jane (PAXTON)
Todd, moved to this county in 1816. Owen Todd, at the age of fourteen, acted as a guide to Gen. Washington on his retreat from Valley Forge, for which, at the instance of Washington, David Todd, his father, presented him a horse, which he rode to Kentucky, and kept as a war-horse. He was the youngest son, and remained with his father till his death December 6, 1817, at the age of fifty-five years.
ALEXANDER EDGAR, originally a mill-wright, now furniture manufacturer and dealer, also dealer in staple and fancy groceries, Vevay, was born in Westmoreland County, Penn., September 11, 1811. His father, John Edgar, was born October 4, 1766; his mother, Mary (MOREHEAD) Edgar, was born January 25, 1777. They were married April 4, 1802. The father died August 14, 1841; the mother died January 9, 1849. Alexander learned the mill-wright trade in Pennsylvania, and moved to Switzerland County in 1833 and began building mills, at which he worked till 1880. He then engaged in his present business. He was married March 2, 1843, to Miss Catharine CULBERTSON, a native of Indiana, born in Jefferson County January 6, 1824. Mr. Edgar was school trustee for years. Originally he was a Whig, but now a Republican. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
JOHN J. ELSROD, farmer, York Township, born in this county in 1839, is a son of William and Martha (McLENAN) Elsrod; natives of this county and Pennsylvania, where the father was born and reared. His parents married in this county and reared four children, three living: Mary, Margaret and John J. The father died in 1872, the mother in 1879. Our subject grew to manhood on the farm and married in 1860, Louisa GULLION, daughter of John Gullion, who died in 1872, leaving four children: John, Brewster, Dora and Amelia. In 1874 Mr. Elsrod married Mary A. BENNETT, daughter of William Bennett. Mr. Elsrod lived seven years in Kentucky, but in 1881 purchased his present farm of eighty-three acres, which he has since cultivated. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. at Florence.
HIRAM FORD, dealer in general merchandise, Benington, Ind., was born in Pike Township, Ohio County, April 28, 1850. His parents, Darius and Margaret (BROWN) Ford, were born in this county, the father in 1816, the mother in October, 1825. They reared six children, only four of whom are now living. The father was a tanner by trade, but farmed and worked at milling for years. He was a Mason and was township trustee and roadmaster in Pike Township. He and his beloved wife were members of the Universalist Church. He died January 19, 1873. Mr. Hiram Ford was raised on a farm. In 1867 he began working in a saw and grist-mill, at which he continued up to 1873; then returned to farming, which he continued up to 1878, when he engaged in business at Cole's Corners. In 1883 he located at Benington. He prospered in all his business operations without any serious reverse, until June 16, 1885, when his business house and entire contents were consumed by fire, sustaining a loss of over $1,000, which was not covered by insurance. In
September, 1885, he erected a new building, 22X36, two stories high, and is now again in business, with a new and complete general stock of goods. He was married August 15, 1872, to Miss Sophia C. COOPER, who was born in Pike Township, Ohio County, July 23, 1855. To them by this union have been given six children: Margaret A., born December 30, 1873; Flora A., January 7, 1875; Harrison H., March 4, 1877; Gracie G., March 22, 1879; Charles W., March 3, 1881, and Stephen L., May 29, 1883. Mr. Ford is a member of Sugar Branch Lodge No. 565, I.O.O.F., and has had the degree of Rebecca. He is also a Good Templar, and practices as he preaches. His recent loss does not daunt him, and he is working manfully to regain the old standard which his good management as a merchant and sterling qualities as a citizen had won for him.
WILLIAM FREEMAN, M.D., a leading physician of Vevay, is a native of Medina County, Ohio, born in 1841. His parents, James and Elizabeth (GULL) Freeman, were natives of Lincolnshire, England, and immigrated to the United States in 1836. They were farmers and reared eight children, though only four are now living. Dr. Freeman received an academic education and subsequently educated himself for his profession, teaching school during the winter seasons. He read medicine under Dr. LARIMORE, of Auburn, Ind., and Dr. WILEY, of Spencer, Ohio, and when the war began he enlisted in the service, joining Company H, Thirtieth Indiana Regiment. He served three years and participated in all the engagements of the Army of the Cumberland up to that of Chickamauga, at which he was severely wounded in the lung and liver, and where he lay on the battle-field till attacked by another more ghastly and repulsive army of vermin. He also received a wound at the battle of Stone River, and after being disabled at Chickamauga did no further active service. On his return from the war Dr. Freeman attended lectures at the Cincinnati College of Medicine and Surgery, and graduated at the Indiana Medical College of Indianapolis, in 1867. In the following year he located at Hartford, Ind., where he conducted his practice till 1879, when he removed to Vevay, where he has since engaged in his profession. In 1877 he was elected representative of Switzerland County to the State Legislature, and in 1881 was appointed by Gov. Porter trustee of the House of Refuge, serving two years. The following editorial, taken from the Indianapolis 'Journal' of March 17, 1883, is self explanatory, and will give the reader a fair idea of Dr. Freeman's official record: 'Another iniquitous measure was the House of Refuge bill, which had no other purpose than to legislate out of office a trustee simply because he was a Republican -Dr. William Freeman. Who Dr. Freeman is and what he has done are best told by Gov. Porter in his veto message. Says His Excellency: 'Dr. Freeman was a private soldier in the Thirtieth Regiment of Indiana Voluneers, in the war of the Rebellion. At the battle of Chickamauga he was shot through the body, the ball having passed through his lungs. He lay upon the field several days. He was so near to death from the wound inflicted that his recovery is recorded in 'The Medical and Surgical History of the War,' published by the surgeon-general of the United States as one of the remarkable recoveries of gun-shot wounds. He was a member of the Legislature from Switzerland County in 1877, and served with much credit on the house committee on reformatory institutions. On account of his patriotic service, spotless character and peculiar fitness, I nominated him to the Senate, during the sessions of 1881, as a trustee of the House of Refuge. The nomination was confirmed without a dissenting
voice. I personally know that he has discharged his duties as a trustee of that institution with the utmost diligence and fidelity. Why should this patriotic and faithful officer be singled out to be deprived of office before the term of office for which he was appointed has expired? I refuse to make myself a party to this proceeding, which I would do by giving my approval of the bill now returned.'' Dr. Freeman was married in 1866 to Miss Laura C., daughter of W.H. and Louisa (STRONG) RADLEY, the former a native of Elizabeth, Ky., the latter of New Jersey. She was born in 1849. Her father was a member of Cassius M. Clay's editorial staff and a minister in the Protestant Methodist Church. He died of yellow fever at New Orleans. There were born of this union four children: Alanson W., James A., Grace and William A. Dr. Freeman is identified with the Switzerland County Medical Society, the State Medical Society, and served at Vevay as examining surgeon for the United States pension office. He is also a member of the G.A.R. and, with Mrs. Freeman, of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
ANDREW GIVENS, farmer, York Township, born in Pittsburgh, Penn., in 1818, is a son of Andrew and Nancy (CHAMBERS) Givens, natives of Pennsylvania and Ireland, the latter brought to this country by her parents. His parents moved to Pennsylvania, and there his father was engaged in farming and rough carpentering, building barns, post-fences, etc. In 1820 the family left Pittsburgh and came via river to Vevay, and afterward purchased forty acres of land, where his son, Andrew, now lives, residing there till his death. He reared ten children, two only now living. Andrew, our subject, grew to maturity with his parents and has ever since resided in this township. He bought out the old homestead, and to this he has added till he now owns 164 acres. He married, in 1839, Ann ELLIS, a native of this county, and daughter of Eliphalet Ellis, who came to this State from Ohio. By this union their living children are William, George, Oliver, Jane, Nancy and Ann, all married but Oliver. Two (twins) died in babyhood. Mr. Givens began life in very humble circumstances, but by hard labor and good management has succeeded in gaining a fair competency. He has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for forty years, and is also a member of the I.O.O.F. Mrs. Givens is also a member of the church. Mrs. Givens died in 1860, and about four years later Mr. Givens married to Catharine (KEITH) BOYD, by whom he had one son, Oliver.
REV. WILLIAM H.H. GLEASON, farmer and Baptist minister, Jefferson Township, a native of Ripley County, Ind., was born January 4, 1823. He enjoyed the benefit of common schools; was raised a farmer, and taught school for twenty-five years during winter months. He married February 29, 1844, Mrs. Ann ATKINSON, born in New Jersey, January 22, 1808. Their children are William A. (born May 12, 1845, died September 7, 1861), Isadora (born November 23, 1852, died October 13, 1876), Lydia A. (born December 11, 1848). By her first husband Mrs. Gleason was the mother of two children: Mrs. Mary McCORMICK (born May 24, 1832), and Mrs. Jane McCORMICK (February 22, 1835). Mr. Gleason has preached since 1850, was ordained in 1861. His first charge was Olive Branch. He resigned the charge at Grant's Creek and organized a church in Mount Sterling, where he preached for sixteen years. He was elected township trustee three terms. Rev. Gleason belongs to Vevay Lodge F. & A.M., and is a member of the G.T. and S. of T. He is an earnest worker in the cause of religion, and is doing cheerfully what he can to weed out the tares from the vineyard in which he has been called to labor, and to obtain the necessaries of life.
JUDGE ELISHA GOLAY departed this life, April 30, 1866, at the residence of his son, Constant Golay, near Vevay, Ind. The subject of this notice was born in the Canton of Leman, Switzerland, in Europe, October 26, 1783. In 1801 his father and mother, with their children --six sons and four daughters-- left their native land for the United States with the intention of making the wilds of the then almost savage West their future home. The family remained in the State of New York a few years, and came to New Switzerland in 1804. In 1806 he was married to the youngest daughter of the Dufour family, with whom he lived a happy life for nearly sixty years. In 1807 he was appointed by W.H. Harrison, then governor of Indiana Territory, a lieutenant in the militia of then Dearborn County, and in
1810 he was appointed by the governor a justice of the peace for then Jefferson County. In the same year he was appointed by Gov. Posey a major in the militia. In 1813 or 1814 he was a representative in the Territorial Legislature, which met in Corydon. In 1816, and a short time before the battle of Tippecanoe, he was ordered to muster a company or battalion to rendezvous at Madison, and thence to march to and along the frontier of Jefferson County, to protect the then sparsely settled population from Indian depredations, which order was promptly obeyed to the satisfaction of the commanding officer, Col. Williamson Dunn. In 1817 he was appointed by Gen. A.A. MEEK brigade quartermaster, to the rank of major, and in the same year, being the first year of the State government, he was elected and commissioned by Gov. Jennings a justice of the peace, which office he had also held by commission of Gov. Posey. In 1814, when the county was organized, he was appointed county agent, and in that capacity he contracted for the building of the first court house. In 1830 and 1837 he was elected one of the associate judges of the circuit court and served the full term of seven years under each election. In the discharge of the duties of the several offices with which he ws intrusted, he acted with a view of doing his whole duty as a public officer without fear, or favor or indulgent, and thereby gained the esteem and approbation of his fellow citizens. As a husband he was kind and affectionate; as a father loving and indulgent; as a neighbor, generous and obliging; as a business man honest and upright in all his dealings with his fellow men. By industry, perserverence and frugality he lived to gather together quite a fortune, which he divided among his children, and died crowned with honor, in his eighty-third year.
CONSTANT GOLAY, of Jefferson Township, son of Judge Elisha Golay, and a native of Switzerland County, was born October 19, 1807. His life was spent in his native county, where he accumulated considerable property. He was liberal in church work, and assisted in building churches. His house was a home for preachers. He ran flat-boats for a period of twenty years, doing general trading business. Prior to the war he bought pork and flour in addition to what he raised, and shipped South. He was a member of Vevay Swiss Artillery Company, and was present with his company at the reception in 1825 of Gen. La Fayette at Cincinnati, Ohio. He was an honest, hard-working man, a good and faithful husband, an indulgent father, a good citizen and an earnest, devoted Christian. his first vote was cast for Gen. Harrison for President in 1828, and afterward he was an earnest Democrat. Mr. Golay was married, June 9, 1831, to
Louisa A. MOREROD, who was born near Vevay, Ind., October 25, 1808. Her parents, John D. and Antoinette (DUFOUR) Morerod, were born near Vevay, Canton Dovuo, Switzerland -the father in 1768, mother in 1782. They were married in March, 1803, and soon after located in this county, one of the original Swiss families. They became the parents of twelve children: Henry R., born May 17, 1832, died September 5, 1841; Cecilia H., born February 1, 1834; Clarissa L., born September 25, 1835; Celestine A., born July 7, 1837, died April 2, 1885; John D., born January 19, 1839, died September 12, 1841; Albert E., born February 2, 1841; Aime M., born February 1, 1843; Elisha, born February 28, 1845, died August 11, 1847; Josephine E., born February 6, 1847; Charles E., born December 29, 1848; Susan M., born February 9, 1851, and Randolph M., born May 20, 1853. Mr. Golay died at his home near Vevay, June 12, 1883.
MARTIN R. GREEN, of Patriot, a life-long farmer, was born in Enfield, N.H., September 27, 1809. His parents were Rev. John Green and Pallas RUTER, his mother a sister of the late Calvin W. Ruter, the well-known pioneer clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal Church. One year after his birth, Mr. Green's parents left New Hampshire for Marietta, Ohio. In 1822 they removed to Quercus Grove, where his father died, and the care of the family to a large extent devolved upon him, which part he performed nobly. In 1834 he was elected justice of the peace, resigning the office in 1837. In 1838 and again in 1848 he was elected to the State Senate, and in the discharge of the duties of this trust he gained popularity which he retained till his death. During his last term in the Senate he obtained great
notoriety as the original purchaser from the State of the famous Georgia swamp lands, which afterward fell into the hands of wealthy New York speculators, and became the subject of much litigation and special legislature. He was a delegate to the National Democratic Convention held at Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1856, and was generally regarded as a safe counselor in local political matters. June 11, 1843, Mr. Green married Mary HARRIS, and in the same year removed to Donahue's Deadening in Mexico Bottom, but two years later returned to Patriot and engaged in merchandising. In 1853 he removed to his farm above Patriot, to which village he again returned three years before his death. His wife, died September 25, 1868, the mother of four sons and one daughter. In March, 1878, Mr. Green
suffered a stroke of paralysis, and September 26, 1879, he expired. He was a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and during an industrious life he had acquired a comfortable fortune. For sterling worth he ranked among the first citizens of Switzerland County.
CORNELIUS D. GREEN, Posey Township, was born in 1854. He was educated in the Patriot schools, and took one term in the Nelson Business College in Cincinnati. He grew up on the farm, and has always followed agricultural pursuits. He was married in 1876 to Rebecca PATE, daughter of W.T. Pate, and has one child, Polly, born in 1877. Mr. Green is a thorough farmer, and one of the most reliable citizens of his community. He owns one of the best farms along the river, has a good temper and a big heart, and perhaps makes less noise about what he does than any other man in the township.
CALVIN R. GREEN, son of Martin R. Green, was born in this township in 1858. He grew to maturity in this county, and was educated in the Patriot public schools. Graduated in 1877 in Nelson Business College, Cincinnati, and began book-keeping for Green, Merit & Co., Patriot, in whose employ he was engaged up to 1881, then as a member of ths firm to 1883. Has since taken up agricultural pursuits. Married in 1882 to Fannie S. RABB, daughter of David G. Rabb (deceased), of Rising Sun. They have one child -David R. Mr. Green is a member of F. & A.M., and the Methodist Episcopal Church, and, on general principles, a good fellow.
FRED L. GRISARD, JR., dealer in staple dry goods, hardware, agricultural implements, corner of Main and Ferry Streets, Vevay, Ind., was born in Vevay, February 26, 1840, and completed his education at Crawfordsville, Ind., also graduated in regular commercial course at R.M. Bartlett's College, Cincinnati, Ohio. In 1861 he engaged in business with his father and brother under the firm name, F.L. Grisard & Sons. In 1878 he bought his brother's interest, since which time he has run the business alone. Mr. Grisard was married, November 25, 1862, to Miss Mary A. McMAKIN, a native of Switzerland County, born in Mount Sterling, October 19, 1843. By this union there are four children: Addie, born May 24, 1864; Mamie, born October 11, 1868, died March 26, 1873; Lou D., born August 21, 1873; and Emma, born September 13, 1875. Mr. Grisard was a member of the city council from 1877 to 1881, also has
served as town clerk. He is a member of the Switzerland Lodge No. 122; F. & A.M.; Phoenix Lodge No. 182, I.O.O.F.; Naomi Encampment No. 13. He and his estimable wife belong to the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Grisard's business career has already exceeded in extent that of average men, and being comparatively young in years, his experience and natural ability combined, promise a still more extended popularity and influence among the solid industries of the city of Vevay.
JACOB R. HARRIS, for many years one of the most prominent farmers of Posey Township, was born in Kortright, Delaware Co., N.Y., May 20, 1802. His parents were formerly from Connecticut, where they were born. In 1811 they moved to Franklin County, N.Y., after which he had no advantage of even a common school. In 1817 he, with his parents, immigrated to this county, settling near Quercus Grove, where his parents died some years afterward. In 1823 he returned to New York to attend to some business for his father, making the entire journey on foot, traveling thirty-three miles per day, and carrying with him his carpet-sack. In 1824 he entered eighty acres of heavily timbered land, near Quercus Grove, which he commenced to clear, erecting on it a log house, and on the day after it was completed, January 5, 1826, he married Gertrude H. SCOTT, who is yet living. About this time he commenced trading in real estate and various articles, always meeting with success. In 1856 he purchased his Egypt Bottom farm, and moved upon it. Here he resided until 1872, when he retired from business, having accumulated a considerable fortune. He served as justice of the peace fourteen years, and the county as commissioner for twelve consecutive years, and as a business man, public or private, he was far above the average in foresight and judgment. During his tenure of office he succeeded greatly in reducing the annual expenses of the county, and retired leaving money in the treasury, though on entering upon his offical duties he found the county in debt. During the late war Mr. Harris' faith in the Union cause and the Government was never shaken. He was not only one of the first purchasers of the Government bonds, but loaned quite a sum of money to the county at reduced rates of interest for the payment of special bounties,
that the county's quota might be complete. Mr. and Mrs. Harris are the parents of eight children, all of whom were permitted to minister to his last necessities. In his home life Mr. Harris was ever the kind and indulgent parent, and into this sacred retirement he permitted nothing to enter to mar its peace. He united with the Methodist Episcopal Church when about seventeen years of age, and continued an active, zealous member of the same till his failing health prevented him from participating in its services, though he remained unshaken to the last in his faith in Christ and a happy eternity. For many years he was a licensed exhorter and a class leader in the church, whose offices he never failed to fill with credit to himself and profit to the cause. In May, 1882, Mr. Harris was prostrated by
paralysis which, by a recurrence, terminated his life June 2, 1885. During the long period of almost living death he murmured not, but, patient in the hope of a sweeter rest immortal, thankful that his children and his faithful wife were spared to witness in tender, loving sympathy his final dissolution, he calmly passed into the great and mysterious beyond.
HOSIER J. HARRIS, one of the leading farmers of Posey Township, and son of Jacob R. Harris, was born in Switzerland County in August, 1839. He grew to maturity on the farm with his parents, and shared the advantages of the common schools. When about twenty-one years of age he married Rachel SCRANTON, daughter of Robert Scranton, and engaged in business on his own responsibility. He has been quite successful, and now owns one of the best bottom farms in the county. Mr. and Mrs. Harris have three children: Pearl, Gertrude and Lucian.
REV. HARVEY HARRIS, pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Vevay, was born in Posey Township, this county, December 6, 1834. His education was acquired in the home schools and by private instruction. He was reared upon a farm, and at the age of eighteen began teaching. In a short time he commenced studying theology, worked on the farm in summer, taught school winters, and in this way pursued his studies for twelve years, at the expiration of which time he was pushed into the ministry. In early life he was impressed that he was called to preach, and was finally licensed as an exhorter. During the war he felt that the country needed his services, and he volunteered in Company B, One Hundred and Fifty-sixth Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry as a private soldier. At the expiration of five months he was mustered out under Gen. Hancock, returned home and preached as a local preacher for one
year. He then was given a circuit, where he remained for three years, his labor being blessed by over 500 accessions to the church. He has since labored in the following charges: Patriot, 3 years; Mill Roy, Rush County, 3 years; Greensburgh, 2 years; Sugar Branch, 1 year; Manchester, 2 years; Indianapolis, 3 years, and to Vevay in 1883 as pastor of the Vevay Methodist Episcopal Church. All along his ministerial course has been successful in knocking down the walls of sin and iniquity, and building up the church of the living God. Rev. Harris was married, October 28, 1854, to Miss Cornelia P. TYSON, who was born in Ripley County, Ind., April 6, 1834. By strict economy and good investments when young he now owns eighty acres of good land in Section 11, Pleasant Township. He joined the
Odd Fellows at Greensburgh and encampment at Patriot, and was made a Knight Templar in Baldwin Commandery at Shelbyville. His grandfather, Robert Harris, was born in Connecticut and died in 1827, aged sixty years. His grandmother, Lucretia (KENNEDY) Harris, was also a native of Connecticut, and died in 1844, aged seventy-two years. The former was a Revolutionary soldier and moved to Indiana in 1817. His father, Nelson Harris, was born in Franklin County, N.Y., March 13, 1811. His mother, Ann (HOTCHKISS), was born in Otsego County, N.Y., December 18, 1811. They were married in November, 1833. The father came to this county in 1817, where he farmed, learned tanner's trade, sold goods and passed a very successful life, farming for over forty years last past. His parents united with the Methodist Episcopal Church when quite young. The mother died March 2, 1884.
EDWARD HART was born in Virginia in the year 1792, and was a son of William Hart, who removed with his family to Kentucky when Edward was six years old, and where he died. William's father, probably William by name, came from England in company with two brothers, all of whom settled near Williamsburg, Va. The subject of this sketch was married in Kentucky to Rebecca OLFREY, and in 1817 removed to this county and located one mile east of Moorefield, on land he entered from the Government, on which he lived out the balance of his natural life. He was one of the defenders of his country's honor during the war of 1812. He was present at Dudley's defeat, and during the engagement a part of his company charged upon the Indians, who, being vastly superior in numbers and well
armed, poured a destructive fire upon their assailants, forcing them to cover. Mr. Hart secured a safe position behind a log and was so busily occupied in doing effective work with his rifle that he did not hear the order of retreat nor see the soldiers when they retired. Eventually he realized that he was alone, and not desiring to longer maintain such an unequal fight, he arose and darted with all possible speed to overtake his friends, now some distance away, and after him came a perfect storm of bullets, but he escaped unhurt, seemingly as if by the intervention of Providence. All of his children now living, four in number, reside in this county, viz.: Sarah, wife of S.L. SMITH; Nancy, wife of J.P. BELLAMY; James A. and Joseph. His first wife, the mother of all his children, was born in Kentucky, September 10, 1790, and died June 26, 1837. His second wife, Elizabeth GRIFFITH, nee OVERTURF, was born July 17, 1809, and
died January 22, 1867. Mr. Hart came to this county with small means, which chiefly consisted of stock and a few farming utensils. He was successful and helped his children to good homes. In politics he was Whig and Republican. His death occurred December 11, 1870.
JOSEPH A. HART, farmer, Craig Township, is a son of Edward Hart. He was born in Pleasant Township, June 22, 1830, and was married to Melissa, daughter of Francis ATKINSON, October 2, 1864. He resided in the above township till 1873, when he located upon his present place, which contains sixty-five and a half acres of land, and also owns the old homestead, which comprises eighty-two and a half acres. He enlisted August 22, 1861, in Company A, Third Indiana Cavalry, and served in the ranks eight months. The exposure of army life undermined his health, obliging him to accept his discharge and return home. From the effects of that illness he has never fully recovered.
Eleven children have been born to Mr. Hart and his estimable wife, ten of whom are living, viz.: Orlando F., Minnie E., Wina O., Ariadna D., Cora I., Lena A., Otho B., Earnest B., Bion C. (deceased), Leslie C. and Ada L. Both he and his wife are consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, to which Mr. Hart has been connected since his boyhood. He is also a member of the order of F. & A.M., and votes the Republican ticket straight in all contests, whether of local or national importance.
PHILIP T. HARTFORD, editor and publisher of the Vevay "Democrat," was born in Shelby County, Ky., in 1849, a son of William and Betsy (HAMILTON) Hartford, natives of Virginia. His paternal grandfather, Thomas Hartford, with his family, moved from Culpepper County, Va., to Shelby County, Ky., about 1810, and died there at about seventy-five years of age. His parents were married in Shelby County and subsequently moved to Henry County where they now reside, engaged in agriculture. Philip T. grew up on the farm and after obtaining the rudiments of an education in the district schools, entered the Georgetown College, Ky., in 1868, graduating in 1873, with the first honors of the class. In the same fall he was elected superintendent of the Vevay schools which position he held for eight consecutive years. In partnership with F.M. DALMAZZO he purchased the Vevay "Democrat," which he has since conducted, purchasing his partner's interest in the paper in April, 1884, since which time he has been sole proprietor. Mr. Hartford was married, October 16, 1884, to Jeannette LORING, of Rising Sun, daughter of Israel and Jeannette (YOUNG) Loring. Mr. Hartford is a member of the Baptist Church, the I.O.O.F. and F. & A.M. Mrs. Hartford is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
JOHN HASTIE, farmer, York Township, born on Plumb Creek, this county, in 1821, is a son of James Hastie, who settled in this county in 1814. His father was a native of Scotland, married there Elizabeth LOTHIAN, and had two children in Scotland. They then came to America. He landed at Boston, went to Portsmouth, N.H., taught school one year and had Franklin Pierce for pupil, then returned to Baltimore, and then came to Brownsville, Penn., and by flat-boat with others to Cincinnati. He spent several years in that vicinity. He landed in 1814 at Plumb Creek, purchased 160 acres of land and lived there till 1832, then purchasesd his farm in the bottom--seventy acres--a part of which is owned now by his son. He died in 1859; Mrs. H. in 1858. He was a local minister and a dissenter from the English Church. He was educated for the ministry and was a cultured man. They reared seven children: Alexander, William, James, George, Charles, Jane and John; three living: John, Jane and Alexander. John Hastie grew to maturity on the farm with his parents and has ever since resided here. He has always followed farming, doing some flat-boating in early years. He has never married and is consequently free from the domestic cares which fret the souls of so many mortals. He is a jolly, good-natured bachelor of the contented type, and ranks well among the citizens of his community.
DAVID N. HAYDEN, M.D. physician and surgeon, Mount Sterling, was born in that village, April 11, 1853, and there received his education. He learned the blacksmith trade under his father and afterward taught school for five terms. He then read medicine under Dr. F.S. Kohler, from 1873 to 1879, after which he attended lectures at the Ohio Medical College and began the practice in Mount Sterling in the spring of 1880. His health failed, and in the fall of 1883 he took a trip to California and was benefitted. He then resumed the practice in Mount Sterling, and has devoted a portion of his time to superintending his farm of 293 acres in Section 15. Dr. Hayden was married, August 19, 1877, to Miss Sarah E. FROMAN, who was born in Jefferson Township in 1845. Their four children were born and named as follows: Morton, Ollie, twins, born September 24, 1878, died March 31, 1880, and August 21, 1879; Frederick, born August 10, 1880; Dawson, born March 24, 1882. April 19, 1882, Mrs. Hayden passed away. The Doctor was elected county surveyor in the fall of 1883 and served two years. He is a member of the Anchor Lodge No. 565, I.O.O.F., and Bennington Lodge No. 257, F.& A.M. His father, Nathaniel F. Haydon, blacksmith and manufacturer, was born in Alleghany County, N.Y., May 2, 1811. His education was obtained in a common school, with some instruction in the natural sciences, after which he learned his trade in Anjelica, N.Y. He worked for three years in Mann's Ax Factory; then in 1836 moved to Indiana, locating in Vevay; thence to Mount Sterling where he followed his trade. He was married in New York, September 25, 1834, to Miss Sarah M. FULLER who was born November 21, 1818, and they reared three children: Minerva, born August 28, 1835; John, born September 29, 1838; Keziah M. born September 28, 1841. Mrs. Hayden died January 3, 1842, and he remarried September 28, 1843, Miss Lydia THRALL, born at Walnut Hills, Hamilton Co., Ohio, July 23, 1819. By this union there were five children: William F., born February 8, 1848; Jeraldo, born September 24, 1850; David N., born April 11, 1853; Matilda, born February 24, 1855; Clarence F., born October 16, 1857. Mr. Hayden was a Baptist and died April 19, 1876; his wife, August 6, 1880. They were held in high esteem by all who had known them in life.
BENJAMIN A. HEADY, farmer, was born in Switzerland County, Indiana, in the year 1822, and is the fifth of the nine children of Benjamin and Lydia (STEWART) Heady. In the year of 1848 our subject married, in Switzerland Co., Miss Margaret, daughter of Joseph and Girtzell DOW, natives of Scotland, who located and died in Indiana. Mr. Heady, after his marriage, rented his father's farm for three years, after which he purchases 160 acres of land and moved thereon in 1852, where he has since that time resided, continued to improve the farm, and is now surrounorton captain of a company of artillery mounting three pieces. This connection was the immediate cause of his losing heavily. His large warehouse and store-rooms, supposed to contain Government supplies (but containing only private property), were burned to the ground by Confederates or Confederate sympathizers, involving a loss to him of about $14,000. He was a Democrat all through life, but a strong Union man, never a bitter partisan, or an aspirant for political honors. April 24, 1828, Capt. Grisard married Miss Zella C. SIMON, a native of Ligniere, of Neuchatel, Switzerland, a lady of rare accomplishments; she was born December 7, 1807. By this union seven children were born: Lucilla, born December 7, 1828, now Mrs. JAGERS, resides with her mother; Perret J., born December 8, 1830, died March 22, 1839; Rudolph F., born October 18, 1832, lost his life March 7, 1878, while saving a girl from a runaway horse; Louise Zelie, born May 26, 1835, now Mrs. F.L. DUBACH of Hanibal, Mo.; Zella C., born August 17, 1837, now Mrs. A.P. DUFOUR, Vevay, Ind.; Fred L., born February 26, 1840; James S., born June 28, 1842. Mrs. Grisard survives after a happy married life of more than half a century. Her father was a college professor, and left Switzerland to join the Swiss colony on the Red River, South, but by an unfortunate mistake, the party were taken to the Red River, North, and landed near Hudson Bay, at Lord Selkirk's settlement, thousands of miles from their destination. During the long and tedious voyage they were several times ice-bound, spending weeks at a time fastened to icebergs, occasionally visited by Polar bears and the native Esquimaux. The trials and vicissitudes of the long journey from that region to southern Indiana will never be forgotten by the family of Mrs. Grisard. She and her mother were the first white women who ever traversed the wild waste of country between the British settlements and the United States, and they had many hair-breadth escapes and numerous adventures among the Indians. They were obliged to subsist for weeks together upon what the hunters of the party provided for them. They arrived in Switzerland County in August, 1823. Mrs. Grisard joined the Presbyterian Church in 1847. She has been an active worker in all the societies of the church, and was one of the ladies who took an active part in building the present church. She was an only child, and was taken with her father, and owes her success in life to him. After his death she supported herself and mother. Capt. Grisard was a self-made, self-educated man. No one in Switzerland County sustained a better reputation for sterling worth, and no one was more faithful and energetic in business. His religion was to do good unto others. He belonged to Indiana Lodge No. 126, I.O.O.F.
BELA HERRICK, for many years a resident of Patriot, was born August 10, 1794, near New Berlin, Chenango Co., N.Y. Lived one year (1803) in Berkshire County, Mass., and in 1809 immigrated with his parents to Maysville, Chautaqua Co., N.Y. Served a short time in the war of 1812. First, in 1813, entered as a substitute in Capt. Silsbee's company, and in 1814 volunteered with Capt. James McMahon, both companies of New York Militia. Was at Fort Erie when it was attacked by the British under Gen. Drummond, and witnessed the explosion of the "powder plot,' where 500 of the enemy were blown to atoms as they were shouting, "No quarters to the d--d Yankees." Was at the sortie shortly after, when the British were driven away. In 1818 he immigrated to Indiana, and settled at Patriot, Switzerland County. Was married, to Alice WADE, daughter of Elisha WADE, one of the proprietors of said town, January 16,
1820, and the same year taught the first school taught in Patriot, at his own house, at $1 per quarter. Was appointed postmaster in 1824, and continued in office until 1852. Built the first hewed log house and first frame house in Patriot. United himself with the "Patriot Universalist Society" at its organization, in 1835; assisted materially in building up the church, of which he is still a member; took an active part in the temperance reform that was being agitated about the year 1840 or 1841; organized a society of Washingtonians; remained and worked with them as long as they could get three members together, and then with nine others applied for a charter, and organized a division of Sons of Temperance, which has had varied experience of ups and downs, but till recently has had an existence. He always took a deep interest in political affairs, but never sought for or received any office higher than justice of the peace or county commissioner. His political creed was Republican.
GEORGE W. HEWITT, M.D., Vevay, was born in that city in 1840. He grew to maturity in the neighborhood of Bennington, and was educated at the Hartsville University. In September, 1861, he enlisted in Company H, Sixth Indiana Infantry, and during his term of service received a slight wound in the right side at the battle of Missionary Ridge. He served as sergeant, and two years as steward in the Marine Hospital, Vicksburg, Miss. Dr. Hewitt read medicine with Dr. L.W. Elliott, of Valparaiso, Ind.; attended the Ohio Medical College, at which he graduated in 1869, and in 1873 began practice at Cedar Grove, Franklin Co., Ind. In 1875 he located at Markland, from which point he came to Vevay in May, 1885. From 1869 to 1873 he occupied a chair in the Northern Indiana Normal School, at Valparaiso, as professor of mathematics in the commercial department of that institution. Dr. Hewitt was married in 1865 to Miss Debora M. SWEEZY, a native of Jackson County, Mich., and a graduate of the Grass Lake Seminary. In 1874 this wife passed to the beyond, leaving one child--Urchel B. In 1875 Dr. Hewitt was again married, this time to Ella D. BEARD, who was born in Gallatin County, Ky., in 1857. Three children are the fruits of this union: Dawson, Lucien G. and Jennie D. The Doctor is a member of the order of F. & A.M., I.O.O.F. and G.A.R. Mrs. Hewitt is a member of the order of the Christian Church.
GEORGE W. HICKMAN, formerly of Posey Township, was born in Maryland, in 1807. He was a son of Abel Hickman, who came to this county with his family in 1819, and settled north of Patriot. He resided in this township till his death in 1879, having removed to the "bottoms" in 1846. He married Rosana MERIT, daughter of Archibald Merit, and reared seven children, all of whom are still living: Joshua M., Mary J., Sarah M., Ann E., James A., Eliza M. and Silas W. In his early years the father did some flat-boating, but gave it up in 1846, and confined himself to the farm exclusively. He died in 1879; his wife died August 19, 1853. Mr. Hickman was a member of the I.O.O.F., and a good farmer, owning 245 acres of land. His son, James A. Hickman, born in this county in 1840, has always engaged in
farming. In 1862 he married Martha J. WIGAL, daughter of Jacob and Sarah R. (DOUGLASS) Wigal, old residents of the county. Their two children are Albert S. and Jessie J. Mr. Hickman is president of the Switzerland and Ohio County Agricultural society, and takes quite an interest in the same; member of the official board for seven years. Has 165 acres of good bottom land, and is otherwise well provided for.
STEPHEN HICKS, farmer and mechanic, Posey Township, an old resident of this county, was born in Vermont in 1807, He is a son of Solomon and Lucy (BUTTS) Hicks, his father a native of New York, and mother probably of Connecticut. His parents married in Vermont and moved to New York, where they lived several years, his father, a farmer. About 1825 the family moved from New York direct to this county, and located near Patriot, and here the parents resided till their deaths. There were ten children: Anna, Harvey, Phoebe, Stephen, Samuel, John, Mary, Lucy, Emily and Martin, four of whom are still living. Stephen Hicks grew up on the farm. He spent a few years on the steam-boats "General Pike" and "General Marion," and in 1830 married Lucinda CARLE, daughter of Benjamin and Ruth (SANBURN) Carle, and at length picked up the wagon trade. He purchased his present farm in 1832, and has since chiefly resided on the same. Mr. Hicks has but two children living: Benjamin C. and Lucy. Another son, Stephen, is deceased. Mr. Hicks is a member of the Universalist Church, and was formerly a member of the Masonic lodge. He is now seventy-eight years old and well preserved, and is able to do a fair day's work at his trade, which he follows chiefly in his later years. Mr. Hicks' second wife was Abigail BARKER, and his third and present wife, Electa E. HAMMOND, of whom Lucy Hicks (now SEYMOUR) is a daughter.
NICK HIRTZ, cigar manufacturer and dealer in tobacco, Vevay, was born in the city of Madison, Jefferson Co., Ind., July 10, 1849. His father, Nicholas, was born in France, December 25, 1799, his mother, Margaret Hirtz, in Germany, in 1819; she died July 4, 1859. His father worked on the present fortifications in France, before immigrating to America. He has been a vegetable gardener near Madison for over thirty-five years. Mr. Nick Hirtz learned cigar-making in 1866. In 1867 he lost his left leg by being caught in a steam chopper in a butcher shop, which disabled him for life. He came to Vevay in 1869, and worked at journey work in cigar shops, and here he was married December 18, 1871, to Miss Julia BENOIT, a native of Switzerland, born in 1850. Of late years Mr. Hirtz, having "sown to the wind" to his full desire, has given his attention strictly to his business, and prospered. He has established a good trade in his line, and enjoys the confidence of substantial business circles, and a host of patrons and warm friends.
JOHN W. HOWARD, the leading argriculturist of York Township, perhaps of the county, is a native of Kentucky, born in Bourbon or Bracken County, in the troublesome days of 1812. His father, Thomas Howard, was born on Carrol's Manor, Md., and of the same beautiful region of our commonwealth, his mother, Nancy HUGHES were married, and in an early day they moved to Kentucky, in the hope of improving their fortunes, coming all the way on horseback, carrying some of their children in open sacks, which were balanced by the use of flat-irons, and locating on Flat Run, near Paris, in Bourbon County. From here they subsequently removed to the North Fork of Licking River, Bracken County, Ky., and in 1815 to Rising Sun, Ind. Prior to his removal to Rising Sun, Thomas Howard had always pursued the vocation of a farmer, in which he had been quite successful; but forsaking this pursuit for that of merchandising, in
which he failed, his entire possessions almost were swept away. He died in December, 1840, his widow passing away in June, 1843. They reared thirteen children, whose names are as follows: Betsey, Asbury, Levi, Samuel, Ann, Polly, Nancy, Hester, Matilda, Mahala, Thomas, John W. and Louisa. John W. Howard, whose name introduces this sketch, lived in and about the town of Rising Sun till he grew to maturity, receiving the rudiments of an education in the schools of that vicinity. His earlier years were passed in the varied occupations of school boy, attending store and farming, in each capacity giving evidence of superiority. August 11, 1833, he married Miss Aletha MARCH, daughter of George and Catharine (REMER) March. She was born in Boone County, Ky., November 15, 1811. Their union has resulted in the birth of ten children, nine of whom are still living, namely: Thomas, Nancy J., Mary L., Elizabeth, Hester, James, Catharine, Aletha and Sarah. John W. died April 27, 1865, aged about eight years. After his marriage, Mr. Howard attended his father's farm and rented land two years. He earned the money with which he purchased his first horse by chopping cord wood at 31 cents per cord. In 1832 he cut cord wood in Mississippi at 50 cents per cord. About 1834 he went with a cargo of produce to New Orleans, and in 1835 he bought his first land, 100 acres more, at a cost of $900. In 1839 he bought 200 acres on which he has since resided, and here he will probably end his days. Mr. Howard did not cease his efforts with the possession of 400 acres, but with unabated energy and ambition pushed onward, mastering his financial situation at every point, and meeting all his obligations promptly and with ease. In this line of progress he continued till his failing strength warned him to desist from further effort, but not until his labor
had been crowned by the enormous accumulation of 1,721 acres of land. Of this, 1,223 still remain in his possession, 498 acres having been divided among his children. Mr. Howard has never permitted his paper to go to protest. He has acquired his property chiefly by farming, having harvested as much as 4,000 bushels of wheat in a single year. In all his business transactions he has been quite successful, aided and encouraged by the untiring efforts of his faithful wife, who yet bears him company as they descend the downward slope of life, in whose setting sun their shadows lengthen toward the grave. All honor to their earnest efforts! May they live long to enjoy the fruits of their early toil and tears, which can only find the fullness of their reward in the grateful esteem of their children and those who in their turn shall follow them. Mr. Howard is an honored member of the Masonic fraternity, Royal Arch degree, an enthusiastic Republican in politics, and a Liberal in religion. [Picture of John W. Howard and Aletha Howard].
SYLVANUS HOWE, one of the oldest citizens of Patriot, and most highly esteemed, was born in the State of New York, October 10, 1804. When a boy he came, in 1812, with his parents, Silas and Abagail (FISK) Howe to Cincinnati from York State, and here the family resided several years, his father engaged in superintending a tanyard for William WOODARD. His father, a few years later, entered 160 acres back of North's Landing which he employed Hardin HETH to clear up. He later moved upon the same and resided there many years, establishing a tanyard there, which, in partnership with Asbury HOWARD, he conducted some time. He moved to Patriot in his later days and died there in 1859, in his eighty-third year. His wife died in 1836. They reared ten children: Polly, Sally, Amy, Cynthia, Sylvanus, William, Anna, Julia, Jonathan and Lemuel. Sylvanus Howe learned the tanner's trade in Cincinnati, with his father, and worked at the trade for a few years with Thomas KENNELY, his brother-in-law. He then returned to Cincinnati and spent three years with Seth CUTTER, a butcher with whom he made his first trip to New Orleans. He afterward made a second trip going to Charleston, S.C., and around to New York, coming back overland from New York to Philadelphia by stage, and from Philadelphia by wagon to Wheeland, then in a skiff down the river. He afterward came down to the farm, and began farming and stock raising. He had learned the flat-boating business, and began boating as soon as his means would allow and this he continued three or four years. He married here Sarah SCRANTON in 1828. The farm was given to him by his father, and he afterward sold it and came to Patriot. This
was bout 1833. He here opened up with his brother, Jonathan, a small general store on Front Street, where he continued in business till he erected the Howe Building on the corner of Third and Front in 1836. He still bought pork and other produce and sent South for several trips, and continued in the Corner store till 1852, when he and E. CASE erected the distillery and in this he continued for several years. In the meantime he had dealt largely in real estate, owning several farms and a number of houses and lots in Patriot. He erected the Methodist Episcopal Church building in 1843, and was many years a member of that society; was also a member of the I.O.O.F. He may be said to be the "father" of Patriot, as he has done, perhaps, more for the place than any other citizen. In 1860 he raised a company of soldiers, 130 men, and was commissioned captain of the same and took them to Indianapolis where they were
distributed to the government service. In his domestic relations Mr. Howe has been rather unfortunate, having had his fifth wife, three of whom are deceased. He has always been a man of the strictest integrity, and his memory will ever be revered by the many friends which his long and honorable career as a business man and citizen has won to him.
SILAS Q. HOWE was born in what is now Ohio County, in 1830. He is son of Sylvanus Howe, noticed above, and grew up in Patriot, where his father located about 1833, and worked on the farm till eighteen years old. He was schooled at Patriot and assisted his father in his various lines of business till 1853, when he went into the distilling business, taking E. Case's place in the firm. He has also held an interest in the Howe store since 1869. Mr. Howe was married in 1860 to Susan E. FRY, native of Ohio, resident of Madison, and daughter of William H. and Elizabeth Fry. They have six children living: Frank F., Carrie B., Henry J.Q., Mattie B., Lydia and Silas E. William the eldest is dead. Mr. Howe moved to Madison in 1871, and has since resided there. He is a member of the F. & A.M. and I.O.O.F., a Democrat in politics, and a live business man. He holds stock in the Amizon Insurance Company, Cincinnati, Madison
Woolen Company and Madison Stove Foundry Company. Does quite a large business in produce, grain, hay, etc., is ranked among the most successful business men of the county.
ARTHUR HUMPHREY, was born August 25, 1796, in Corinth, Vt. He was the son of Ebenezer and Huldah (KEENEY) Humphrey, also natives of Vermont. He came when eighteen years of age from his native State to this locality, walking all the way and carrying his haversack upon his back. His father was a soldier of 1812, and was a pensioner of the Government. Arthur settled here about 1814, and entered lands on the hills back six miles from Patriot near Bark Works. Here he lived with his parents till his marriage, then began for himself, his parents residing there till their deaths. After his marriage, he purchased a farm two miles back of Patriot in the woods and cleared it up, residing there about thirty years. He then purchased land in the Bottom, and became quite wealthy, owning 1,100 acres in Palmetto and Egypt Bottoms. He did a general farming business and later in life dealt in notes and securities to a large extent. He married Catharine TRIPP, born in New York, 1804, a daughter of ___ and Eva (HAGERMAN) Tripp, and they reared five children: Hulday, Elias, Cornelius, Lodina, wife of James T. BODKIN; Almira, wife of Thomas E. ABBOTT. The father died November 24, 1857; mother, August 22, 1856. Mr. Humphrey was a man of great business qualifications, and in his lifetime did a great deal of hard labor. Cornelius H. Humphrey, born in this county, December 5, 1830, was a son of Arthur Humphrey, above mentioned. He grew to maturity in this his native county on the farm, and was a farmer all his life. He obtained a common school education, and September 6, 1854, was married to Jane HARRIS, daughter of Jacob R. Harris, by Rev. Elijah W. BURRISS. He resided on the farm in Mexico Bottom about
two years and then came to Egypt Bottom where he lived several years after. He did a general farming and stock raising business, and also dealt in produce on the river to a considerable extent. He gave up active labor about 1869 and rented his farm for a few seasons, and moved to Patriot where he died February 16, 1872. He was a man of good business judgement and quite successful in his undertakings. For about three years before his death he conducted a grocery store at Patriot. He reared five children: Abbie A., wife of William F. NORTH; Katie G., wife of E.E. NORTH; Clara H., wife of A.L. NORTH; Mary H., wife of Hugh ESPEY; Cornelius H., at home.
STEPHEN HUMPHREY, one of the early settlers of this county, was born in Vermont in 1791. He grew to maturity in his native State, and in 1812 started West, and stopped for a time at Niagara Falls, where he was employed in the army, but was not an enlisted soldier. His father, Ebenezer Humphrey was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and all through it. Indianus Humphrey now has a powder-horn which he carried while in the service, bearing date June 7, 1776. Stephen Humphrey came to Ohio after the war of 1812, and spent two or three winters teaching school in Athens County. He then came to this county and purchased the land (sixty acres) on which Indianus
Humphrey now resides, and built a cabin. This was about 1816. He married Hannah BARROWS in 1817 in Athens County, Ohio, and there his two eldest children, Theodore and Grovelina, were born. In about 1821 he came with his family and settled on his farm, and resided there till his death, September 16, 1865; widow dying December 23, 1874. He added 100 acres to his original sixty, and was fifteen or twenty years township trustee. He was identified with the Universalist Church. Hannah Barrows was a daughter of George Barrows and Eunice (CULVER). Her father was a soldier in the Indian war, and was in this county, in the service, soon after the murder of Grant by the Indians on Grant's Creek. The Humphreys were of English, the Barrows of Scotch descent. Stephen Humphrey reared
five children: Grovelina, Theodore, Paulina, Indianus and Delilah; all grew to maturity, and married and settled in this county; all now living but Theodore.
INDIANUS HUMPHREY, farmer, Posey Township, was born in this county September 12, 1824. He grew to manhood on the old homestead, and has always resided in the home of his childhood. He took care of his parents till their deaths in 1865 and 1874, and since that time has still remained here. He married, in 1854, Helen KEENEY, daughter of John and Dorotha (HARRIS) Keeney, who settled here from New York in 1835. Mrs. Humphrey was born in June, 1835. They have six children living: Ida, John, Charlotte, Inda, Harry and Clifford. Mr. Humphrey has always confined himself to farming.
WADE J. JACK, farmer, Posey Township, was born in Kentucky, near Sugar Creek, Gallatin County, March 29, 1816. He came to this county in 1819 with his parents, and grew to maturity on the farm, where he now lives. He married, October 1, 1835, Mary RODGERS, daughter of William and Mary (HANNA) Rodgers, of Dearborn County. He served twelve years as justice of peace, and studied law, and was admitted to the bar August 12, 1867, and has since been practicing. Owns 160 acres of good land, but rents most of it out and takes life easy. Mr. and Mrs. Jack have three children: John, William and Lucinda. Mr. Jack has always taken an active part in politics, and has voted with the Democratic party on all national issues; is a member of I.O.O.F. and F. & A.M., and of Grand Lodge and Grand
Encampment of the latter.
ROBERT A. JAMIESON, M.D., Patriot, born in Rising Sun, Ind., in 1844, is a son of Alexander and Jeanette (JAMIESON), natives of Scotland and Ohio County respectively. His father emigrated from Scotland about 1828; spent a few years in Baltimore, and came to Rising Sun about 1835. He came from Scotland with John BOYLE, James STIRRAT, William STIRRAT and William WILSON, the latter, a brother of the noted ornithologist. He, with the others, began work as a laborer, but soon took up river trading, and became a well to do capitalist. He continued this with pork packing till his death in 1851. Mrs. Jamieson died in 1854. They reared four children to maturity, three living: Harry, a dentist, Jonesburg, Mo.; William, a resident engineer, Kansas City, Fort Scott & Gulf Railroad. Hugh Jamieson was captain of Company I, Seventh Indiana Regiment, and was killed at Spottsylvania Court House in 1865. Our subject grew up in Rising Sun, and obtained the rudiments of education in the Rising Sun public schools; attended the Hanover College in 1859 to 1862, and left the college for the battlefield. He enlisted, August, 1862, in Company B, Fourth Indiana Cavalry, and served three years. Participated in many skirmishes and raids, but no hard battles. He returned home and began the study of medicine in Rising Sun with Dr. Gillespie, and attended, 1866-67, Ann Arbor University. In 1868 he graduated from the Ohio Medical College. He began practice in Patriot at once, and has since remained there; was married December 31, 1873, to Miss Kate SCRANTON, daughter of Joshua and Cynthia (EMERSON) Scranton, early settlers in this and Ohio County. They have one daughter, Jeanette. Dr. Jamieson is a member of the board of town trustees, Masonic order, G.A.R., Commander W.F. Davis Post 214. He has made a specialty of eye diseases, and has been quite successful.
WILLIAM R. JOHNSTON, attorney, Vevay. Among the leading lawyers of Switzerland County, we mention the name of Hon. W.R. Johnston, who was born in Craig Township, April 16, 1842. His father, William Johnston, as born in Culpepper County, Va.; his mother, Mary (ROBERTS) Johnston, in Maryland. They moved to Indiana in 1820, and located in Craig Township, where he engaged in farming, and reared his family of eleven children. In July, 1861, Mr. William R. Johnston enlisted in Company A, Third Regiment Indiana Calvary as a private, and served three years under Col. Carter, in the Army of the Potomac. After the close of his army experience, he read law under Robert M. LAMB, and completed his preparation under Judge CARTER. He was admitted to the bar November, 1864, and began the practice in 1867 with Judge Scott Carter, with whom he continued until 1869. He then conducted his practice alone till 1873, when he went to Indianapolis, and formed a partnership with Hon. J.D. WORKS, which connection was servered in September of the same year. He then returned to Vevay, and remained with Judge Carter up to 1880, at which time he formed a partnership with Mr. F.M. GRIFFITH. In March, 1884, he began an independent practice, which he has since continued. Mr. Johnston was married, April 2, 1868, to Miss Zellie N. HATCH, who was born in Vevay, August 17, 1844. They are members of the Baptist Church. Mr. Johnston is a quiet, unassuming gentleman, and has a fine practice, which his signal skill and strict attention to his profession have won for him.
WILLIAM JOHNSTON, the leading dentist, of Vevay, was born in Craig Township, January 12, 1836. He was reared on a farm, and educated in the district schools. In 1871 he abandoned agricultural pursuits, and began the study of dentistry under Dr. N.H. WILSON, and in September, 1884, received a diploma from the State Dental Association. Dr. Johnston first located at Paris, Ind., but in 1880 came to Vevay, where he is rapidly building up his profession and business. In May, 1872, he married Sarah M. WILSON, who was born in Paris, Ind., in 1846. The children born to them are George, Mollie and Nellie. George W. Johnston, our subject's father, was born in Woodford County, Ky., in 1797, and came to this county in 1814. He married Sarah SAMPLE, who was born in Craig Township
and who died in 1849, Mr. Johnson (sic) surviving till 1881. Dr. Johnston is a member of the I.O.O.F., and is now serving his second term as councilman from the Third Ward of Vevay.
STEVEN JONES, farmer, Posey Township, was born in 1799, in Kentucky. He came an infant with his parents to this county, grew up here, and married Alvira PALMER, daughter of William Palmer. Mr. Jones bought 160 acres in his twenty-first year, and subsequently bought and sold several different tracts. He has always followed farming; is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and an old and esteemed resident.
WILLIAM C. KEEN.* The recent deaths of Solon ROBINSON, of Florida, and Mrs. BRONSON, of Switzerland County, bring to memory some events in the career of a third person who figured prominently in the early history of the southeastern part of the State. Gen. William C. Keen was born in Phildelphia, and in early life learned the printer's art, was in Perry's celebrated victory on Lake Erie, where he was wounded. Soon after he immigrated to Indiana and settled in Vevay, and so enthusiastically did he adopt the State that he named the first born to him in it, "Indiana." His wide-awake and "get up" disposition led him to readily engage in work incident to pioneer life. A soldier, who had seen service, readily procured him the appointment of general of militia, and on all muster days he was seen upon his horse riding hither and thither with much dignity of bearing; and with an avoirdupois of 350 pounds, a voice commensurate with it, and with red feather, sash and shining sword dangling at his side he was an object of no small interest to the youngsters who looked for "training day" with as much anxiety as the modern youth does for the circus. Village Squire Perret Dufour relates an instance of his administration of justice to a backwoodsman who had driven a fat steer into Vevay for sale, and, indulging in a little profanity, was arraigned before Squire Keen, who assessed the full amount of the value of the steer, with the costs still unprovided for. In that vigorous application of justice he may have had a premonition of the same kind which was in store for himself, and which will be related hereafter. He published the "Indiana Register" several years, and while in the capacity of editor an opportunity was afforded him to
prove that he was no coward. Having offended a certain wild Irishman by something he had published, the injured party entered the editorial "sanctum" with pistol in hand threatening to shoot the General on the spot, whereupon the offending editor raised himself up in his chair and baring his bosom requested the irate gentleman to proceed, but he didn't. And it may not be amiss to state that the General and the people of the county afterward succeeded in taming that wild son of Erin so far, as to induce him to serve the county as clerk for seventeen years; and he might have been serving to this day for aught the writer knows to the contrary, had our glorious temperance principles more generally prevailed. Also whilst publishing the "Register" he was elected to the Legislature in 1825. And also in the preceeding year, he in convention nominated Henry Clay for President and Andrew Jackson for Vice-president. This attempt, as the modern politician may think, to mix oil and water may seem strange; nor was it a success, the contest that year
culminating in a triangular one between Clay, Jackson and Adams, the latter being finally elected by the House of Representatives, and, as Jackson's friends claimed, by a corrupt bargain between the other two. Many of Clay's original friends afterward became ardent supporters of Jackson, and succeeded in electing him to the Presidency over Adams in 1828. Gen. Keen was Jackson's admirer ever after. Previously to this time the General had removed to his farm near Jacksonville, six miles out on the road leading from Vevay to Lawrenceburgh, and which place he named "Printer's Retreat." There he established "The Weekly Messenger," but whilst championing Jackson in 1832, he disliked VanBuren, nor would he insert his name with Jackson's in his paper until many of his subscribers threatened to discontinue unless he did. The writer was employed by Keen to distribute his paper in portions of the county,
and was the medium of communication between irate subscribers and himself, and representing the revolt as being so general and dangerous in its aspects, the young diplomat succeeded in convincing His Immensity that from a financial standpoint it would be the best thing to admit the little sage of Kinderhook's name under that of the hero of New Orleans. The General readily entered into all objects for the promotion of morals or religion. Not a professor of religion, yet he readily engaged with such as were. The ever memorable and lamented Allen WILEY, the pioneer Methodist minister, assisted with him in building up the first Sunday-school ever established in the little village of Jacksonville, he acting as secretary and always giving the school the benefit of his presence. He also devised the plan and wrote out, perhaps, the first school law in the State entitled, "Rules and Regulations" governing the Jacksonville
school association, under which schools were operated many years and until the Legislature enacted the beginning of the present school law. Soon after removing to Printer's Retreat he obtained the location of a postoffice there. Passing over several years of time it may merely be stated that during these years the people became generaly distrustful of him, owning partly to his unscrupulous dealings with them, as well as to some mysteries connected with the management of the postoffice. Money passing through the mail was lost, and these occurrences becoming so frequent, and suspicion resting upon him so strong, the postoffice department determined to set a detective at work to catch him, if the guilty one. Accordingly a fine specimen of a Vermont Yankee, by the name of Taylor, came into the neigborhood and obtained employment, and inquiring at the office for a letter stated that he was expecting money from home. Solon Robinson, afterward the author of the famous "Hot Corn," and whose death recently occurred in Florida, was the detective employed by the postoffice department. To that end he went to Quercus Grove Postoffice, the next one from Printers' Retreat toward Lawrenceburgh and kept by Martin R. GREEN. Here I may digress a little to mention that Green's connection with this affair made him famous, and from an obscure cross-roads postmaster he was soon elected to the State Senate. This matter brought him conspicuously into public notice, and not the Georgia land transaction, as has been published since his death. He was not of obscure parentage, but the son of a pioneer Methodist minister, and his mother a sister of Dr. Calvin RUTER and Martin RUTER, of New York, who was author of Ruter's Arithmatic, a school book of half a century ago, yet his name was not even known by a tithe of the voters of his county until his connection with the arrest of Gen. Keen introduced him so conspicuously to them. At Green's office
Robinson mailed a letter with a $10 bill marked for identification in it to Taylor at Printers' Retreat. The mail was carried by "Uncle Ben COLE," Robinson following in full view all the time until Cole delivered the bag into Keen's hands and he still remaining in sight as Cole came out of the office and placed the bag on the horse's back and pursued his way to the next office, and all the while in view of Robinson, who entered the office with him, and taking possession and examining the contents of the bag then found that the letter had stopped at Keen's office as directed. Taylor made inquiry for his letter and was told that it had not come. Robinson immediately searched the office and found the money in one place and the letter in another. Keen was at the time probate judge, and holding court
was arrested after adjournment as he came down out of his seat on a suit issued by Perret Dufour, justice of the peace. I am indebted to Squire Dufour's history of early times in Switzerland County, for this particular of his arrest, but he places it, I think, two years too late (1839 when it should be 1837), from the fact that it was nearly a year after his arrest before Van Buren pardoned him, which was done in the early part of the last year of his term, 1840. His trial was in the city of Indianapolis, before Judge Jesse L. HOLMAN, father of the present Judge Holman, of Aurora. Judge Holman was not only known as an eminently just judge but a minister of the gospel, also, in the most excellent acceptation of that term. With such qualifications for the painful duty, he entered upon the trial of one with whom he
had associated many years in business, and mutually with him had suffered many of the trials of pioneer life. The evidence being so conclusive, a sentence of ten years in the penitentiary was given him. Judge Holman, in pronouncing sentence upon him, was moved to tears in announcing to him the painful duty incumbent upon him to consign a life-long friend and associate to such a punishment, and for such a great offense. Protesting his innocence, and having so far escaped detection in other crimes he may have commmitted, he very evidently hoped to escape punishment for this one, and also had determined that he would not go to the penitentiary in the event of conviction, and came to trial fully prepared to beat justice of her due, having secured arsenic about his person, and which he
proceeded to swallow as soon as he was placed inside the jail. However sad to comtemplate this case on his own account, yet another one suffered sadness and sorrow on account of it beyond, perhaps, human contemplation. The wife of his bosom, though she had become so only a few months before the crime was committed, yet did she cling to him as affectionately and sincerly as though she had been the wife of his youth to old age. She followed him to this city, remaining by his side during the trial, and sharing his imprisonment was with him when he swallowed the poison, but powerless to prevent it. Fortunately intending to make sure work he took an overdose and thus was foiled in the attempt. Although sentenced to the penitentiary he was never confined even to the limits of town, but was often seen in Louisville with a market basket upon his arm doing the marketing for the officers of the prison and with the key of his own cell in his pocket. His inability to escape or work in consequence of his immense size was the reason for this liniency. After his transfer to Jeffersonville, his devoted wife with a heroism and indomitable will worthy of a better subject to spend her energies upon, set herself to work to obtain his release. She provided herself with a petition written by the late Oliver H. SMITH, wherein he stated that up to this act for which he was convicted, he had always stood in high estimation of his neighbors, and was believed to be honest in his business transactions, etc., which was doubtless dictated by her, she believing it to be true. With this she visited Washington and appeared personally to President Van Buren in her husband's behalf. After repeated and long continued importunities, the President finally promised a pardon for him in the event of her obtaining the signatures of the court, officers, and jury who tried him, to a petition for his pardon. Prompted by the hallowed love she bore for her husband, encouraged by the President's
promise, and heroically intent upon his release, she at once determined to search for every one whose signature was necessary to enable her to secure the coveted pardon; and, with a petition so worded that it could but have a favorable impression upon the persons sought to sign it, she started upon her pilgrimage. There being no railroads in those days, and few other public conveyances, it can readily be conceived the great undertaking it was--a lone woman to traverse the State to every point of the compass so as to reach twelve men, distributed at various and distant points, and almost the whole journey to be accomplished on foot, yet in due time that great end was reached, after which, she again hurried away to the President to claim his promise, and he was prompt to issue the coveted and well-earned pardon for her husband. After his release they settled in Florence, Switzerland County, where they remained
a few years, and thence went to Germantown, Penn., where he was employed to settle a long contested estate, and for which he received $5,000, and then and there soon after died. Some time after his death the widow returned to Florence, and there married a worthy gentleman by the name of Moses BRANSON, and with whom she lived quietly until a few years ago, when he died, and a little later she also followed him, as well as the first loved one--"with all his faults, still loved"--to the world beyond. Mrs. Branson was Gen. Keen's third wife. He married her in Philadelphia a few months only before he was arrested for purloining that letter; and notwithstanding that he represented to her that he lived in fine style, she came to his house only to find it destitute of the commonest comforts, yet she accepted the situation cheerfully; which fact, with all her subsequent fidelity and untiring perserverance in his behalf
until she had procured his pardon for the great crime against herself, must entitle her to a grand historic place as a noble heroine and real representative of true womanhood.
An incident, a closing scene it might be termed, will illustrate the General's ingratitude. Mention has been made of his dislike of VanBuren. During the exciting canvas of 1840 between President VanBuren and Gen. Harrison, and soon after Keen had returned from the penitentiary by the clemency of the President, he made a visit to his old neighborhood, stopping at the village tavern, kept by Uncle Jerry THOMAS, a very eccentric and noted character, as also a political friend of the President. As many of the old citizens as could be reached were called in to see the distinguished arrival. Politics of course, was introduced and discussed with the feeling incident to the times, when the General vociferously demanded to know of one good act that Van Buren ever did, and Uncle Jerry answered very promptly: "I can point to one d--d bad act which he did, and that was when he pardoned you." Keen soon took his leave.
The General's patriotism was never at a discount. When the Black Hawk war broke out he issued a flaming call in his "Weekly Messenger," as Uncle Solomon WASHER used to call it, for the people to rally and organize a company, which he proposed to lead to the scene of conflict. It caused much excitement among some of the ignorant settlers, thinking it a call by the Government for a draft, and a young Althiger became so alarmed about it that he was induced by some way to cut off the forefinger of his right hand to escape it. The writer has often seen the stub of that finger. As the old hero of that conflict is still living, the Government might consider the propriety of pensioning him for that heroic sacrifice. Mr. Robinson employed Cole, as being a witness, to haul Keen to Indianapolis in a two-horse wagon. It being winter and the roads very soft, they were not long on the way before "Uncle Ben," in his vain attempt to fathom the mud, was compelled to call a halt, and request the riders to unload and help to lift the wagon up to "terra firma," but the
General complacently informed him that "Uncle Samuel" had taken the contract to carry him to Indianpolis, and hence he did not propose to work his passage. And thenceforward, as often as they "got stuck," he remained a quiet spectator of their herculean efforts to relieve themselves of the oft-recurring dilemma, assuring them that he was in no hurry, and did not care if it took till midsummer to make a trip. The General's mind was generally a success, whenever an opportunity for sharp practice upon the average settler, or his own tenant, presented itself; but not so at other times, as in the following instance: Conceiving the praiseworthy idea of providing the needy settler his physical and mental food all from the same mills, to this end he removed to his place an old frame of two stories and a hurricane deck; the first and second stories to be devoted to the necessary horse-power and machinery for cracking the corn for the people's evening mush and morning dodger; whilst in the hurricane deck the printing office was to be placed from which was to be ground out the mental food to the benighted young Hoosier. By the aid of the much-to-be-benefited people the old frame was resurrected and by abundant wedging and pinning, persuaded to stand alone. The grinding paraphernalia all being ready, corn in the hopper, the mush water at home in the pot a-boiling, the expectant granger contemplating his victory over the hand-mill and grater, the mill started. Whereupon counting the number of kernels cracked in a given time, it all at once became painfully evident that the aforesaid hand-mill and grater must still be the stand by, instead of the new combination of mill and printing office. The General also soon discovered that, although he might possibly keep his bulky proportions in a perpendicular pose, he and his devil were certain to have more "pi" about supper time than they could possibly get away with. In the gliding years, as he viewed that monument of wrecked
hopes and disapointed ambition, his thoughts perhaps were not unlike to those of his fellow-townsman of the city of brotherly love--the patriot banker of the revolution, who thought to build "Robert Morris's mansion," but in all his subsequent life, only beheld "Morris's folly."
JOHN KEENEY, a native of Connecticut, came from Delaware County, N.Y., to this county in 1835. He was born in 1786, and as far as known was a resident of New York. He was a son of Jonathan and Esther (BEEBE) Keeney. His parents died in Delaware County, N.Y., and he there grew to manhood and married Dorotha HARRIS, daughter of Robert Harris, and came, in 1835, with his family of nine children to this township. He purchased 200 acres, which Mr. William Keeney still owns. He was a plain farmer, not connected with any other business. Was a surveyor and did considerable in this line. Was considered quite a thrifty farmer. He was accidently drowned in the Ohio River near Vevay by being run over by a steam-boat while going down the river in a small flat-boat loaded with scythe snaths.
Their children were Fannie, John R., Salinda, William J., Harris, Ira, Alfred, Esther and Hiram B.
WILLIAM J. KEENEY, farmer, York Township, born in Delaware County, N.Y., 1816, son of John Keeney, came to this county with his parents in 1835. He remained with his parents till 1840, when he began farming for himself, making his annual trip to New Orleans and doing coast trading. This he continued for sixteen years annually, but has since confined his work to the farm. He has kept good grades of stock and taken considerable interest in stock raising and agricultural affairs. He was one of the charter members of the Switzerland and Ohio County Agricultural Society, which was organized in 1851, and has since officiated as director, vice-president and president. Is one of the thrifty farmers of the county, and a member of the Masonic fraternity. Mr. Keeney was married in 1843 to Mary R. TRUESDELL, daughter of James Truesdell, and born on Bryant's Creek by the Ohio, in this county, 1815. Her parents were James and Nancy (JONES) Truesdell, the former of New York, the latter of Lexington, Ky. They married in this county, the Joneses coming to this township about 1800, Truesdells later. Her grandfather, Louis Jones, started for Kentucky in an earlier day with their parents. The father died on the way. The widow and children came on to Kentucky, where the brother of Lewis was killed by Indians near Lexington, on which land the town is situated. Louis
subsequently became home-sick in Kentucky and returned to Virginia, and when a young man came West again and located in this county on Bryant's Creek near 1800, as stated above. Mr. and Mrs. Keeney have reared six children to maturity: Mary S., wife of Levi SEDAM; Benjamin F., married Jennie M. LANGWELL; Martin G., married Louise BANTA;
James (died 1861); Emily; Eustatia, wife of Harry TORRENCE; Arletta, still at home. The old double chair in which the Truesdells rode from New York to this county, is still in possession of Mrs. William Keeney, and is more than one hundred years old. Mr. Keeney has patented a number of important inventions, chief among which was the universal pitman now in use by the champion mowers and reapers.
REV. EUSEBIUS KIRTLEY, pastor of the Baptist Church, of Vevay, was born in Boone County, Ky., March 11, 1847. He graduated at Georgetown (Ky.), College, also at the Louisville Theological Institute. His first pastorate was Dry Creek, Woodford Co., Ky., while in college. In 1878 he went to Carrollton, and in June, 1880, to Vevay. He is a close biblical student, a clear and earnest speaker and reasoner, and his whole heart, soul, and strength are enlisted in the cause of Christ. Rev. Kirtley's parents, James A. and Margaret (SCOTT) Kirtly, were born in Boone County, Ky., where they have resided all through life. His father began preaching when eighteen years old, and has been a successful Baptist minister ever since. He has been pastor of Bullettsburgh Church for over thirty years.
JAMES S. KNOX, proprietor of livery and feed stable and dealer in horses, Vevay, was born in that city in 1831, son of George G. and Elizabeth (POINDEXTER) Knox. His father was a native of Madison County, Ky., and was born in 1791. He was a cabinet-maker and undertaker by trade, and moved to Vevay in 1817 to stay with his family, for whom he built his cabin two years previous, cutting the logs himself and rafting them down the river. The cabin is still standing. His wife, Elizabeth J. Poindexter, was born in Franklin County, Ky., in 1860. Robert Knox, the father of George G. Knox, was a native of County Down, Ireland, and immigrated to the United States with his parents, who located in Charleston, S.C. From here, when grown, he enlisted in the Revolutionary war and served during the
entire struggle, receiving a bullet wound in his knee at the battle of the Cowpens, which eventually caused his death, the leaden missile never being extracted. He removed to Madison County, Ky., and in the fall of 1791 to Carrol County, where he died. He married Elizabeth GILL, a native of South Carolina. James S., the subject of this sketch, received his education in the common schools and learned the tinner's trade, which he soon after abandoned for the farm; after eight years in agricultural pursuits he was employed three years on the river as engineer, when he again resumed farming, which he continued up to 1877. Since that date he has been constantly in the livery business, also doing some business in the purchase and sale of horses. Mr. Knox was married, in 1859, to Rachel A. BLUNK, a native of Switzerland County, and the children born to them were Elizabeth, Robert A. and Charles D. Mrs. Knox died, and in 1868 our subject was married to Louisa A. LE CLERC. The children by this union are Julia A., Lena and William S., the
ROBERT A. KNOX, retired farmer, Vevay, is a native of that city, born in 1819, to George G. and Elizabeth (POINDEXTER) Knox. He has done considerable business during his lifetime, but is now one of the most retired men of his native town. Like most other boys of his time he shared the benefits of a common school only in his efforts to gain an education, though he has worn his "thinking cap" all his life. While a young man he learned the cabinet trade in part, and subsequently spent five years on the river, flat-boating. In 1842 he married Louisa A. KERN who was born in 1828. Their only son and child, Henry K., was born in 1843, and married, in 1865, Miss Maria T. DAVIS. Leaving the river trade Mr. Knox was engaged about three years in the wharf-boat and the same length of time with his father in the milling business. He then purchased a farm, which he was sixteen years engaged in cultivating, and upon which, in 1866, he "raised a fuss with work" and then came to Vevay, where he has since resided. Has since done some work as clerk in the treasurer's and recorder's office.
WALTER A. KNOX, editor of the Vevay "Times," was born in Vevay March 26, 1863, his parents being George P. and Mary S. (HARWOOD) Knox. He was educated in the public schools of Vevay and learned the printing trade in the office of the Vevay "Reveille," where he was several years employed. In 1882 he established the Vevay "Times," which from a little 6x9 single sheet, has grown to very creditable proportions as a country paper, and in the publication of this sheet Mr. Knox has since been engaged. He was married, in November, 1884, to Miss Mary L. SIMMONS, daughter of Benjamin L. and Jane (HATCH) Simmons, old and esteemed residents of Vevay, her father at present holding the mayorship of the city.
GEORGE LAND, grocer, Florence, born in Virginia in 1802, is a son of Thomas and Lucy Land. His father died when he was about eight years old, and he remained with an uncle till about thirteen years of age, when he "ran off" and began for himself. He came down to Cincinnati when about fifteen years old, and a few years later went down the river, then returned in 1821, and has since resided in this county. He was married, in 1824, to Elizabeth RAYL, who died in 1866, leaving seven children: William, Livisa, Susanna, Thomas, Elijah, Lucinda and George W. Mrs. Land was the daughter of William Rayl, one of the early farmers here from Pennsylvania. Mrs. Rayl was Lovisa DUSKIE. About 1826 Mr. Land bought fifty acres, and followed farming till 1858, when he built the mill elsewhere referred
to, and operated it till about 1867. He bought a mill in Warsaw, and was there one year, then bought the KRUTZ Mill, which he ran till 1870, when he failed. Since that time has done a small grocery business. Served twenty years as justice of the peace, and is one of the old and esteemed citizens. Was nominated in 1834 for the Legislature, but refused to run. Mr. Land was married in the fall of 1866 to Mary J. McCREARY, daughter of William McCreary, one of the old settlers of the county. Mr. L. is an esteemed member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
THOMAS LAND, wharf-boat master and produce dealer, Florence, was born in this county in 1850. He is a son of George and Mary J. (McCREARY) Land, mentioned in the above sketch, and grew to maturity as a miller with his father on Log Lick Creek, and at Florence. Had a year's school at Moore's Hill College, and began flat-boating in 1868, continuing to 1874, in March of which year he began wharfing, owning the boat and landing, doing quite a successful business. Mr. Land was married April 26, 1874, to Hettie L. WRIGHT, a native of this county, and daughter of Daniel and Harriet (HEDGES) Wright, natives of Vermont and New Hampshire. Her parents are both deceased. Her father was a farmer and flat-boatman all his life, and also ran a cooper shop at Florence at one time. He died March 16, 1878; her mother in October, 1884. By this union was born one child-Hattie. Mr. Land is a member of F. & A.M. and I.O.O.F.
J. M. W. LANGSDALE, M.D., druggist, Florence, was born in Gallatin County, Ky., in 1847, being a son of John and Wealtha (DILL) Langsdale, his father a native of the same county, his mother born in Maryland. His parents married in Marion, Ind., and resided only in the two States, Indiana and Kentucky, his father being a farmer and still living. Dr. Langsdale grew to maturity on the farm, remaining there till 1862, when he enlisted in Company F, Seventy-ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and entered the war, serving till its close. He took part in the battles of Stone River, Chickamauga, Mission Ridge, and was with Sherman to Atlanta, also participating in several minor engagements. Returning home the Doctor attended the Ninevah High School, Johnson County, and the Ledonia Normal three
years. He studied medicine with Dr. W.M. RICHARDS, of Napoleon, Ky., and took a course at the Ohio Medical College, Cincinnati, graduating in 1874. He located at once in Florence, and has since resided there, engaged in the drug business and the practice of his profession, in which he has been quite successful. He was married, in 1873, to Clara HOWE, native of Gallatin County, Ky., and daughter of Jonathan and Clarissa Howe. They have six children, namely: Lettie, Minnie, Elliott, Edith, Guy and Eva. The Doctor is a member of the I.O.O.F. and a genial gentleman in general.
JULIA (MOREROD) LeCLERC, proprietor of the LeClerc House, Vevay, was born in Vevay, Ind., December 10, 1812. Her parents, John D. and Antoinette (DUFOUR) Morerod, were born near Vevay, Switzerland, her father in 1768, her mother in 1782. They came to America in 1800, locating at Vineyard, Jessamine Co., Ky, and were married in March, 1803, and moved in a short time to Vevay, Ind., where they followed farming and grape raising. Mrs. Morerod went to Cincinnati in a pirogue with straw hats of her own manufacture to raise money with which to lay in supplies of provisions. The old pioneer couple were kind to the sick and poor, and their house was a home for new settlers. Mr. and Mrs. Morerod were members of the Presbyterian Church, and received sermons regularly from Switzerland to read, to encourage them to be faithful in their religious belief. Father Morerod died in 1838, and the faithful wife followed him to the other shore in 1857. Julia Morerod was married October 11, 1832, to Robert LeCLERC, a native of Michigan, born August 22, 1809. There were born to them nine children. Mr. LeClerc learned the confectionary business, and in 1833 took charge of the hotel, which he managed up to the date of his death, July 22, 1856. He was an Odd Fellow and encampment member. Since her husband's death Mrs. Le Clerc has successfully carried on the hotel business, and reared the family. She is truly an expert in the business, and watches the culinary department to the entire satisfaction of the most fastidious. Mrs. Le Clerc has been a faithful and consistent member of the Presbyterian Church since 1851, and has lived to see nearly all her children unite with the same society.
THEODORE LIVINGS, attorney and insurance agent, Vevay, was born in Allensville, Switzerland Co., Ind., September 15, 1839. His parents were Everson and Lucy (NORTON) Livings; his father born December 10, 1_10; mother, October 6, 1801. His grandparents, Daniel L. and Mary Livings, came to this county in early times from New Jersey, and farmed. Daniel was well known, having served as deputy sheriff many years at a time when it was the sheriff's duty to ride through the county and collect the taxes, a duty which usually fell to Daniel. In 1853 he sold his farm and moved to Illinois, where he died at the age of eighty-seven. Theodore Livings' early education was in the common schools, and he taught for some time until he decided to enter college. Lacking the necessary means,
he resolved to overcome that difficulty, and in 1859 went to Wabash University, at Crawfordsville, Ind., where he pursued his studies for four years, paying his way by his own labor, acting as janitor of the college building, sexton of the Methodist Church, and, for three hours each day, waited at the hotel table for his board. Notwithstanding the encroachments made upon his time by these duties, he not only kept up with his class, but always stood at the head of the roll of honor, and was considered worthy of a membership in the Phi Gamma Delta faternity. He thus succeeded not only in meeting his necessary college expenses, but had a little money to spare after educating and clothing himself. In 1862 he left college; was active in raising a company, and obtained first lieutenancy of Company D,
Ninety-third Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He was appointed post adjutant at Madison where they rendezvoused, Thence to Memphis, where he was detailed on staff duty, acting as brigade aid-de-camp and adjutant during almost his entire term of service, and for some time as inspector-general of division under Gen. Buckland. In 1864 he was commissioned as adjutant of his regiment, with which he was engaged at the seige of Vicksburg, and in the battles of Jackson, Guntown, Tupelo, Nashville, Mobile and Blakely, besides several skirmishes. The Ninety-third was in the same brigade during its whole term of service. At Nashville this brigade, on the afternoon of the second day's fight, was led out to storm the enemy's works, and while the rest of the command lay watching the result
with fearful anxiety, this little band of soldiers broke Hood's lines for the first time that day, capturing sixteen cannon, and more prisoners than the brigade had men. The whole Union line charging immediately afterward, routed Hood's forces and followed them most of the night. It was at the siege of Vicksburg, while in line of duty, that Lieut. Livings suffered great impairment of his hearing, caused by the discharge of cannon, or the explosion of shells in close proximity to him while passing in front of fortifications. The concussion also produced dizziness and ringing in the ears. His deafness has been and is a serious drawback in his business life. His term of service expired in August, 1865, and he returned to his home, spent another year at college, after which he began the study of law with Hon. O.M. Wilson, of Indianapolis. He was admitted to the bar at Vevay March, 1868, and has been engaged in the practice
ever since. He was associated with the late W.H. ADKINSON for five years, and since 1878 has been in partnership with Col. W.D. WARD, under the firm name of Ward & Livings. In addition to his practice, Mr. Livings does a large business as agent for a number of prominent insurance companies. He was two years school trustee of Vevay; six years deputy United States collector of the county, and five years deputy prosecuting attorney of the county. While thus engaged he conducted several important trials, in every instance evincing ability and skill as a lawyer, and proving a successful prosecutor. He is a close student, and few men conduct a case with better defined ideas of the points of law bearing on the subject. Mr. Livings is a Republican, and while never a candidate for office, has
done active service speaking for others, both in national and local campaigns. He is a member of the Baptist Church. April 7, 1870, he married Miss Mary A. JACKMAN, who was born in Vevay March 30, 1846, daughter of Josiah and Margaret (BRYSON) Jackman. Mr. Jackman, who was for years a prominent citizen of Vevay, was a founder and machinist by trade, and enjoyed the reputation of being one of the most singularly ingenious mechanics of his day, possessing rare talent for the sciences, and construction of scientific instruments, including microscopic and telescopic appliances. Mr. and Mrs. Livings have two children: Lucy, born April 20, 1871, and Frederick T., born November 26, 1873.
JOHN A. LOCK, farmer, Jefferson Township, resides upon Section 2, and owns 202 acres. He is a native of Craig Township, and was born January 19, 1845. His parents, Samuel and Elizabeth (VANBRIGGLE) Lock, were born in Craig Township; his father, September 14, 1821, mother, October 1, 1819. They were married February 15, 1844, and raised eight children. In the spring of 1864 they moved to Pleasant Township, where the mother died, February 7, 1875; father, September 7, 1877. They were both members of the Baptist Church, in which he was a licensed preacher, and officiated, as such up to 1860. Mr. John A. Lock was married, November 5, 1871, to Miss Corrintha BLODGET a native of Pleasant Township, born September 3, 1847, and there were born to them four children: Anna M., born October 2, 1872; Clarence D., born March 13, 1874; Jessie, born April 4, 1879; Florence, born June 22, 1883, died,
September 5, 1883. Mr. Lock enlisted in the spring of 1864, in Company G, One Hundred and Thirty-Ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, as a private, and served until September 16, 1864. He moved to Jefferson Township in March, 1881, and is endeavoring to take life as it comes, and be happy and content with his lot, and, we believe, is fairly succeeding in his effort.
J. M. LONG, blacksmith, Quercus Grove, was born on the 14th of March, 1828. He is a son of Seth and Elizabeth (CHASE) Long, natives of Pennsylvania and New York, respectively, of German and English descent. The Chase family sprang from three brothers who emigrated from England and located near Plymouth Rock, and from there divided, one settling in New York. John Chase afterward came to this county, and settled on land where John Vawter now lives, this in a very early day. Here in the county our subject's parents Seth and Elizabeth Long, came together, married and several years later, they moved to Hardin County, Ky., where they lived two years, then returned to Indiana and bought a small farm on Goose Creek where the father died in 1843, the mother in 1848. They reared eight children: Mary A., Hannah, Ollie, Sarah, Ruth, James M., Seth and Michael. James M., our subject, was born in Hardin
County, Ky. He was brought up on the farm, and at seventeen years went to learn the trade of blacksmith at Lawrenceburgh, and has since engaged in that work at Aurora, Rising Sun, Patriot and other places for short periods. For several years he has plied his trade at Quercus Grove and now resides at that village. He enlisted in 1861, in the Second Indiana Battery, served three years and took part in the battles of Newtonia, Cane Hill, Moscow, Prairie De Haw, Jenkins' Ferry, Prairie Grove, Round Grove, Cow Skin Prairie, Devil's Backbone, Van Buren, Fort Smith and several skirmishes; was married July 3, 1851, to Nancy M. TAYLOR, daughter of William and Mary (COCHRAN) Taylor, old residents of the county. By this union there are six children living: Owen, John, Louis, Charles, Ida and
Anna. Five others died in childhood. Mr. Long has served as justice of the peace, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, the whole family associated with the society. Anna is the wife of Noble HOUZE.
PETER J. LOSTUTTER, farmer, York Township, son of David R. Lostutter, was born in this county in 1832. He grew to maturity in his native county and has always resided there. He worked with his parents till his maturity and then began business for himself. He rented land and worked on the home farm till 1876, when he purchased his present farm of 100 acres, which he has since cultivated. He married in 1855, Sarah S. RICHARDS, native of this county, and daughter of Jacob and Polly (COOPER) Richards, who came to this county more than fifty years ago. Her father is still living, seventy-seven years old. Mr. and Mrs. L. have four children living: David, Leonidas, Fannie B. and Minnie. Three others are dead. Mr. L. has always followed the farm. He enlisted in 1862, in Company H, Fourth Ohio Volunteer Cavalry, and served until close of war, almost three years. Took part in the battle of Murfreesboro, Tenn., and many other skirmishes. Was wounded at Stone River in a charge, his horse falling upon him.
J. W. LOVE, merchant, Patriot, was born in Posey Township in 1847. He is a son of John and Ann S. (COLLINS) Love, natives of Pennsylvania and Ohio County, Ind. His grandparents were early settlers in and about Rising Sun. His father was a blacksmith by trade, and died in 1854 of cholera in Arkansas. They reared a family of five children, all still living: David, George, James W., Mary (wife of H.A. BOYLE), and Maggie. Our subject spent the first nine years of his life in Patriot where he was born. He then moved to a farm where he resided till 1864. He then worked at day labor till 1871, when he was appointed postmaster at Patriot, and served till March, 1879. In the meantime he began merchandising which he has since continued. He married in 1876, Adelia FORD, and they have two children: Anna and Lizzie. Mr. L. is serving his fourth year as township trustee, and is a member of the I.O.O.F., and Methodist Episcopal Church. Mrs. Love is also a member of the latter society.
E. B. LYON, was born in New York in 1783. He grew to maturity in his native State, and when a young man came West to North Bend, Ohio, where he remained about one year, when he made the acquaintance of Lucretia MOORE, whom he married in 1818 and soon after located in Posey Township, and entered land which is still owned by his son Aaron. Here he remained and cleared up his farm, which he cultivated till his death in 1839-1840. His wife survived some twenty years, died about 1860. Mr. Lyon froze to death by losing his way from North's Landing, where he had been to mill, and remaining all night in the woods. He reared ten children to maturity, five now living: Aaron, Lucretia VANDORIN, Elias H. (deceased), Washington, Marion, and Harrison. Lucretia Moore was a daughter of
Roderic Moore, an early settler at North Bend, where he was employed by Gen. Harrison as dairy man. He settled in Switzerland County about 1818, entering the George DIBBLE farm, on which still stands the old cabin built by him. He married Mary GUTHERY in New York, and they raised seven children, namely: Cynthia, Erastus, Lucretia, Almond, Philena, Roderick and Charlotte. The grandfather Roderick, Sr., was a Revolutionary soldier.
AARON LYON, farmer, Posey Township, was born in this township in 1820 on the farm on which he has ever since resided. He remained at home with his parents and after his father's death lived with his mother, and as the other heirs grew up and married, he purchased their interests and remained on the old homestead. In 1851 he married Paulina SEARCY, daughter of Moses Searcy, one of the oldest settlers of this county. He died in his eighty-ninth year at the home of Mrs. Lyons. By this union seven children were born: Moses, Mary, wife of Charles WADE; Charles, Nathan, Jennie, wife of Buell BRADLEY; Edward, and Anna, all living. After his marriage Mr. Lyon began housekeeping with his mother, and has never moved from his original home. He owns 172 acres of land and lives a quiet life.
JUDGE JOSEPH MALIN was born at Charlestown, Jefferson Co., Va., November 30, 1793, of Quaker parentage, and on his father's side of Welch descent. At the age of fifteen he was apprenticed to Samuel RUSSELL to be instructed in the art, trade and calling of a saddler, as per his indenture dated November 30, 1808, signed by his father, William Malin and Samuel RUSSELL, in the presence of subscribing witnesses Jacob CRAWELL and Nathaniel OFFUT. In place of being taught to "read, write, and cipher to rule of three, said Joseph Malin was to receive six weeks' schooling in each year, and five dollars, or one week in harvest each year." After Mr. Malin had performed his part and taken up his indenture he removed to near Urbana, Ohio, where in 1815 he was married to Elizabeth
MENDENHALL, and in 1816 removed to Vevay. Mrs. Malin died in 1822. Mr. Malin was married four times, without issue by the second and fourth marriages. Mr. Malin has been a remarkably active, enterprising business man, pursuing very sucessfully his "calling of saddler;" excelling in the quality of his manufactures, he soon succeeded in acquiring means to combine the mercantile business, in which he had had some experience in boyhood, with his manufacturing business. He soon accumulated a competency. Some of his saddles were taken across the Atlantic Ocean, and hundreds of miles to the interior of the continent of Europe, where they were much admired. Mr. Malin was called by the people to serve in positions of trust and honor, where he acquitted himself with credit and the public approval. As justice of the peace, when the old style of "knock down and drag out" was the order of the day, he was peculiarly practical in quelling the rioters. With an ax handle in hand he rushed into the crowd, commanding the peace, at the same time dealing blows right and left, enforcing the command. As associate judge and sheriff he was not less original in his methods. Many amusing incidents are related of him, for which we have no room here; he loved his friends, but hated his enemies, consequently had many warm friends and cordial enemies. It has been his pride to help young men starting in life by loaning them money, and otherwise encouraging them, and more than one has become rich by his assistance, advice and encouragement. He was always foremost in schemes for the relief of the unfortunate.
CHARLES MARKLAND, farmer, Markland, born in Ohio in 1826, is a son of George and Susan (BEATTY) Markland. His parents moved into Ohio, and about 1828-29 to this county, and located on Tapp's Ridge, Jefferson Township, where they resided till the father's death, the eldest son, Allen Markland, still living on part of the old farm. Our subject grew to manhood and resided with his parents till twenty-four years old, his mother having died about 1830, his father marrying Mary NELSON. After maturity Mr. M. farmed the home place for several years. He spent about eight years in flat-boating, and then purchased 165 acres, his present farm, of James TAYLOR, Jr., adding sixty-five acres since. He has since bought and sold produce, and done general farming. Mr. Markland was married, in 1855, to Rhoda BLISS, daughter of Levi Bliss, who came here from New York. By this union three child ren are living: Emma, Charles and Phillip. Two others, Viola and Harriet, died. Mr. M. is a member of the F. & A.M. at Vevay.
ALLEN MARKLAND, farmer, Jefferson Township, resides upon Section 28, and owns 203 1/4 acres of valuable land, which is well improved with a fine large brick house and commodious barn. Mr. Markland was born in Hamilton County, Ohio, January 16, 1818. His father, George Markland, was born in Boone County, Ky., July 13, 1795; his mother, Susannah (BEATTY) Markland, in Ireland. His parents were married in 1816, and moved to this county March 1, 1828; his father being a farmer and Baptist preacher. He died July 18, 1863, the mother October 10, 1830. They raised six children. The father began preaching in 1827, and used his influence to organize a church here. Mr. Markland has been a farmer all his life. He was married, November 6, 1842, to Miss Eliza FARRAR, who was born July 21, 1827, and to them were born eleven children: John, born September 28, 1843, died July 23, 1863; Taylor, born April
25, 1847; Horace, born October 22, 1848, died March 6, 1868; Clara, born May 1, 1850; Ann, born February 26, 1852; Flora, born March 13, 1853; Alphonso, born July 29, 1855; Toafield, born October 27, 1857; Eliza, born May 31, 1859; Susie, born August 27, 1860; Addrian, born May 21, 1862. Mrs. Markland died April 7, 1863, leaving a large family of children motherless. Mr. Markland has been an enterprising and prosperous farmer. He was justice of the peace for four years, and is a member of Fredonia Grange and the Baptist Church.
EDWARD M. MARTIN, painter and carriage trimmer, Vevay, Ind. native of Jefferson Township, was born March 4, 1843. His father, John, was born in North Carolina in 1792; mother, Frances (HORTON), born near Warsaw, Ky., in 1821. They came to this State in 1828, and followed farming. Their marriage was blessed with nine children. His father was a Mason, and died in 1861. Edward M. was raised on a farm, and at the age of sixteen went to his trade. September 11, 1861, he enlisted in Company H, Sixth Indiana Infantry, as private; was wounded three times, slightly, in his three years' term of service; re-enlisted in Company L, Thirteenth Ohio Cavalry, and served to close of the war, after which he returned to his trade, traveled and worked at journey work. During his term of service in the war, he never missed a day's march, or a fight, that his command was engaged in; was with his company through its entire service, and was with Gen. Sherman in his march to the sea. Mr. Martin was married, November 2, 1880, to Miss Ella CORNS, who was born in this county April 12, 1852. He is a member of Switzerland Lodge No. 122, F. & A.M., also Maj. Patton Post, G.A.R., No. 157.
JOHN McCREARY, farmer, York Township, a native of Kentucky, settled in this county prior to 1806, coming from Kentucky and locating on the hills in York Township. He entered land there, and resided there till his death. He married Eleanor PICKET, a sister of Heathcoat Picket, by whom he reared three children: Rachel, Jane and Robert--the second the only one now living. This wife died, and in 1815, he married Martha COX, a native of Kentucky, her father having been killed by the Indians. By this union eight children were reared: John F., Nellie, William W., Thomas, Sallie, Absalom, Alexander and Martha, all living but Sallie. The father died in 1866; mother, in 1875.
THOMAS F. McCREARY, son of John McCreary, was born in the county January 8, 1821. He grew to maturity with his parents, and June 14, 1840, was married to Sarah WHITE, daughter of William White, one of the first settlers of the township. He purchased in the same year forty acres of land, going in debt for the same, and never received but $100 assistance from any one. By hard and constant labor, and good management, he gradually increased his possession to between 800 and 900 acres, which, except 250, he has divided among his children. He has done much hard labor. He and Mrs. McCreary have reared four children: Samuel, William, John and Lunetta (the wife of James T. MARSH), which they have brought up to habits of industry. Mr. McCreary has long been one of the heavy tax payers of the county, and during the war, paid as high as $416 on his property. He has always made it a rule to meet his
obligations promptly, and has thus established an enviable credit among his fellow men. He has always reared large amounts of stock, and still deals considerably in cattle, keeping good grades. His land was mostly in the woods, and in his early life he cleared much of the same by his own hard labor. He has been quite successful in his enterprises, and few men in the county have surpassed him in business judgement and enterprise. He has had no advantages of schools, being compelled to work for his living from his childhood.
SAMUEL McCREARY was born in this county in 1843. He is a son of Thomas F. McCreary, and grew to maturity with his parents, and at eighteen years of age, was married to Eliza A. CHANDLER, daughter of William Chandler and Elizabeth (MOORE), and they have two children: Henderson and Addison. Mr. McCreary has always lived on the farm, and done that kind of work. He is a member of the Masonic lodge; was educated in the common schools, and is one of the thrifty farmers of the county. Has now 169 acres of land.
JOHN F. McCREARY, a son of Thomas F. McCreary, was born in this county in 1853. He grew to the age of twenty-one at home with his parents, and at that age married Prudy HOLMES, daughter of James Holmes whose history appears in another part of this work. After his marriage Mr. McCreary began work for himself, and has since received 163 acres of land from his father, which he has since been engaged in cultivating. He does a general farming business, and is regarded as one of the energetic young farmers of this township. Mr. and Mrs. McCreary have but one child, Gertie H.
WILLIAM W. McCREARY, born in this county in 1845, is a son of Thomas F. and Sarah (WHITE) McCreary, and grew to maturity in his native county. He continued to live with his parents till he was twenty-one years of age, and followed farming till 1880, when he took charge of the Central Saw and Grist-mill, which he has at intervals since conducted. He was married, in 1866, to Caroline SEA, daughter of George and Sallie Sea, by whom he has two children: Perry and Prudy. Mr. McCreary owns 160 acres, and does some farming with his milling business.
ROBERT McKAY, born in Shenandoah County, Va., about 1782, was a son of James McKay, a native of Scotland, who left his native land on account of political troubles, and settled in Virginia, where he died. Robert McKay, with his wife, Mary CAIN, and two children, Elizabeth and Isaac, and Joshua Cain, wife and son, left their Virginia home in 1811, for the Indiana Territory. At Pittsburgh, Penn., they built a boat, in which they placed their families and effects, and came down the Ohio River, landing in what is now Craig Township, January 1, 1812. In the war that followed he served with a company of home guards, who were organized for the protection of the families scattered along the river. He succeeded well in life, made a good living, and left a good estate to his children. Twelve other children were born to him in this county, viz: Lewis, Merritt, William, Zachariah, Jonas, Polly, Daniel, Ephriam. Four died in childhood.
Mr. McKay died March 5, 1832; Mrs. McKay died in February, 1846. James and Zachariah McKay, brothers of Robert, came to this county in 1811, and also located in what is now Craig, Township, where they lived till their deaths. The latter died in 1836; the former several years later. Zachariah's wife was Sallie LANHAM; Patsy JOHNSON was the wife of James. In 1813 came the mother of the above. Mary (CHEEK) McKay, with her three daughters, Lear, Mary, Nancy, and two sons, Abraham and Moses, and located in the community in which the children who preceded her resided. All of the above became permanent residents except Moses, who lived in Kentucky, and afterward removed to Greensburgh, Ind., where he died. At this writing, 1885, only the descendants of Robert McKay reside in Switzerland County.
ISAAC McKAY, farmer of Craig Township, is one of the well known and highly respected citizens of this county. He is the eldest son and second child of Robert McKay, and was born in Shenandoah County, Va., March 28, 1810. He was not yet two years old when his parents, in midwinter, penetrated into the unexplored wilds of the Indiana Territory. Amid forest scenes his childhood was passed, and without the privilege of a school or the aid of a teacher to instruct him in the rudiments of learning, unaided he learned to read and write after attaining his majority (sic), and made himself competent to intelligently transact ordinary business. He was married to Ann, daughter of John SHAW, in 1834. For eight years succeeding this event, he lived upon the old homestead, after which located on his present farm where he has since resided. He very creditably filled the office of justice of the peace for five years, and served as trustee
two terms, discharging the duties of each to the satisfaction of all. He and his estimable wife have been members of the Christian Church many years and are, and always have been, much interested in all Christian and charitable works. Nine children have been born to them, five of whom are living, viz.: John, George, Isaac, William and Anna; Margaret, Elizabeth, Mary J. and Archibald are deceased. Mrs. McKay was born in Paisley, Scotland, in 1810.
JAMES H. McLEAN, manufacturer, and inventor of the "McLean Rocker," Vevay, was born in Pennsylvania in 1832. His father, William S. was born in the same State in 1796, and died in 1858, having been by trade a cabinet-maker. His mother, Lucy NELSON, was born in Westmoreland County, Penn., in 1801, and died in 1874. Mr. McLean obtained an education in the common branches of study only. In 1851 he married Miss Martha J. AARON, who was born in Kentucky in 1834, and ten children were born to them, four dying in infancy. The living are: Mary Belle, Carrie, Lucy E., James E. John H. and Bertie M. In his early life Mr. McLean was engaged on the Ohio and Cumberland Rivers as engineer and pilot in which occupation he continued up to 1863. From that date to 1870 he was employed by N. W. Casey & Bro., coal miners, as superintendent. In 1870 he began the furniture business, in which he is still engaged.
Mr. McLean invented his celebrated rocker in 1874, and in 1885 he was instrumental in organizing a company and procuring the necessary machinery for the manufacture of that and other chairs at Vevay. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., G.T., S. of T., and Methodist Episcopal Church, and a man of business capacity and enterprise.
DeKALB McMAKIN, miner and dealer in stocks, is a native and resident of Vevay, born in 1840. His father, Henry, was born near Harper's Ferry, Va., in 1809. His mother, Susan HARPER, was born near Lexington, Ky., in 1813. His father was a speculator and trader, and prior to 1840 served eight years as sheriff of the county. Our subject spent one year as sutler with the One Hundred and Fourteenth Ohio Regiment, and after that was three years with Bender & McMakin at Memphis, dealers in feed and plantation supplies, as salesman in the wholesale department of that firm. In 1867 he went West, where he has since been identified with the mining interests of Colorado, returning since only to visit and recreate. Mr. McMakin was married, in 1868, to Emma F. McGUIRE, who was born in Chicago in 1841, and who died in May, 1881. In his business operations Mr. McMakin has been both active and successful, and is now regarded among the thriftiest of the business men of the county.
ADOLPHUS E. MERIT, farmer, Posey Township, son of James H. and Huldah (HUMPHREY) Merit, was born in 1847 in this county. He grew up to maturity with his parents, and from early years engaged in river trading and stock business; he purchased land in 1875, and to this he has since added till he now owns 802 acres. Since 1881 he has done farming exclusively. Was married, in 1879, to Zoah SCOTT, native of this county, daughter of Zacharia Scott (early settler of this county, near Bark Works), and they have two children: Florence and Scott. Mr. Merit is a member of the I.O.O.F. and F. & A.M., and one of the most energetic farmers of the county. He deals in tobacco some outside of the regular products of the farm.
JAMES H. MERIT, farmer, Posey Township, was born in Ballard County, Ky., May 20, 1820. He is a son of Archibald and Mary (HAMILTON) Merit, natives of near Cherry Hill in Old Virginia. His father was left an orphan at eighteen months old, and when a small boy, was brought by friends down from Virginia to Lawrenceburgh, Ind., where he was placed in a fort during the Indian troubles about 1796. When about fifteen years of age he located in Boone County, Ky., where he found a home with a Col. Stevens, with whom he resided till his marriage in 1809-10. Soon after this he came into Switzerland County, whre he remained till the fall of 1817, when he moved to Ballard County, Ky. Here he resided two years and then returned to this county, where he purchased a farm and resided eight years on the hills, then moved to Egypt Bottom, where he died May 20, 1841. His widow survived about fifteen years and died in
Henry, Marshall Co., Ill. He served as a soldier under Gen. Harrison in 1812, and was always a strong supporter of that statesman and soldier. He was captured by the Indians when about ten years old while out nutting with other boys near Lawrenceburgh, but made his escape by the assistance of an old horse which was kept around the fort at that place. His cousin, John BARTON, who was also captured, remained with the tribe in the West, but returned, when grown, to his home, joining the Indians six months later and has not since been heard of. Mr. Merit reared ten children, five living: Mary, John, Columbus D., Isaiah, and our subject. James H. grew up in this township on the farm, and remained with his parents till maturity. He married, in 1844, Miss Huldah HUMPHREY, a daughter of Arthur and Catharine (TRIPP) Humphrey, who were also early settlers of this county. After his marriage Mr. Merit resided about four years on the hills, then purchased 200 acres of his present farm where he still resides. In his younger years, from twelve up to marriage, he was engaged in flat-boating on the river for his father who traded considerable in his time. Since his marriage Mr. Merit has devoted his attention to farming and stock raising, doing quite an extensive business. Has now 550 acres of excellent land, besides 400 acres, which he has turned over to his son, and 200 acres to his daughter. He has been quite successful in his business enterprises, and is reckoned among the most substantial farmers of the township. He has reared three children: Adolphus E., Kate (wife of Harvey JACK), Jennie (wife of D.H. STAPP, Aurora). The family is associated with the Presbyterian Church which was organized in January, 1854, by E.F. SHELDON, in Palmetto Bottom, the first church organized in the bottom, and Sheldon the first preacher. Mr. Merit now has in his possession the Union flag of the Palmetto Sunday school which was organized in 1854 and 1855, and he was a chief actor with Osamor GREEN in its organization; he has attended the same nearly ever since, and has been many years superintendent of the school.
ANDREW W. MILLER, wharf-boat receiver, Vevay and a native of Ohio, was born in Hamilton County, December 6, 1837. His father, Henry, was born in Pennsylvania; mother Rebecca (SMITH) Miller, born in New Jersey. Mr. Miller moved to this county in 1842, and farmed up to 1876, then took charge of the wharf-boat. He was married October 9, 1863, to Miss Sarah F. DODD, who was born in Ohio June 9, 1841. In 1872 they took a boy to raise, as their own child, Emory Miller. Mr. Miller and his amiable wife belong to the Good Templars and Methodist Episcopal Church; he is also engaged in the grocery business on Silver Street where he keeps an excellent assortment of goods peculiar to his trade.
JULIUS N.E. MURET, farmer, Jefferson Township, owns 320 acres of land in Sections 5 and 6. Mr. Muret was born in Jefferson Township, January 13, 1816. His parents, Charles L. and Rebecca (HEADY) Muret, were born in Switzerland and came to America about 1807. His father was a physician and practiced in Cincinnati, where he died. The family moved to Switzerland County, Ind., about 1826. Mr. Muret has been a farmer all his life. He was married April 30, 1843, to Miss Eliza SINGER, who was born April 16, 1824. They are parents of ten children: George P., born March 8, 1844; John L., born December 12, 1847, died May 31, 1849; Julius N.E., born July 18, 1849; Sallie H., born February 11, 1851; Franklin P., born November 4, 1852; Eliza E., born December 21, 1854; Charles L., born September 19, 1857, died January 1, 1861; William H., born May 31, 1860; Louisa A., May 12, 1862. Mr. Muret served as school
trustee and was county commissioner from First District from 1880 to 1883. He and his estimable lady belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he is steward and trustee. He is among the oldest native citizens of the county and has done his full share in developing its resources during the past half century.
Note by R. Hoggatt: Rebecca HEADY-MURET was not born in Switzerland. She was the daughter of Stillwell Heady and Rebecca (COOMBS) Heady who moved to Switzerland County ca 1804 from Nelson Co., KY.
WILLIAM NEWBOLD, farmer, Posey Township, was born on the Nanticoke River, Sussex Co., Del., in 1798. He is a son of George and Jane (RICHARDS) Newbold, both natives of the same county. He came with his parents and the rest of the family to Kentucky in 1820, and in 1823 they located in this township and county. His parents moved two years later to Allensville, and then to Williamstown, near Greensburg, returning ten years later to the bottoms, where his father died in 1854, his mother having died in Allensville. After coming into Indiana, our subject taught school one year in the family of Arthur HENRY. He then spent a short time in Kentucky, learning surveying and then located in this county permanently. He married Elizabeth WOODS, widow of Richard Woods (maiden name PETTY), and purchased sixty-six acres of bottom land on which he lived till 1852, where his wife died, and he subsequently rented his
farm for a few years and sold the same in 1870. Since 1852 he has resided chiefly with his brother James, trading some on the river. He has always farmed chiefly, but taught school some and traded some on the river, and has been quite successful. He still resides at the home of his brother's widow, his brother having died in 1867-68. James M. Newbold, was born in Deleware in 1812, came to this county with his parents and took a contract soon after with his brother Thomas for rafting poplar logs down to Louisville to Mathew FURGESON who owned the land in the bottoms. He after with his brother purchased 205 acres of the bottom land and continued farming till his death, at which time he owned 300 acres, his brother Thomas having died previously. He married Lucinda TRIPP and they reared five children: Thomas, Louisianna, George and Emma, living. William, deceased, died 1867-68. Mr. Newbold is now the
oldest man in the county, and in his old days finds himself well provided with the comforts of life. He is well preserved in body and mind for one of his years, and has a large circle of friends which his long life of sobriety and character has gathered around him. He has always doubted the doctrine of "future punishment" and as a consequence has never connected himself with any society which adopted such teaching. He has always aimed to live a life of strict integrity, and has done his best to make others happy with whom he has been associated. He is duly grateful for the kindness of his brother and wife in giving him a home, and is doing his best to show his gratitude.
EDWIN E. NORTH, miller, Patriot, born in Rising Sun in 1846, is a son of Lot and Rhoda (EMMERSON) North of Ohio County. His father, born in 1813, was a merchant in Rising Sun from 1840 to 1856, when he came to this county, located on a farm for a few years, and then came to Patriot, where he engaged in mercantile business in general store, and continued till his death in 1875. Our subject spent his boyhood as stated above; was engaged in steamboating on the river for some time in early years, following this chiefly till going into the milling business. He was in Memphis three years trading on Mississippi River; married in 1878 to Kate G. HUMPHREY, daughter of Cornelius and Jane A. (HARRIS) Humphrey, an old family of this county, and by this union there were two children: Clara and Glenn.
Mr. North is a member of the G.A.R. William F. Davis Post. He enlisted in three years' service in 1862, in Company E., Fifty-fourth Infantry Guards, and re-enlisted in Company I, Eleventh Ohio Volunteer Cavalry, and served three years. Took part in west frontier service, guarding telegraph lines, Indians, etc., stationed at Fort Laramie, Wyo. Mr. North's connection with the milling interests of Patriot, is referred to in the sketch of that village.
WILLIAM F. NORTH, miller, Patriot, son of Lot North, was born in Rising Sun in 1848. He remained with his parents till sixteen years of age, and then entered the service, naval department, aboard the steamer "Victoria" of the Mississippi squadron, serving nine months, enlisting in 1864. He returned home and with his bounty money went to Bartlett's Commercial College, Cincinnati, and graduated from the same. He subsequently engaged as book-keeper at Memphis in the cotton factory and wholesale grocery and commission house of Calhoun, Nevils & Co., remaining five years in their employ. In 1874 he returned to Patriot and engaged in general merchandising to 1881, when he began
milling, which he has continued to the present time. He also does considerable farming. Was married December 30, 1874, to Abbie A. HUMPHREY, daughter of Jane Humphrey, and they have four children: Cornelius H., Emmerson A., Orville J.H. and an infant daughter. Mr. and Mrs. North are members of Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. North is energetic and enterprising in business matters, and is perhaps the best natured man in Switzerland County.
A.L. NORTH, dealer in stoves and tinware, Patriot, son of Lot and Rhoda (EMMERSON) North, was born in that village October 28, 1860. He was reared in this locality to twelve years of age, and then moved to Memphis with his parents, remaining three years, when they returned here. He was educated in Patriot and in Memphis. Began learning the tinner's trade at fourteen years of age, and at twenty took charge of his store and shop as proprietor, and has since conducted the business. He was married, November 27, 1884, to Clara H. HUMPHREY, daughter of Cornelius and Jane Humphrey, noticed elsewhere in this work. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. North
is a young man of sterling qualities, alive to business interests, and the possessor of a genial soul.
LEVI S. NORTH, JR., farmer, Posey Township, son of Levi North, was born in Ohio County, Ind., in 1837. He grew to manhood in his native county, and being left an orphan at seven years, found a home wherever he could till grown to maturity. He resided seven years with Francis SMITH, and except that time was variously located. He spent some time on the river, going South in the fall. He married, in 1859, Lucinda JACK, daughter of Wade H. Jack, one of the old residents of this county. After his marriage Mr. North purchased land three miles back of North's Landing, where he resided thirteen years; then sold out and moved to Millersburg, where he dealt in produce about five years. He then purchased his present farm of 160 acres, on which he has since resided. Mr. and Mrs. North have four children living: Mary L., Samuel C., Abijah L. and Percy H. Mr. North is a member of the F. & A.M.
MOSES OSBORN, farmer and stock dealer, Pleasant Township, was born within one half mile of where he now resides July 12, 1823. His parents, Aaron and Lydia (SISSON) Osborn, were born in New York, his father in 1789, mother in 1796. Aaron Osborn was through the war of 1812, and immigrated to Indiana in 1821, where he engaged in farming, and raised twelve children. He was constable for over thirty years, and school trustee for many years. He was a member of the United Brethren Church; his first wife of the Methodist Church; his second wife a member of the United Brethren Church. The former died in 1863; the latter in 1859. Moses Osborn worked hard all through life, and as a reward for his labors has secured a comfortable fortune. He was married, in 1844, to Miss Mary PIERCE, who was born in September, 1829, and they have one child--Mary. This wife died May 30, 1847, and Mr. Osborn was married, March
11, 1849, to Miss Elizabeth PIERCE, born in November, 1831. The fruits of this union were ten children. During the late war Mr. Osborn served four years as sergeant of a company of home guards without receiving any remuneration, though, by being called away at different times, he lost considerable by damage to crops and otherwise. Aaron Osborn was liberal in his support of schools and churches, and assisted in building most of the houses for those purposes for many miles around him.
JOSEPH B. RAMSEYER, farmer, Jefferson Township, was born February 28, 1842 in Craig Township. His father, Daniel Ramseyer, was born in Switzerland in March, 1799; mother, Martha (HAWKINS) Ramseyer in Kentucky. The father was a farmer all his life, served as surveyor, county commissioner, and township trustee. Mr. Joseph B. has been a farmer all his life. He was married, November 29, 1871, to Miss Catharine HOWARD, who was born in York Township, August 21, 1847, a daughter of Mr. John W. Howard, one of the most prominent farmers of the county. They have five children: Frederick, born August 21, 1872; John, born February 13, 1874; Clara, born November 18, 1875; Edward, born August 13, 1877; Martha, born January 15, 1882. Mr. Ramseyer moved to this township in the fall of 1882; February, 1865, he enlisted in Company E, One Hundred and Forty-sixth Indiana Infantry, and served till the close of the war; was mustered at Indianapolis, and discharged at Baltimore. Mr. Ramseyer is an industrious, enterprising farmer and highly respected by all his neighbors.
GEORGE N. REEVES, merchant, Markland, is a native of this county and a son of Marion Reeves. He grew to maturity and was educated in this locality. He was employed for a time as clerk for the firm of Robbinson & Bledsoe, and in March, 1885, began business for himself. He was married, in 1881, to Abbie CLENDENING, a daughter of John Clendening, an old, esteemed citizen of this county. They have one son, Clyde. Mr. Reeves is a member of the I.O.O.F., having passed all the chairs of the same, and to the Grand Lodge.
J.M.W. RILEY, merchant, Moorefield, is a son of John W. Riley and wife, Mary J. Riley nee WATSON, former born in Maryland, latter born in Pennsylvania. He came to Madison about 1840; she came previously. In Madison they were married. He was a carpenter by trade, which he followed during his life, and was a good mechanic. John W. Riley was a son of Alexes and Mary Riley, natives of Maryland, who settled in Marion County, Ind., the father of Irish descent, the mother of German descent. John W. Riley died April 14, 1877, and the mother died April 2, 1869. They had five children, viz.: John M.W., Mary E., Anna R., Ibbie N., and Sallie J. J.M.W. Riley was born in Madison, Ind., in the year 1844. At the age of eleven he left home and went on a farm in Craig Township, till the war broke out, when, in 1862, he volunteered in Company D, Eleventh Indiana Zouaves, Gen. Lew Wallace's old regiment. He participated in all the battles in which the regiment was engaged, among which we mention Port Gibson, Champion Hill, Vicksburg and Jackson, Miss., Lake Tasse, La., Halltown, Opequan, Fisher's Hill, Temm's Brook and Cedar Creek, Va., served till the war was over and was honorably discharged. From January to July, 1865, he served as police sergeant of Fort McHenry military prison. Upon his return to civil life he engaged in farming in Craig Township for three years and then began carpentering with his father which trade he successfully followed till 1877, the time of his opening a store at Moorefield. He was married in November, 1877, to Mrs. Margaret CULVER, nee McKENZIE, who has borne him three children, viz.: Hiram, Amy Florence, and Mary Jane. Politically he votes the Democratic ticket. The wife of John W. Riley is a daughter of John M., and Mary WATSON, nee MOODY, natives of Pennsylvania. They settled in Madison at an early day, and were among the first lumber merchants in the place, which when he settled there contained only three houses. He afterward engaged in woolen-mill business, first in Madison. He lived many years in Madison, removed to Kentucky, afterward to Greensburg, Ind., where he died January 12, 1869. His wife died May 18, 1841.
WILLIAM C. ROBINSON, ex-county treasurer, Vevay, was born in York Township September 12, 1835. In early life, he clerked in a store during summer months, and flat-boated in winter. He enlisted in August, 1861, on the steamer "Carondelet" as seaman in the gunboat service. He ran the blockade at Vicksburg, and was at Grand Gulf during the siege, being discharged in September, 1863. He was married, November 8, 1865, to Miss Bettie G. BLEDSOE, a native of Ghent, Ky., and who died February 19, 1879. November 5, 1884, Miss Emma C. DUFOUR became his wife; she was born in Vevay, July 18, 1862, daughter of A.P. Dufour. She is a lady of talent and rare and enviable musical accomplishments, having graduated in the College of Music, of Cincinnati, and in June, 1881, as an award of merit, was presented with a $50 gold medal, known as the Springer Medal. Mr. Robinson was elected county treasurer in 1879 and re-elected in 1882. He has made an efficient and popular county official. He is a member of Utillis Lodge No. 260, I.O.O.F. at Florence, of which he is a Past Grand.
ZADIG ROUS, retired merchant, Vevay. The subject of this sketch is one of the old pioneers, and has been a prosperous, worthy citizen. He was born in Yorkshire, England, October 12, 1803, and received a rather limited education. His parents were natives of Yorkshire. His father, James, born in October, 1755; his mother, Elizabeth (TOPHAM), October 1773. They were married in 1799 and raised a family of seven children, Alfred, Linda, Zadig, Orlanda, Cora, Lucien and Percey. The father left England for America in September, 1811; the mother coming with seven children in December 1812. They were prisoners five weeks in Nova Scotia. After remaining one year in New York State, they moved to Vevay, Ind., May 4, 1814. Father Rous was elected one of the first commissioners after Switzerland County was organized. He was also township trustee, and was the first male school teacher in the
county. He was always active in school matters, and was school trustee when the academy was built. He was a cotton manufacturer by trade, and a school teacher by profession. He read medicine, and practiced some in England. He was secretary of the Bradford Club, which was formed to immigrate to America. He was a prominent politician and had to leave his native country on account of his opposition to their laws. He and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church and died in Vevay. Mr. Zadig Rous was raised a farmer. He ran flat-boats down the river before any large steamers plowed the mighty water. He also ran a carpenter and wagon shop and did merchandising. He was truly successful in all his undertakings, and has secured a comfortable competency for his old age. He was married, May 18, 1826, to Miss Mary SHAW, who was born March 9, 1805, and by this union seven children have been born: James, who died in infancy; Elizabeth, born June 15, 1828; James, Jr., born February 6, 1830, died April 2, 1865; John,
born September 27, 1832; Mary A., born July 30, 1835; William, born January 7, 1839; Alfred, born April 10, 1844. Mr. Rous was justice of the peace, also city marshal for three years. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
WILLIAM ROWEN, saloonist, Patriot, born in Boone County, Ky., in 1826, is a son of Francis and Lydia (BRUNNER) Rowen. His parents married in Boone County (his father's second marriage), his first wife, Nancy MOORE. His father came to Cincinnati in a "Joe boat" with his mother and three brothers when a young man, and grounded below Cincinnati four miles, and there purchased his first land. He sold that for 75 cents and bought for 12 1/2 cents an acre, and moved four miles further and bought another tract at 12 1/2 cents per acre. Here he married Nancy MOORE, by whom he had eight children. He reared eight by his last wife, all dead but two: William Francis and John Q. But one of his first family is living, Mary, widow of Gus LANSBURY, Kansas. He subsequently lived a few years five miles
above Madison, but returned in 1838, and in 1848 came to Gallatin County, Ky., where he bought a farm, on which he died in 1857, his wife still surviving, nearly eighty years old. Our subject worked on the farm at home till his marriage in 1853 to Susan WATSON, a native of Kentucky and daughter of Joseph and Sarah (WORKS) Watson. After his marriage Mr. and Mrs. R. moved to Aurora in 1858, to Rising Sun in 1860, and in 1861 to Patriot. He spent one year in Clairbourne County, Miss., and the rest of his time here. In 1864 Mr. R. raised Company E, One Hundred and Fortieth Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry, was the company's first lieutenant, and served till the close of the war. He was constable of Aurora one and a half years and in Rising Sun was in the huxter business; in Patriot, the past three years, as saloonist; served as deputy sheriff two years; constable of township, six years; marshal of town at present, also street commissioner. Mr. Rowen is a member of the G.A.R., and an efficient public officer.
PHILANDER S. SAGE, M.D., Vevay, is one of the oldest practicing physicians of the county. He was born in Oneida County, N.Y., in 1815, and obtained a good education in the common schools and the seminary in Steuben County, N.Y. While an infant he was bound out to a farmer, with whom he remained till sixteen years of age. Tiring of the serfdom to which he had been subjected he ran away and took up his abode with an uncle, Jud AVERY, near Utica, N.Y. Soon after this he began clerking in a store, and not long after that, in 1832, he began the study of medicine under Dr. Stephen F. FENTON, with whom he continued four years. In 1836 he took a course of lectures in the Herkimer Medical College and in May of the following year immigrated to Indiana and located at Allensville till 1863, when he removed to East Enterprise, from which point he came to Vevay in 1878. In his profession Dr. Sage has met with excellent success, and as a citizen his standing is equally high. While at Allensville he officiated as postmaster for some time, and served twenty-two years as justice of the peace. In 1854 the people of this district, then including the counties of Ohio and Switzerland, chose him for the important office of State Senator, the dignity of which position he ably sustained and the duties of which he faithfully and creditably discharged.
ULYSSES P. SCHENCK, once a prominent merchant and manufacturer, of Vevay, was born in the Canton of Neuchatel, Switzerland, May 16, 1811. His parents, John J.P. and Matilda Schenck came to the United States in 1817, and located on a farm above Vevay, and, though a tinner by trade in his native country, Mr. Schenck turned his attention to farming till 1825. He subsequently engaged in merchandising at Louisville and shipping pork, but returned to his farm about 1832 and soon after died. Ulysses P. Schenck obtained but a common school education, but early in life acquired a self-reliance which results in the best kind of mental discipline. He was employed as clerk by his father in Louisville till he became of age and then began business for himself in the same city. In 1837 he removed to Vevay and in the following year began merchandising on the site of the present mammoth Schenck store. He was successful from the first, and added largely to his profits by sending flat-boats with produce down the Ohio River to Southern markets, his business soon assuming enormous proportions, and he soon became identified with steamboat interests to a large extent. In 1854, with his brother, he built the "Switzerland," which, on the outbreak of the civil war, he sold to the Government for a gunboat. In 1876 the "U.P. Schenck," one of the largest boats on the river, was built for the Cincinnati and New Orleans trade. Altogether Mr. Schenck has owned and controlled as many boats as any other man on the river. He was also prominent in the financial and manufacturing interests of Vevay; was president of the First National Bank of Vevay; president of the Union Furniture Manufacturing Company; and was one of the principals in the construction of the Versailles Turnpike. From the enormous quantities of hay purchased and handled by Mr.
Schenck, he was long known as "The Hay King." He was a member of the Baptist Church for nearly forty years and expended about $10,000 in the erection of the church edifice for that society in Vevay. He also donated large sums to Franklin College, a Baptist institution of which he was trustee for several years. September 22, 1830, Mr. Schenck was married to Miss Justine, THIEBAUD, a lady of Swiss parentage, whose family was among the early settlers of Vevay. She came to this country in her childhood on the same vessel with her future husband, unconscious of the link which was destined to unite them in later years. Of eleven children born to them only two survive: Andrew J. and Ulysses. In politics Mr. Schenck was always a Democrat, but avoided official position, except where local offices were urged upon him. Personally he was a gentleman of quiet air, over modest in his estimate of himself, frank and kindly in his
manners. Than his, no name is more familiar in southern Indiana, and many sought his advice on business matters. He possessed a remarkable memory and an extraordinary stock of patience, at all times perfectly familiar with every detail of his immense business, and deliberate in all his transactions. His death occurred in 1884, and the vacancy thus occasioned in the commercial affairs of Vevay was keenly felt throughout the entire county.
ANDEREW J. SCHENCK, wholesale and retail merchant, Vevay, is a native of this county and son of U.P. Schenck, above mentioned in this work. He was born in 1842 and completed his education at Franklin College. In early life he was employed in his father's store as salesman. From 1865 to 1875 he was on the river, first as steward and later as captain. Since 1875 he has been constantly engaged in the store. He became a member of the firm in 1864, and has done his full share in building up the extensive trade which it now enjoys. Captain Schenck is a member of the order of F. & A.M. and the Baptist Church, a trustee of the latter. He does a large merchandising business, employing
seven clerks, and is also largely identified with other business interests of the town. He is at present a director of the First National Bank of Vevay, the furniture company, the woolen-mills and president of the Moorefield Pike Company. Two years ago he was also a director of the Southern Transportation Company of Cincinnati.
LOUIS O. SCHROEDER, attorney, Vevay, was born in Craig Township, February 2, 1846. He received a common school education, working upon the farm until 1866. At the age of twenty he went upon the river and followed boating for five years. On account of sickness he was compelled to abandon the river, and in 1872 he began reading law under W.M. SMITH and was admitted to the bar in Vevay the same year. Since that time, he has been a successful practitioner. His father, Louis Schroeder, was born in Maryland January 7, 1813, his mother, Serena MENNET, in Craig Township, about 1815. The father came to Craig Township in 1827; was a member of Indiana Lodge, No. 126, I.O.O.F.; and departed this life April 22, 1876. Mr. Louis O. Schroeder was married July 22, 1880, to Miss Anna E. BRACHEY who was born in Newport, Ky., February 11, 1859. They have one child, Clarence C., born November 8, 1882. Mr. Schroeder was appointed and served as deputy prosecutor from 1878 to 1882. In November 1880 he was elected mayor of the city of Vevay and by discharging the duties of the office faithfully, secured his re-election in May, 1881. Since retiring from the mayorship Mr. Schroeder has given his entire attention to his profession in which he is achieving marked success. His publication of a revised edition of "McDonald's Treatise," referred to in another chapter of this work, was well-timed and worthy, and has given him a reputation among practitioners throughout the State highly complimentary to his legal attainments.
HENRY SCHRODER, produce dealer, Patriot, son of Frederick and Engel (SUGER) Schroder, was born in Germany in 1853. He resided in his native city till fifteen years of age, and in 1868 immigrated to this country, locating in Cincinnati, where he remained about six years, engaged in tending store two years, and four years in brass finishing trade. In 1873 he came to this township, and has since engaged in the huckster trade, doing an annual business of about $25,000 to $30,000. He was married, in 1877, to Louise MILGES, daughter of Frank and Caroline (KOEHLER) Milges, and they have three children: Frederick, Minnie and Anna. Mr. Schroder is a member of the I.O.O.F., and one of the most substantial business men of Patriot. His parents are both still living in Germany, and in
1883 Mr. Schroder paid "the fatherland" a visit, and witnessed the scenes of his youth. He has met with some reverses, but has established a good business, with fair prospects for his further success.
JOSEPH SCHWADY was born in Germany in 1832. His parents were Joseph and Mary (LUCA) Schwady, both natives of Germany, where his father died. His mother came to America, and died in Ripley County, Ind. They reared eight children: Frederick, Ernst, Kasper, Mary, Flora, Joseph Wilhelm and John, all reared in Germany but Joseph and John. Joseph was nineteen years old when he left the native shores of "faderland," and immigrated to America to try his fortune in the New World. He landed at Cincinnati, and came down at once to Ripley County, where he engaged in farm labor as a hand, subsequently renting land for nine years. In 1868 he purchased 120 acres where he now lives, and to this he has added seventy more. He has always been an industrious hard working man, and has a fair share of the comforts of life as a return for his labor. Mr. Schwady was married, in 1854, to Mary CLIFFORD, native of Germany, who came to this country the same year with him, and by this wife five children were born: John, William, Elizabeth, Jane and Katie, all living. Emma died at the age of ten. Mr. Schwady is one of the thrifty farmers of the county, and what they have he and Mrs. Schwady have earned by their hard labor. The family is associated with the Lutheran Church at Florence, and is well respected.
JAMES M. SCOTT, of the firm of Scott & Brown, grocers, Vevay, was born in Craig Township in 1837, son of Walter and Janet (GLEN) Scott. His father was born near Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1789; his mother near Kelmarnock, Scotland, in 1797. In 1817 they came to the United States, and in 1820 to this county, where they were married in 1825. His father was a farmer, and later a merchant at Moorefield. He died in 1879; his wife passed away in 1864. Our subject was reared to farm life, which he continued successfully for many years. April 5, 1883, he married Susanna WISEMAN, a native of Craig Township, and after his marriage he removed to Vevay and began merchandising, in which he is now engaged. Mr. and Mrs. Scott have one daughter, Ethel W., born April 7, 1884.
WILLIAM C. SCOTT, farmer, Pleasant Township. His father, Walter Scott, was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in the year 1789, and is a son of William and Christiana Scott; both were natives of Scotland, who immigrated with their family to this county with four childdren, viz.: John, Walter, Margaret and Nancy. In the year 1818 Mr. Scott purchased land in Craig Township, which was unimproved. In Craig he lived a number of years, and also resided for a time in Pleasant Township. Eventually he removed to Madison, where he died. The grandfather and grandmother both died in Craig Township, each at the remarkable age of one hundred years. Walter Scott was married in this county, to Jannet GLENN. Walter was a Presbyterian in religious belief, and took an active part in church work, as well as in the development of schools. Six children were born to them, viz.: William C., David (deceased), John (deceased), Robert, James and Ann (deceased). The living reside in the county, and are among its substantial citizens. William C. Scott was born in Craig Township in the year 1826. He was reared to farm pursuits, and in the district school obtained a limited education. He was married, in 1847, and subsequently lived in Craig Township till 1880, when he removed to Pleasant Township, where he has a desirable home. To him and wife have been born five children, of whom three are living, viz.: Robert, Bruce and Irvine; two deceased, viz.: Walter and Arthur. He owns 225 acres of good land adjoining the village of Moorefield.
Scott Addendum, by Robert W. Scott
Ruth has explained that she types these sketches as originally printed. But I would like to add some things as these county histories often have factual errors.
Walter Scott was probably not born in Edinburgh as he was christened 17 Aug. 1788 in Yetholm, which is in the county of Roxborough, near the English border. His family actually lived near the town of Jedburgh, whose named may have been confusing to the writer.
Also, according to their tombstones, neither Walter's father, William Scott, nor his mother, Christian Stonehouse/Stenhouse Scott, lived to be 100. The lady's name is not Christiana. It is Christian, both on her tombstone in the Caledonia Cem., and in the christening records of three of their four children.
WILLIAM H. SCOTT, farmer, York Township, member of board of county commissioners, was born on his present farm in 1843, and is a son of Zachariah Scott. He grew up on the farm, and in 1877 married Jennie, daughter of John BATES, an old resident of the county. He owns 500 acres of land, and is one of the substantial farmers of the county. He was elected county commissioner in the fall of 1884, and is now serving in that capacity. He resides on the old homestead, and is a member of the Masonic lodge. He has two children, Edna and Theo, both daughters. Mrs. Scott is deceased.
FRANCIS SCOTT, York Township, son of William Scott was born in this county in 1829. He grew to maturity on the homestead where he was born and still resides. He married, in 1851, Fannie E. COY, native of this county, daughter of William Coy and Catharine CHANNEL, her parents being old residents of the county. By this union he has six living children: Theodore, Abraham, John, George, Francis and Prior, all married but the latter. Mr. Scott lived with his parents till they grew old enough to live with him. He now owns 130 acres of land, and is well provided for in the matter of wordly comforts, residing upon the old homestead, which farm he has cultivated from his boyhood.
STEPHEN H. SCRANTON, farmer, Posey Township, is a son of Harvey Scranton, who was born in Lower Canada in 1800, a son of William and Elizabeth (PERKINS) Scranton, who came to Ohio County and settled back of Rising Sun about 1815. Harvey's parents entered or purchased land there and resided till their deaths. He married Celia BRADFORD there and purchased land, where he followed farming all his life, locating in Rising Sun a few years before his death, which occurred in 1874. His widow survived till 1884. They reared a family of three children: Stephen H.; Tryphena, widow of Ezra KEMP; Alice, wife of William TURNER. Stephen H. Scranton, son of Harvey Scranton, of this sketch, was born in Ohio County in January, 1822. He grew to manhood in that locality and there married Sarah J. KEMP, daughter of John Kemp, one of the early settlers of this locality. Mr. Scranton resided at home with his parents till twenty-eight years of age, in the same house, when he purchased a farm of 160 acres back of Patriot in Switzerland County, where he lived five years. He then lived three years in Ohio County, Randolph Township, when he again returned to near Patriot, where he lived twelve years. One year again in Rising Sun, when he purchased the farm of 175 acres on which he now lives, and to which he has since added twenty-four acres. Mr. Scranton has engaged chiefly in farming. Did some coopering in early days, and has been quite successful. Mr. and Mrs. Scranton have three children: Harvey; Rachel, wife of Hosier J. HARRIS; Mary, wife of Abijah HUMPHREY.
NICHOLAS SEDAM, one of the first settlers of this county, was born in New Jersey 1813. He was a son of Michael and Betsey Sedam, who came with them to this county from New Jersey in 1821. His father purchased land here in this township, and resided here till his death. They reared ten children: Andrew, Charles, Michael, John, Cornelius, Matthew, Nicholas, Joseph, Abraham, Maria; three are living, Cornelius, Charles and Matthew. Nicholas Sedam was ten years old when he came to this county in 1821. He grew up to manhood with his parents, and lived six years at Sedamsville, working for Col. Sedam driving team. He then returned to this county and married Sarah ADKINSON, a native of Pennsylvania, by whom he reared eight children: Rebecca, Henry, Belinda, Maria, Lucinda, Levi A., William and Elizabeth. After his marriage Mr. Sedam settled two miles northeast of Enterprise, where he purchased land on which he lived till 1861, when he moved to the old homestead in this township, where he resided till his death in 1870. Mrs. Sedam died in the fall of 1879. Mr. Sedam was a farmer and well to do; followed that pursuit all his life. He and Mrs. Sedam were members of Free-Will Baptist Church.
LEVI A. SEDAM, son of Nicholas Sedam, was born in 1841. He grew to manhood on the farm, and was educated in the common schools. He enlisted in March, 1863, in Company A, Third Indiana Cavalry, and served two years and five months. Took part in twenty-two different battles. Returning home he began farming. In 1869 he married Mary E. KEENEY, daughter of William Keeney. They have one child, Mary A. Soon after marriage Mr. S. purchased his present farm of 125 acres. He is a member of F. & A.M. and he and Mrs. Sedam both of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
EZRA G. SEYMOUR, farmer, preacher and undertaker, Cotton Township, was born in that locality on Section 3, May 3, 1834. He now owns in said township, 105 acres of choice land, which is well improved. His education was completed at Vevay Seminary. His father, Hezekiah, was born in Chatauqua County, N.Y., April 24, 1794; his mother, Mary (BENNETT) Seymour, October 16, 1795. They married December 9, 1813, and raised five children: Hezekiah B., born October 10, 1814, died September 21, 1852; Abijah H., born February 2, 1820, died August 20, 1878; William B., born June 26, 1826, died April 10, 1879; Daniel T., born June 16, 1831; Ezra G., born May 3, 1834. The father was a farmer and Methodist preacher, and came to Rising Sun, with his family, in 1825, and to Cotton Township in the spring of 1826. He served his constituents as township assessor and collector of delinquent taxes, and died November
28, 1858. The mother passed to her rest September 12, 1841. Elder Ezra G., was married April 9, 1852 to Phoebe DUNNING, who was born in Ohio County, Ind., in 1836, and to them was born William B., July 11, 1853. This wife died in January 1854. March 20, 1856, he married Elizabeth MOORE, a native of Cotton Township, born December 25, 1841, and by this union eleven children: John A., born December 6, 1856; George W., born September 19, 1858, died October 26, 1859; Abijah H., born August 13, 1860; Levi H., born June 7, 1862; Mary A., born December 12, 1865; Charles G., born July 18, 1868, died March 11, 1871; Henry B., born June 4, 1871; Nannie J., born January 18, 1874, died October 5, 1875; Elmer E., born December 15, 1876; Grace M., born May 4, 1880; Jennie P., born March 20, 1883. Mr. Seymour engaged in farming till 1870, then began his ministry. In the spring of 1882, to add if possible, to his finances, he began the business of undertaking, and since then, has rented our his farm. He now devotes his entire time and talent to the ministry and undertaking, by which combination he was able to meet the demands of life, death and immortality. The elder has a fine hearse and carries a full stock of burial cases and robes, to meet the demands of his customers in that line. He is a member of Allensville Lodge No. 81, of F. & A.M. A Baptist in religious faith, he has done much to advance the interests of the church in his community, commanding, as he does, the esteem of all those with whom he is associated.
JACOB S. SHADDAY, merchant, postmaster and township trustee, Center Square, was born in Pleasant Township, October 13, 1842, and completed his education at Hartsville College, Bartholomew County, Ind. His father, Emsley Shadday, was born in Ohio, April 13, 1803; his mother, Polly (LEAP) Shadday, in Pennsylvania, November 8, 1805. They were married August 25, 1824, and raised twelve children, nine boys and three girls. His father was a farmer and came to Indiana in 1819. He died May 13, 1882; the mother December 1, 1884. Mr. Jacob S. Shadday was married, March 14, 1871, to Elizabeth COTTON, daughter of Robert Cotton, born in Jefferson Township November 8, 1840. By this union the children are Elmer D., born February 28, 1873; Orville F., born August 21, 1874; Bettie
R., born November 28, 1875. Mr. Shadday was elected county assessor in 1872. He was appointed postmaster in 1880, and elected township trustee in 1884. He is a member of Bennington Lodge No. 257, F. & A.M., and Carrollton Chapter, in Kentucky, No. 134. He is a very active business man, and watches carefully all business entrusted to his care. He is a good, honest Democrat and proud of his political standing.
JOHN SHADDAY, M.D., Vevay, was born in Pleasant Township, in 1852. His parents are William and Frances (DYER) Shadday, his father born in this county in 1822; his mother in 1830. They were married in 1847, and reared seven children. Our subject completed his literary studies at Hanover College at which he graduated in 1873. He read medicine with Dr. L.J. WOLLEN, of Vevay, and subsequently attended lectures at the Louisville University, graduating in that institution in March, 1875. In the same year he began the practice of his profession at Manville, Jefferson County, but in August, 1876, located in Vevay, where he has since resided and established a creditable reputation as a practitioner. Dr. Shadday was married in August, 1876, to Josephine M. DETRAZ, born in 1850, and their only child Harry, born August 23, 1877, died July 9, 1878. Dr. S. is a member of the Switzerland County Medical Society, Masonic Order and Presbyterian Church. At Hanover college he was identified with the Delta Tau Delta fraternity.
JOHN SHAW, was born in Scotland A.D. 1776, married Elizabeth SPEAR May 24, 1797. She was born in Scotland, April 5, 1779. In 1816, they with their children then eight in number, viz: Elizabeth, Margaret, William, Mary, John, Ann, Archibald and James, immigrated to America, and in 1817, located in Craig Township, Switzerland County, in which Mr. and Mrs. Shaw lived out the balance of their natural lives. Mrs. Shaw was a devout Christian and a consistent member of the Methodist Church. Mr. S. left Scotland with moderate means, which was largely used in defraying the expenses of his large family to this country. He succeeded admirably after coming here and left his family comfortably well off. He was a weaver by trade in the old country; here he followed farming exclusively. Three other children were born to him in Switzerland County: Jannet, Jane and Sarah. Mr. Shaw died in 1867, Mrs. Shaw died in 1866.
ARCHIBALD SHAW, farmer, Craig Township, was born in Scotland in the year 1812. He was four years old when his parents came to this country and was sixteen years of age before he had an opportunity of attending school. He was married to Margaret, daughter of John ANDERSON, in 1839, after which event he settled upon his present farm, which then consisted of eighty acres. To Mr. and Mrs. Shaw six children have been born, four of whom are living: Isabelle, Mary, Elizabeth (deceased), William, Wettie and Thomas, the latter diseased (sic). Mr. Shaw and his estimable wife are members of the Baptist Church, being constitutional members of Spring Branch Church. He is one of the well to do farmers of the township. He is a Republican. Mrs. Shaw was born in Scotland in 1817, and was a
babe in her mother's arms when brought to America.
JAMES SHAW, merchant, Craig Township, was born in Scotland, August 5, 1814, and is a son of John Shaw. His boyhood was passsed upon the farm and was early inured to the hard labor of the farm in a new country. At the age of twenty-one he began life for himself on the farm which he followed till 1848, at which time he engaged in merchandising at Braytown. Subsequently he returned to the farm for nine years, then returned to the store business at the old stand where he is now engaged. He is postmaster of Craig postoffice. His first wife, Elizabeth BONNER, he married in 1847, by whom he had the following children, two of whom are living, viz.: Sallie, wife of John ANDREWS, and Albert; John F., Elizabeth and Jennie, deceased. Mrs. Shaw died in 1859. He married Lotta WEAVER for his
second wife, in 1861, who bore him four children: Perry, Ella, Harry C. and Nannie B. The first (sic) wife died, and for his third and last wife he married L.E. WEAVER, sister of his second wife. Mr. Shaw is a strong advocate of the cause of temperance and has always taken a leading part in the warfare against the use and sale of intoxicants. He and his estimable wife are members of the Baptist Church, with which they have been connected fifteen years and both take an active part in all good works. He owns 174 acres of good land. His property at Braytown, a tasty dwelling, makes a desirable and pleasant home in which he is living surrounded by all the comforts of life. He is a Republican.
ALFRED SHAW, postmaster, Vevay, is a native of Craig Township and was born in 1826. His parents, William and Linda (ROUS) Shaw, have already been mentioned. Our subject grew up on the farm and in Vevay. Quite early in life he embarked in the dry goods business in Vevay, and merchandising has since been his chief occupation. In 1876, he was appointed postmaster at Vevay, the duties of which office he has since faithfully and efficiently discharged. Mr. Shaw was married in 1847, to Mary A. REDD, who was born on the old Cotton farm in Jefferson Township, and they have reared five children, who are still living: Alice B. (Mrs. BARNETT), Charles C., Will M., Alfred B. and Eaton R. In politics, Mr. Shaw is a Republican, and an enthusiastic, efficient worker in the ranks of his party. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and one of the most thoroughly reliable citizens of Vevay.
BENJAMIN F. SIEBENTHAL, Craig Township, was a son of John F. Siebenthal, one of the original Swiss settlers, who located on the Swiss purchase. Benjamin F. was the first male child born to a Swiss settler in this county. He married Elizabeth JONES, daughter of Joshua Jones, one of the early settlers. In 1840, he removed from Vevay to Craig Township, where he operated a grist-mill on Long Run. He and wife were exemplary members of the Christian Church. To them were born eight children, six of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, viz.: Perret F., Eliza (wife of John W. BROWN), Fleming J., John A., Andrew J., Mary L. (wife of George W. McKAY). Mr. Siebenthal died March 26, 1883, in the seventy-sixth year of his age. His wife died March 6, 1873, aged sixty-seven or sixty-eight years. Mr. Siebenthal was a Democrat in politics up to the time of the late civil war, after which he was a Republican, and a warm
supporter of its principles.
FLEMING J. SIEBENTHAL, miller, Long Run, was born in Vevay, December 28, 1837. He was reared on the farm and in the mill. In 1864 he enlisted in Company G, One Hundred and Thirty-ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, a 100 days regiment, and was chosen as captain of his company. His term of service was passed in Kentucky. In February, 1865, he re-enlisted in Company E, One Hundred and Forty-sixth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and was chosen first lieutenant. Served in Virginia and Maryland till the war was over. He was married to Sarah, daughter of John W. HOWARD, November 29, 1871, who has borne him six children, five of whom are living, viz.: Orlena, Bessie, Mamie, Edgar and Earnest. Helen, the fourth child, deceased. Mr. S. is operating a flour-mill, which occupies the site of one of the original mills of the county. He is a Republican.
BENJAMIN L. SIMMONS, mayor of Vevay, and a printer by trade, is a native of Oneida County, N.Y. He was born in 1815, to Amos and Hannah (LEAVITT) Simmons, natives of Vermont and Massachusetts, respectively. His parents moved to this county in 1824, where his father died two years later, his mother surviving till 1871. Our subject was reared a farmer. He also taught school, and in 1843 began the publication of the Indiana "Palladium" with Isaac STEVENS, subsequently removing to New Albany, and thence to Louisville, where he was engaged in the newspaper business. Returning to Vevay he was employed for a time as clerk and then engaged in business himself at East Enterprise. After three years at Markland he removed to Vevay in 1873, where he has since been engaged on the
wharf-boat with Isaac TURNER. In 1884 he was elected justice of the peace, served one year and resigned to assume the duties of the office of mayor of Vevay. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and Masons, and also of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Simmons was married, in 1844, to Miss Jane HATCH, a native of Ohio County, and the children born to them are Benjamin W., Charles C., Sallie E., Eliza J., Robert M., Lorin M., Lorinda M., Mary L. and Abbie C.
ROBERT G. SIMPSON, M.D., Bennington, was born in Pleasant Township, May 10, 1845. He grew up on the farm, and from early youth "paddled his own canoe." He was reared on the farm and there remained till the year 1861, when he enlisted in Company H, Sixth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and entered the war, serving eight months, being mustered out on account of being considered too young for the service. He went to Illinois where he clerked in a store six months, and then enlisted in the Sixty-second Regiment Veteran Volunteer Infantry, Company E, and served two years and four months. He then spent about a year on the farm, and in 1867 entered the Wabash College, at Crawfordsville, Ind. In 1872 he began the study of medicine with Dr. P. C. HOLLAND, and subsequently attended lectures at the Ohio Medical College, Cincinnati, Ohio, graduating in 1877. He began practice at Florence, Ind., and after eighteen months removed to East Enterprise. He removed in 1883 to Bennington, where he is now engaged in his profession. Dr. Simpson was married, September 1, 1870, to Mary E. MARSH, who was born in Bennington, June 13, 1852. Their children are Eva, Perry, Hettie, Howard, Catharine, Carrie, Harvey and an infant. The Doctor is a member of Bennington Lodge, F. & A.M., and Minor Padgett Post, G.A.R.
JAMES A. STEWART, farmer, Posey Township, was born near Frankfort, Ky., in 1799, and when six weeks old was brought by his parents, James and Anna (ABEL) Stewart, to Craig Township, near Jefferson line. His parents there lived and died, and were buried on the farm. James A., grew up there and married Sarah HANNIS, daughter of Henry Hannis and reared seven children: William H., James, Leander M., Ann, Martha, Sarah and Phoebe. The father owned a small farm eight miles back of Vevay, where he died March 28, 1864, his wife having died before him, in 1852. The grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier. James Stewart grew to maturity in Craig and Pleasant Townships, this county, where he remained till 1875. He purchased land there and continued farming till he came to Posey Township, in 1875, and purchased 195 acres in "Egypt Bottom." Here he has since been engaged. He was married, in 1848, to
Emily ANDERSON, who died in 1857, leaving one child, A. Zachery. March 12, 1857, he was married to Martha A. PROTTSMAN, daughter of John Prottsman, and by this union has five children living: William E., Anna L., Ulysses M., Minnie, Elizabeth P. Mr. and Mrs. Stewart are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church and are held in high esteem. Mr. Stewart is a member of the Masonic lodge. His father was in the war of 1812; his grandfather, Hannis, in the Revolutionary war.
UZZIEL H. STOW, farmer, Cotton Township, a native of New Hampshire, was born September 27, 1809. His education was simply such as could be obtained in the common schools of his time. He resides upon Section 9, and has in his home farm 339 acres of fine land, under a good state of cultivation. He has in all 560 acres of land, which he earned and cleared up himself, and is now enjoying the fruits of his early labors. His parents, Jonah and Livia (HAYWARD) Stow, were born in Massachusetts-the father in 1780, the mother in 1782. They were married in 1804, moved to New York in 1810, and to Indiana in 1820. The father was a Mason, and member of Murray's Mill Baptist Church, in which he was a deacon for years. He was a carpenter and farmer, and served the people as township
trustee. He died September 28, 1840; his wife, in June, 1855. Mr. Uzziel Stow was married, February 20, 1834, to Miss Catharine MANSER, who was born in Steuben County, N.Y., January 14, 1811. This happy union has been blessed in the birth of four children: Hiram, born September 17, 1835, died December 8, 1853; Lorin, born June 12, 1838, died April 30, 1860; Viola, born November 5, 1841, now Mrs. DUFOUR; and Bearin, born August 26, 1847, died August 2, 1864. Mr. and Mrs. Stow are active and influential members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which Mr. Stow has officiated as steward for many years. He was township trustee, and is a stanch temperance man; also member of the Grange. He is the true type of the thrifty farmer, and reliable, self-made man, and his word is as good as a bond. Father Stow has lived on his present farm and in the same house since 1835, and a comfortable and commodious house it is. Mrs. Stow's parents, John and Judith (HYDE) Manser, were born in the East--the father, March 1, 1785; the
mother, February 7, 1788. They were married in 1808, and raised a family of seven children. Her parents moved to this county in the spring of 1820, and here her father died, December 9, 1863; her mother, March 14, 1871. Shelometh Stow, brother of U.H. Stow, has also resided most of his life in the county, and is one of its most thrifty farmers, having always followed agricultural pursuits. He was born in New York State in 1819, and married Mary A. QUINCY in 1846. In early life he taught school, and worked some at the carpenter's trade.
CARROLL S. TANDY, attorney and president of the First National Bank of Vevay, was born May 30, 1856, in Ghent, Ky. In early life he clerked in a dry goods store, and completed his education at Bloomington College. He read law for five years, and took a course at the Louisville Law College, graduating in April, 1881. In 1882 he located permanently in Vevay, and in November, 1884, was chosen president pro tem of the National Bank, and was elected president in 1885. He is a director in the Union Furniture Company and Vevay Wollen Mills; he is a member of the Ghent Lodge No. 45, I.O.O.F. and encampment, also a member of the Christian Church. His father, James B., was born in Carroll County, Ky., April 10, 1812. When eighteen years old left the farm, and engaged in business, and has
been very successful in his every undertaking. He sold goods in Ghent for forty-five years, retiring in 1883, and has been a director in Vevay Bank ever since its organization.
JULIUS TAPP, farmer, Jefferson Township, resident of Section 29, owns forty acres of good land. He is a native of the township, and was born June 26, 1851. He obtained a fair education in the common schools, and was brought up to habits of industry. His parents, Demarcus L. and Mary A. (PETERS) Tapp, were born in Jefferson Township, the father, May 22, 1825; the mother, January 24, 1824. In his young days the father flat-boated, after which he turned his attention to farming, in which he continued till his death, July 1, 1860. Mrs. Tapp died, June 27, 1880. They raised a family of four children: Cecilia, born February 10, 1848; Julia Q., April, 1849; Julius, June 26, 1851, and Selestene A., August 10, 1856. The subject of this sketch is a quiet unassuming man, and though still treading in the lonely walk of single life is doing his part in earning for himself an honest living.
JUSTI THIEBAUD, retired farmer, Vevay. The old and successful veteran farmer whose name introduces this sketch was born in Switzerland July 7, 1813. His parents, Frederick L. and Harriet (PATER) Thiebaud, were also natives of Switzerland, the father born October 4, 1767, the mother April 15, 1777. They immigrated to America in 1817, locating in Craig Township, where they resided upon a farm till their respective deaths; the father's occurring December 24, 1846; the mother's June 7, 1844. They raised seven children, accumulated considerable property and were active consistent members of the Baptist Church. Justi Thiebaud has followed farming all his life. He was married June 6, 1839, to Miss Mary BANTA, who was born in Pleasant Township July 13, 1820, and by this happy union
there were ten children: Harriet E., born April 6, 1840; Emily J., May 10, 1842; Frederick, August 14, 1844; Henry D., September 1, 1846, died June 14, 1863; Mary A., November 23, 1848; Charles, July 19, 1851; Benjamin F., December 28, 1853; Rodolph, May 28, 1856; Alice A., September 18, 1858; Morton D., April 7, 1861. Mr. Thiebaud retired from farming in the fall of 1882, and moved to Vevay, leaving 440 acres of valuable land in Craig Township. He and his estimable wife are members of the Baptist Church, and are peacefully enjoying the well earned reward of their long lives of self-sacrifice and industry.
JOHN L. THIEBAUD, proprietor of the oldest drug store of Vevay, was born in 1826. He received but a common school education, having been taken from school at the age of fourteen and put in a store as bookkeeper. In 1847 he opened up a drug store on a small scale, in a small room in the porch of his father's house, where he remained about three years. He then moved to the place where he now does business. In 1852 Mr. Thiebaud furnished capital for starting a dry goods store with James HARWOOD, but in 1854 he sold out, and has since dealt entirely in drugs. In 1857 he started a second drug store on Ferry Street, but closed the same two years later. In 1849 Mr. Thiebaud married Margaret J. McCALLUM, of Scotch parentage, and by this wife has three children: Charles O., Elizabeth
O., and Hugh M., were born. In May, 1861, this wife passed away, and in October, 1863, he was married to Rizpah C. BOWERS, a native of Dearborn County; there was born of this union a daughter, Mary E. In April, 1859, Mr. Thiebaud joined the Baptist Church, of which society both his first and second wife were members, and since that time he has endeavored to do his whole duty as a Christian. He has contributed considerably to religious and temperance papers, and made the educating of his children his chief aim in life. A Democrat all his life, in 1884 Mr. Thiebaud voted the Prohibition ticket, out of consistency with the principles he advocated. Mrs. Rizpah Thiebaud died in 1870, and Mary J. JOHNSON has since joined Mr. Thiebaud in marriage.
CHARLES O. THIEBAUD, a leading druggist of Vevay, was born in 1852, a native of Switzerland County. From a boy he was reared and educated in the drug business by his father, John L. Thiebaud. He attended the Vevay public schools and completed his studies at Franklin College. He subsequently took a course in the College of Pharmacy, Philadelphia, graduating with creditable honor in 1872. In 1874 he began the drug business in Vevay, purchasing a stock of Isaac STEVENS, and in this line of merchandising he has since engaged. Mr. Thiebaud was married Christmas, 1873, to Miss Emma HARRINGTON, daughter of Judge H.W. Harrington, and two children have been born to them: Henry W. who died in infancy and Gertrude H., born February 1, 1878; Mr. Thiebaud and his wife are members of the Baptist Church. He is also identified with the I.O.O.F. and Naomi encampment, and the Zetaphi Society of the
Philadelphia College of Pharmacy.
PETER E. TOLD, coal dealer, Vevay, is a native of Ironton, Ohio, born in 1859; son of Joseph and Mary (DAVIS) Told, natives of England. His father came to America in 1829 and died in Ohio, where he was many years engaged in the coal and ore trade. He was born in 1806, reared nine children who are all living, and died in 1883. He was a member of the I.O.O.F. and Methodist Episcopal Church, his wife a member of the Baptist society. Our subject was first engaged in farming. At twenty-one he began boating and dealing in coal. In 1881 he located in Vevay and opened up that business for his brother whose interest he purchased in the fall of 1885, now conducting a successful trade independently. Mr. Told is a young man of sterling qualities, energetic and enterprising. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., encampment, and Sisters of Rebecca.
WILLIAM S. TOWER, proprietor of the Tower House, Vevay, was born in this county in 1826, son of Gideon and Roxena (SCRANTON) Tower; his father, a native of Cuyahoga County, N.Y., born in 1799, his mother of Rhode Island, born in the same year. His father was a soldier in the war of 1812; came to Dearborn County in 1816; to Switzerland County in 1820, and was killed by accident in 1846 while raising a mill in the county. He was a carpenter by trade but did farming also. His wife died in 1830. William S. was raised on a farm near Moorefield where he resided up to 1881, in which year he was elected sheriff of the county and removed with his family to Vevay. In 1882 he was re-elected to the same office. He served twelve years as justice in Pleasant Township, and was many years a school director. Mr. Tower was married in 1844 to Tobitha J. RICKETTS, who was born in Switzerland County in 1825, and their children are
Mary A., Alma E., Maria L., Cinderilla J., Ira, Daniel R., Lorena, James W. and Rachel. Allen died in infancy. The family is associated with the Methodist Episcopal Church.
ISAAC TURNER, owner of wharf-boat and produce dealer, Vevay, was born in Craig Township, May 7, 1830. His parents, William and Tobitha (PRUETT) Turner, were born in Virginia. They came to Indiana at an early date, and followed farming, being members of the Baptist Church. Mr. Isaac Turner followed agricultural pursuits up to 1854, then began trading, and flat-boating, at which he continued till 1861. He then formed a partnership with Samuel and J.K. PLEASANTS in the produce business, said partnership existing until after the war, when with James and Saul WRIGHT, he located in Vicksburg where the firm dealt in flour, corn, onions, etc. for about two years. Theirs was the first flat-boat to land after the war. Mr. Turner returned to Vevay, and formed a partnership with SHAW & ROUS, and boated, and traded for several years, then closed out and bought a farm in 1875, and followed agricultural pursuits for six years.
Selling out, he returned to Vevay, and purchased the wharf-boat in 1883. Mr. Turner was married, October 1, 1861, to Miss Clara LEWIS, a native of Vevay. Their seven children are Lena, Thomas, Susie, Charles, Clara, Pearl and George. Mrs. Turner is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Turner is a member of Phoenix Lodge, I.O.O.F., and an active, industrious and highly esteemed citizen.
WILLIAM S. TWINEHAM, farmer and tanner, Bennignton, was born in Jefferson Township, Switzerland Co., Ind., August 23, 1823. His parents, Arthur S. and Esther (JOHNSTON) Twineham, were born in Kentucky; the father in 1794, the mother in 1795. They moved to this State in 1819, where the father followed the trade of a tanner, and also engaged in farming, enjoying the respect and confidence of all his neighbors. He was school trustee for a long period, also township trustee, and justice of the peace for twenty-one years. Both he and Mrs. Twineham belonged to the Baptist Church, in which he was clerk for many years. He died in 1850, his wife in 1849. William Twineham was married August 20, 1846, to Miss Sarah A. BRANT, a native of Hamilton County, Ohio, born September 27, 1823. Five
children--Arthur P., Pleasant, Francis M., Mary C. and Robert E.--are the result of this union. Mr. Twineham enlisted August, 1861, in Company H, Sixth Indiana Volunteer Infantry as a private soldier, and served five months, after which he ws discharged on account of disability, contracted in the service while obeying orders in the line of duty. Since his discharge he has lost his left eye, and the right is seriously impaired, though as yet the Government has not granted him a pension. He was elected township assessor in 1871, and has been elected to the same office yearly ever since. He and his estimable wife are members of the Baptist Church. He is a member of the G.A.R., Minor Padgett Post No. 180; also G.T. and S.T. lodges. Mr. Twineham may be classed among the most exemplary citizens of the township.
SILAS H. VAN HOUTEN, merchant, Patriot, born in that village in 1854, is a son of James and Temperance (JAMES) Van Houten, both of early families of this and Ohio Counties. His father was born in New York, came to Rising Sun with his parents when a child, grew up there and married. He subsequently dealt in produce and traded on the river, and in this manner continued most of his life, in which he made and lost a considerable fortune. He died in 1867. Mrs. Van Houten is still living, in her sixty-fourth year. They reared a family of six children to maturity, five still living: Polly (wife of James STEVENSON), Laura (wife of Silas B. McHURON), Minnie, Carrie and Silas H. Our subject grew to maturity in Patriot, and was educated in its schools; began clerking with James Stevenson when quite young and
continued with him till 1876, when he began business for himself in the grocery and provision trade. He was married, in 1880, to Louella HARRISON, daughter of Rev. William Harrison, of the Southeastern Indiana Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and they have one child, N. Grace.
BOSTON W. VAN OSDOL, farmer, Vevay, was born in Ohio County in 1839. He is a son of Nathan A. and Elizabeth (CROWLEY) Van Osdol, his father having been born in Pennsylvania in 1813, his mother in Virginia in 1816. They were married in 1836 and reared fourteen children, seven of whom are still living. They settled in Indiana at an early day, and engaged in farming. Mr. Van Osdol served as commissioner in Ohio County from 1860 to 1864, and was forty-eight years a class leader in the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which Mrs. Van Osdol was also a member, their house always being a home for the ministers. Our subject has been a farmer from boyhood. In 1861 he enlisted in Company E, Fiftieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and entered the United States service, in which he was faithfully engaged three years and three months, after which he returned to the farm again. In April, 1884, he removed to Vevay, to secure the advantages of the public schools for his children, and there he has since resided. Mr. Van Osdol was married, in April, 1858, to Miss Rachel JENKENS, who was born in Ohio County in 1841. Their children are James A., Margaret, Harry, Mary, Kate, Julia, Charles and Lillian. The two eldest are married. Mr. Van Osdol is a member of Allensville Lodge F. & A.M., and Patton Post, G.A.R., of Vevay, and Presbyterian Church.
JOHN W. VAN OSDOL, M.D., Allensville, was born May 28, 1845. He was the second son of Nathan A. Van Osdol, one of the earliest settlers of Ohio County. John's schooling consisted in an attendance of a district school for three months out of a year, which privilege he was permitted to enjoy until fifteen years of age, when his health failed him and he found more time for his books, though school privileges were in no measure enlarged. At the opening of the Rebellion, he enlisted for a short time in the service as a private, and after his discharge he returned home and began the study of medicine with Dr. John P. BUTZ, of Allensville, Ind. After two years he entered the Miami Medical College of Cincinnati, and took his first course of lectures, after which he returned to this instructor, with whom he soon after engaged in the practice of his profession, and in September, 1868, he was married to Miss Sophia O'DOWNEY,
and the young physician and his wife concluded to settle in the village where her husband had been a student, and among those who had first seen fit to recognize him in his professional capacity. From that time on his practice rapidly increased, and after several years of unusual success he returned to the Miami College, and completed his course, graduating from that school in 1879. Dr. Van Osdol is now a physician in good standing, and one who, as physician and surgeon, has met with success such as is not usually found in the history of one of his age.
WILLIAM H. VAWTER, farmer, Posey Township, son of William Vawter, was born in Jefferson County, Ind., in
1832. He grew to maturity in his native county (to sixteen years of age), engaged in agricultural pursuits, and in 1848 came to this county and located in York Township where he remained one year, then removed to Posey where he has ever since resided. December 9, 1860, he married Margaret GARMORE, daughter of Jacob Garmore, and by this wife has five children, all living: Wiliam, Benjamin, Jacob, Stephen and Fannie. William was married, in September, 1882 to Dillie SHAFFER, daughter of C.B. Shaffer, and they have one child, Bertha. In his early years, Mr. Vawter was employed as farm hand at wages for about three years, and then purchased a team and farmed rented land till the fall of 1863, when he purchased eighty-seven acres of his present farm, to which he has added till he now owns 118 acres.
He has succeeded fairly, and by industry, economy and good business management has gained a competency very creditable to his energy. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity; does a general farming business, keeping what stock the farm will support. He made his first trip to New Orleans in boating produce in 1855, and since that has made two others, one in 1858 and the last in 1878. Aside from this he has engaged entirely in the pursuit of agriculture.
GEORGE WADE, a nephew of Elisha Wade, came down the river in the same flat-boat, bringing his family, consisting of wife (Hester LITTLE) and four sons: Alexander, Alfred, Moses and Elijah. He lived the winter of 1813-14 in a squatter's cabin, where William NORTH's residence now stands, south of Patriot. He afterward rented land in the bottoms, and in later years bought land on the hills. He was born in Fayette County, Penn., 1777, and with his parents, Alexander and Elizabeth (MOORE) Wade, moved to Monongahela County, Va., where he grew up and married. In the spring of 1806 he came to Middleton, Ohio, where his uncles, Elisha and Thomas Wade had come several years before. In 1812 he came to this township, and died here in 1856; his widow in 1864, aged eighty-six. Their four daughters were Elkiah, Elizabeth, Margaret and Esther. All are now deceased, but Alfred, Moses and Margaret; Moses, now a resident of Champaign, Ill. Mrs. Wade was a Baptist and Mr. W. subsequently joined the same society.
ALFRED WADE, farmer, Posey Township, one of the representative pioneers of this county, was born in Butler County, Ohio, near Middletown, in 1806. He came here with his parents in 1813. He grew up on a farm and remained with his parents till eighteen and then began working for himself, but made his home with his father for some years. He "cropped" four years with Joel THURSTON, being engaged afterward in a woodyard owned by William CHAMBERLAIN, where he earned the money to buy his farm of 117 acres, purchasing the land of David FRANCIS at $4 per acre. In 1833 he married Esther CAMPBELL, daughter of John Campbell, and in the same year moved on the farm which has been his home to the present day. He spent two seasons with produce on the river and had once gone down as a hand in the same business. Since moving to his farm, however, he has continued in its cultivation, meeting with fair success. He added ninety acres to his original purchase, which he has divided to his sons, and has retired from active labor. Mr. and Mrs. Wade have six children: Mary, wife of Jabez VAN DORIN, Kokomo, Ind.; George, resident of Mason, Ill., connected with salt works; Elijah, this township; Melvina, at home; Charles, this township; and Margaret, wife of Green L. SEAVER, Tipton County, Ind. Mr. Wade has always followed the fortunes of the farm, and as a reward for their industry he and his wife find themselves well provided with a good home and plenty of the comforts of life.
MARION C. WALDEN, superintendent of the Switzerland County schools, Vevay, is a native of the same county and was born in 1858. He spent the early years of his life on the farm and obtained the rudiments of an education in the common schools, supplementing this by a course at the National Normal University at Lebanon, Ohio. Up to 1879 Mr. Walden had followed agricultural pursuits, except when in school, but in that year he began teaching, which he continued till 1884. Since the latter date Mr. Walden has officiated as superintendent of the public schools of the county, doing his whole duty toward the advancement of education. Mr. Walden's home is with his parents. His father, Henry C. Walden, was born in Jefferson Township, this county, in 1838, and has always been a farmer, haveing reared seven boys. His mother, Amanda R. (McHENRY) Walden, is a native of Adams County, Ohio.
COL. WILLIAM D. WARD, attorney, Vevay, native of Ohio, was born in Madisonville, Hamilton County, February 1, 1830. His youth was spent in working on his father's farm and attending school. When fourteen years of age he moved with his parents, Jonathan B. and Mary A. (HAMELL) Ward, to Jefferson County, Ind. In September, 1849, he entered Asbury University at Greencastle, and pursued his studies until July 1852, when, on account of impaired health, he was obliged to leave college. He taught school until April, 1855, and from that date until November, 1857, was passenger conductor on the Lafayette & Indianapolis Railroad, at the same time employing all his leisure in the study of law. In November, 1857, he entered the senior class of the law department of Asbury University and
graduated the same year. June 10, 1858, he located in Versailles, Ripley County, Ind., and opened a law office and practiced until August, 1861. He then entered the army as captain of Company A, Thirty-seventh Indiana Volunteer Infantry, which, after organization, was attached to the Fourteenth Army Corps, Gen. Torchin's Brigade. His regiment was in the advance on Bowling Green, after which it passed on to Nashville, arriving there just before Gen. Grant took possession of the place. After the engagement at Shiloh the division was detached, and captured Huntsville, Ala. From there the regiment advanced in front of Chattanooga, where they were engaged in skirmish duty. In Buell's retreat before Bragg they fell back to Nashville and Col. Ward's regiment was attached to Gen. Negley's division and left to hold that city. In the subsequent advance his regiment was hotly engaged in the battle of Stone River and lost very
heavily. In this engagement Col. Ward's horse was shot under him. He next participated in a skirmish at Bradyville, again at Eel River, then crossed the Tennessee River and was engaged for two days in a skirmish at Pigeon Gap. The regiment was almost continuously taking part in the battles of Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain, Mission Ridge, and later in the operations at Tunnel Hill, Ga., in the general advance on Atlanta, besides several minor engagements at Buzzard Roost, Resaca, etc. May 27, 1864, Col. Ward was wounded in the face in a skirmish near Newhope Church. He participated in all the battles of that campaign, down to Jonesville, until the capture of Atlanta. His term of service expired October 23, 1864, and he was mustered out with his regiment at Indianapolis, Ind., having seen three years of almost continuous service. After the war he returned to Versailles and resumed the practice of law. In October, 1874 he removed to Vevay, where he practiced in partnership with W.H. ADKINSON until the death of the latter in April, 1878.
Soon after the law firm of Ward & Livings was formed and at the present time enjoys a large and lucrative practice. Col. Ward is a Republican. He has never been a candidate for political honors, preferring to give his entire attention to his profession, in which he enjoys an excellent reputation. His powers of memory are wonderfully acute. He is clear, logical and convincing. There are few cases of any importance in the county in which the firm of Ward & Livings is not retained. Col. Ward is a Mason, past master, and representative of Versailles Lodge, No. 7. His religious connection is with the Christian Church. He married, May 11, 1853, Miss Sarah J. TODD, of Jefferson County, Ind. She was born May 21, 1833. By this union seven children were born: Mary K., Sarah A., William Walter, David T., Helen M., Lula B. and Zella B. Helen May died in March, 1867. Mrs. Ward passed away, August 8, 1877, and Col. Ward remarried, September 2, 1880, Mrs. Tamer Horton NORTH (nee HARRIS). She was born in Switzerland County, Ind., January 26, 1833, daughter of Jacob R. Harris. Col. Ward's parents, Jonathan B. and Mary Ann (HAMELL) Ward, were born in Madisonville, Hamilton Co., Ohio, father June, 1808; mother, January, 1812. They were married January 1, 1829, and raised twelve children. Father died in October, 1871; mother, September, 1873. Although Col. Ward's residence in Vevay has been comparatively short, he is favorably known throughout the county. His genial nature and social qualities make him universally respected and deservedly popular. He is at present a member of Switzerland Lodge No. 122, F. & A.M., and Major Patton Post No. 157, G.A.R.
AUGUSTUS WELCH, farmer, Pleasant Township, was born in Richmond Township, Ontario Co., N.Y., January 25, 1811. His parents William and Zerusa (ANDERSON) Welch, were born in Massachusetts and immigrated to this county in 1820. His father served in the war of 1812, and lived and died a farmer. In 1829 Mr. Welch went to Louisville Ky., to learn his trade, and served three years' apprenticeship, after which he worked at the same for twenty-five years. From 1837 to 1841 he was employed in Louisiana. He was married November 20, 1841, to Miss Matilda SLAWSON a native of Pleasant Township, and they are the parents of seven children: Martha, Mary, Albert, Lawrence, Emma, Angie and Scott. Mr. Welch was elected county commissioner from the Third District, but resigned in June 1861, and enlisted September 23, 1861, in Company E, Fiftieth Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served
three years and three months in the late war, during his term of service being promoted to orderly. He was discharged January 5, 1865. He served as justice for four years, and represented Switzerland and Ohio Counties in the State Legislature in 1865. He was elected county treasurer in 1873, and served two years. In all his undertakings he has been very successful and has plenty of this world's goods, to make the journey of life smooth and pleasant. He is a member of Bennington Lodge No. 257, F. & A.M.; his wife a member of the Methodist Church. Mr. Welch, is one of Switzerland County's most active, reliable, and thorough going farmers. During his long official career he served the people with fidelity and honor, and, we believe, with entire satisfaction to all concerned.
JAMES A. WORKS, attorney, Vevay, was born in Owen County, Ky., September 8, 1820, and received but a common school education. His parents, Andrew and Rachel (IRELAND) Works, were born in Kentucky also. His father died in 1824. His mother with eight children moved to Ohio County in 1829. Mr. James A. Works worked upon a farm at $4 per month to assist his mother in supporting the family, which moved to Cotton Township in 1840, where the mother died in 1867. Mr. Works began the practice in Ohio County, and continued the same in connection with farming in this county. He moved to Vevay in 1865, and has ever since devoted his entire talent to law. He was prosecuting attorney from 1856 to 1863 for Ohio and Switzerland Counties, and township clerk during his residence in Cotton Township. He was married, March 27, 1837, to Miss Phoebe DOWNEY, who was born in Ohio County September 2, 1819. By this union six children were born: Lewis F., November 22, 1839; Esther J., September 11, 1842; Eliza O., December 22, 1844, died April 12, 1860; John D., March 29, 1847; James A., August 22, 1851; Lydia A., January 3, 1855. Mr. Works is one of the most successful lawyers of the Vevay bar. Of keen perception, and with an excellent yet peculiar command of language, his pleas are a rare combination of wit and oratory, and exceedingly powerful in their influence upon the minds of a jury.
JOHN W. WRIGHT, retired farmer, resides at Vevay, and the closing scenes of a well-spent life are fast closing in upon him. Mr. Wright was born upon the eastern shores of Maryland, in Somerset County, February 12, 1809, and, as was customary in those days, received a common school education. His parents, Thomas and Nancy (GLASCO) Wright, were born in Somerset County, Md.; father February 13, 1779; mother in 1782. They moved to this county in 1816, and raised a family of eight children: Alfred, John W., Thomas, Aljah, Jane, James, Solomon and Maselis. Father Wright was a farmer all his life. He was receiver and disburser of all moneys arising from the school section in Craig Township for school purposes. He was school trustee for about eight years, and was one of the first members of the Pendleton Run Baptist Association, organized about 1818. The first meeting was held in Mr. Wright's house, and
thereafter once a month. In 1820 they built the Long Run Church which superseded the Pendleton Run Association. Mr. Wright's early experience in this county was very trying; the family went to bed hungry many times. They removed the overcoat from nettles to make thread, and substituted the kernels of hickory nuts and walnuts for grease in making soap, and made coffee out of parched white beans; also made bedsteads out of fence rails and rocked the children in sugar troughs. Mr. Wright was married June 9, 1832, to Miss Ellen LOWREY, who was born in Scott County, Ky., in 1807. Unto them were born three children: William P., Eliza and Ellen. Mrs. Wright died August 10, 1843, and on the 5th of September, 1844, he married Miss Rebecca D. SAUNDERS, who was born in Louisville, Ky., October 20, 1818. In early life Mr. Wright farmed, and in September, 1827, engaged in flat-boating, at which he continued for twenty-one years, excepting the winter of 1832, that time being devoted to school teaching. In 1849 he was elected to the State
Legislature. In 1856 he was re-elected to the same position, representing Switzerland and Ohio Counties both terms. Mr. Wright has been successful all through life in every investment, and every trip down the river. He took pride in farming, and was awarded the first premium (a $30 pitcher) Indiana gave for the best ten acres of corn, and continued in well doing for four years thereafter. In 1859 he took $50 premium for the best ten acres of wheat, and was awarded second premium ($25) at the United States Fair, at Louisville, in 1857, on peaches. He has been a stockholder in the Vevay National Bank since 1865, and a director since 1868. In December, 1881, Mr. Wright purchased the old Baptist Church building at the corner of Pike and Union Streets, remodeled and repaired the same, and in 1883 made a deed and donated it to the Christian Church. He also paid for brick and for building the church at Braytown, and has been liberal in church matters, as was his father before him. In Vevay, after donating the church, he paid the preacher $150 the first year, and $100 per year ever since. He has assisted nearly all the surrounding churches, including Rising Sun. In April, 1884, he and his estimable wife moved to Vevay to enjoy life and church privileges, and there they will doubtless end their days.